33 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is very good the only thing is I also added more sugar and a little salt just a pinch to help bring out the flavors thanks posting plan on making this many times this coming winter I live in Rhode Island so I'm going to need it Thanks Again

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Laurachingo September 01, 2010

We really enjoyed this! I took Pamela's suggestion and added 3 extra tablespoons of sugar, which was perfect. For 2/3 of the recipe use: 3 and 1/3 cups powdered milk, 1/2 cup sugar (I added an extra 2 tablespoons sugar), and 1/2 cup cocoa. For 1/3 of the recipe use: 1 and 2/3 cups powdered milk, 1/4 cup sugar (I added an extra 1 tablespoons sugar), and 1/4 cup cocoa. A great recipe, thanks.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Linda's Kitch March 05, 2010

I like to use powdered sugar, as it dissolves faster than granulated sugar.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
karky August 24, 2003

This is really really good! I did steps 1 and 4 and omitted steps 2 and 3. I halved this recipe and tried it out today. I used Nido milk powder, sugar and Hintz Dutch Processed Cocoa powder. I had a mug of this with dinner tonight and I really loved every drop. Thank you so much. I'll be giving away boxes of this mix this X'mas to some less fortunate people than myself. Thanks, a million times, for sharing this wonderful tasting mix. Specially around this winter time of the year, it's all the more nice to share this wonderful mix. Even a single mug of this, makes a meal on its own, it is very filling and really calms you down if you've been on an emotional roller coaster. Thank You from the bottom of my heart to you for sharing this recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charishma_Ramchandani December 09, 2002

I gave little jars of this away for Christmas and then made some for myself. I used powdered sugar instead (1 c granulated = 1 3/4 c powdered), and I substituted 1 cup creamer for one of the cups of dry milk. I got the idea from some of the other people who have reviewed this recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pfirsch January 14, 2007

Perfect! To figure out the number of servings at 6T per serving, it's important to know that there are 16 T in a cup. So 5 c of dry milk is 80T, 3/4c sugar is 12T and 3/4c cocoa is 12T. Add 80 + 12 + 12= 104T. Since each serving is 6T, divide 104 by 6, to get a total of 17 servings (17.33) This knowledge is useful not only for figuring out serving size but for accurately calculating nutrition info! Thanks again for the awesome recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JacquelineS November 16, 2006

Perfect!! I too, was disappointed that most hot cocoa recipes call for powdered chocolate drink mix. This is a perfect alternative and way less expensive! I made a bunch of jars full of this great hot choclate mix to give as gifts. I also used this recipe (only I did add about 3 Tbsps more sugar)for the "Instant Chocolate drink mix" that was called for in the recipe Cappucino in a Jar Cappuccino in a jar and it was perfect. Thanks for this great recipe I will be making this again soon!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
* Pamela * December 17, 2003

Rich, chocolatey and delicious! Thank you for sharing with us, can't wait to try this again when the snow is flying and we come inside to warm up.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour August 27, 2013

I used this recipe today for adults and children and the resounding comments were that it wasn't sweet enough. Next time I will double the sugar and the cocoa powder and then review again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cathleen A. November 25, 2012

Blueberry - thanks for the recipe. I've been looking for a recipe without the chocolate drink mix in it as well. I haven't tried it yet, but I think I will 'blend' another recipe I've had in the past with this one as follows: (The other recipe has the drink mix in it, so I will remove that and add in your ingredients) - I'll use the recipe you have listed, but will up the cocoa powder to 1 1/2c, I'll use the same amount of non-dairy creamer as I do milk powder - so 2 1/2 cups of each, I'll up the sugar amount to 1 1/4 cups or perhaps 1 1/2 cups of POWDERED sugar, and I'll add 1 small box of chocolate instant pudding mix (not sure how big it is in ounces right now) and a pinch of salt. Its a nice idea to 'layer' this in a jar - but not really a 'feasible' idea - if you want it to be used right from the jar for a gift in a jar. Then - not sure how much will need to go in a cup for a serving but thinking about 5 tablespoons - or to taste. I'll post again after I make this up later or tomorrow!

I'll let you know how it turns out - but I'm so glad I ran across your recipe - otherwise I wouldn't have had a 'jumping off point' to start from.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
frugalchurchlady December 14, 2011
Hot Cocoa Mix