Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Hot Cocoa Mix Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Hot Cocoa Mix

    Average Rating:

    33 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 33

    Sort by:

    • on September 01, 2010

      This is very good the only thing is I also added more sugar and a little salt just a pinch to help bring out the flavors thanks posting plan on making this many times this coming winter I live in Rhode Island so I'm going to need it Thanks Again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2010

      We really enjoyed this! I took Pamela's suggestion and added 3 extra tablespoons of sugar, which was perfect. For 2/3 of the recipe use: 3 and 1/3 cups powdered milk, 1/2 cup sugar (I added an extra 2 tablespoons sugar), and 1/2 cup cocoa. For 1/3 of the recipe use: 1 and 2/3 cups powdered milk, 1/4 cup sugar (I added an extra 1 tablespoons sugar), and 1/4 cup cocoa. A great recipe, thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2003

      I like to use powdered sugar, as it dissolves faster than granulated sugar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2006

      Perfect! To figure out the number of servings at 6T per serving, it's important to know that there are 16 T in a cup. So 5 c of dry milk is 80T, 3/4c sugar is 12T and 3/4c cocoa is 12T. Add 80 + 12 + 12= 104T. Since each serving is 6T, divide 104 by 6, to get a total of 17 servings (17.33) This knowledge is useful not only for figuring out serving size but for accurately calculating nutrition info! Thanks again for the awesome recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2003

      Perfect!! I too, was disappointed that most hot cocoa recipes call for powdered chocolate drink mix. This is a perfect alternative and way less expensive! I made a bunch of jars full of this great hot choclate mix to give as gifts. I also used this recipe (only I did add about 3 Tbsps more sugar)for the "Instant Chocolate drink mix" that was called for in the recipe Cappucino in a Jar Cappuccino in a jar and it was perfect. Thanks for this great recipe I will be making this again soon!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2002

      This is really really good! I did steps 1 and 4 and omitted steps 2 and 3. I halved this recipe and tried it out today. I used Nido milk powder, sugar and Hintz Dutch Processed Cocoa powder. I had a mug of this with dinner tonight and I really loved every drop. Thank you so much. I'll be giving away boxes of this mix this X'mas to some less fortunate people than myself. Thanks, a million times, for sharing this wonderful tasting mix. Specially around this winter time of the year, it's all the more nice to share this wonderful mix. Even a single mug of this, makes a meal on its own, it is very filling and really calms you down if you've been on an emotional roller coaster. Thank You from the bottom of my heart to you for sharing this recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2013

      Rich, chocolatey and delicious! Thank you for sharing with us, can't wait to try this again when the snow is flying and we come inside to warm up.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2012

      I used this recipe today for adults and children and the resounding comments were that it wasn't sweet enough. Next time I will double the sugar and the cocoa powder and then review again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2011

      Blueberry - thanks for the recipe. I've been looking for a recipe without the chocolate drink mix in it as well. I haven't tried it yet, but I think I will 'blend' another recipe I've had in the past with this one as follows: (The other recipe has the drink mix in it, so I will remove that and add in your ingredients) - I'll use the recipe you have listed, but will up the cocoa powder to 1 1/2c, I'll use the same amount of non-dairy creamer as I do milk powder - so 2 1/2 cups of each, I'll up the sugar amount to 1 1/4 cups or perhaps 1 1/2 cups of POWDERED sugar, and I'll add 1 small box of chocolate instant pudding mix (not sure how big it is in ounces right now) and a pinch of salt. Its a nice idea to 'layer' this in a jar - but not really a 'feasible' idea - if you want it to be used right from the jar for a gift in a jar. Then - not sure how much will need to go in a cup for a serving but thinking about 5 tablespoons - or to taste. I'll post again after I make this up later or tomorrow!

      I'll let you know how it turns out - but I'm so glad I ran across your recipe - otherwise I wouldn't have had a 'jumping off point' to start from.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2010

      I liked this recipe alot, and followed some of the suggestions from other reviewers: I used Spenda instead of sugar and mixed dark and milk chocolate cocoa to bring this up a notch. I also made it with almond milk instead of water when I made it, which added richness. Nice recipe that's easy to make and a great gift idea. Thanks Blueberry ~ made for COMFORT CAFE ~ SNOWQUEEN'S ROUND, January 2010!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2008

      I also found this somewhat weak, and added extra cocoa. Additional cocoa, sugar, and maybe a touch of vanilla/cinnamon would make this better. I will also prepare mine with milk instead of water. Powdered milk just doesn't make it creamy enough for me! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2008

      I found it bland. I will mix in some extra cocoa before I use it again and see if that helps any. Sorry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2007

      I needed a cocoa mix recipe for a gift basket, and this one seemed nice and basic. My official taste testers (okay, my kids...) tried it out, and they really liked it. Normally, we make "old fashioned" cocoa on the stove with fresh milk, so I though they might find this one watery. No complaints at all! Of course, marshmallows make it a little creamier... We'll keep a batch in our pantry this winter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2007

      I love this it was just perfect. I used half dry milk and half non-dairy creamer. I also used powdered suger to disolve faster. Taste wonderful, filled up several jars as gifts for teachers. Don't think I will ever buy cocoa mix in the store again! Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2007

      Very nice mix. I needed a chocolate mix for http://www.recipezaar.com/47119. Had to try a cup for myself and it was not overly sweet (big plus) and pretty cocoaey (if that is a word). My 3 year old isn't into hot cocoa yet, but I'm sure she'll love it when she does. Thanks for an easy cocoa recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2007

      This was good, but I didnt like it as much as store-bought. Call me crazy but I just love those little freeze-dried marshmallows!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2007

      First of all, I tried mixing a small batch of 6 servings : 1 cup dry milk + 1/4 cup sugar + 1/4 cup cocoa. The result was too milky to my taste, I could barely taste cocoa flavour in there. The second time I increased the amount of sugar & cocoa to 1/3 cup each. It was PERFECT!!! This would be my staple recipe of hot cocoa forever. Thanks for sharing Blueberry.... :-P

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2007

      I didn't drink this but I made it for gifts. It was really easy to put together and it had a nice presentation. Great Christmas gift! Thanks for posting!! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2007

      I made this using 1/2C dark chocolate cocoa and 1/4C reg, so I increased the sugar. It turned out great! This will be a regular pantry staple.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2007

      This mix is wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Hot Cocoa Mix

    Serving Size: 1 (28 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 30

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 133.1
     
    Calories from Fat 53
    39%
    Total Fat 5.9 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 3.5 g
    17%
    Cholesterol 20.6 mg
    6%
    Sodium 79.2 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 14.4 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 13.1 g
    52%
    Protein 6.0 g
    12%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites