Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Hot Chocolate Mix Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Hot Chocolate Mix

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on January 21, 2010

      I have the Cooking Light Cookbook that this recipe came from. The serving size is 1/3 cup of the mix. The directions for 1 cup are to use 1/3 cup mix, 3/4 cup water, 1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract and to microwave on high for 45 to 60 seconds. For 2 servings use 2/3 cup mix, 1 1/2 cups water, 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract and microwave for 1 1/2 to 2 minutes. For 4 servings use 1 1/3 cups mix, 3 cups water, 1 teaspoon vanilla extract and microwave for 3 minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2009

      Lovely mix :D. I added extra cocoa just because I'm a (maybe not so closet) chocoholic and knew that I'd end up adding it anyway. Used Splenda for the sugar and added 1/2 a tsp vanillin to the 2 cups of mix that I made. Then I gave it all a good wizz in the food processor. It made a fine mix with no lumps that dissolved easily. It's Hot Cocoa Season, whoohoo :D

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2014

      Sorry - I didn't like this at all. To me it tasted too strong of powdered milk and I really hate the taste of powdered milk. Another recipe I found on foodnetwork.com used only 2 1/2 cups of powdered milk, 2 cups of sugar and 1 cup of cocoa, so I used what I had made from this recipe as a base and added the following: another cup of sugar (powdered sugar since that's what the recipe called for) and another cup of cocoa. After that, I liked it much better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2009

      What a great recipe to go to when you want to have alot of hot-chocolate made up for whenever. I seldom buy pre-packaged hotchocolate mix anymore as this way is so much easier. The only change I made to your recipe was using splenda in place of the sugar. It will take at least 3 heaping T. of the mix with 12 oz. of water. Thanks for a keeper Cathy!~ Made for ZaarStars.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2009

      I started with this recipe but have ended up changing several things. 3 cups powdered milk 3/4 cup powdered sugar 1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa This makes 4 cups dry mix (about 10 servings) Mix 3 heaping tablespoons with 1 cup hot water. I make up a batch of this mix about once a week during the cold months!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2008

      What a wonderful recipe to have on hand - especially at the holidays. I made a batch to give to my Dad and a neighbor - both of who have diabetes. I used a dark cocoa mix, Splenda for the sugar, and did use the hint to mix it in the blender to make it finer in texture. I divided the mix between mason jars, wrapped it with ribbon and tacked on the instructions. I now have two great gifts to give out! Thanks Nimzie!! Made for Holiday Tag game Dec 08. Oh wanted to add - I did make a mug of this to taste test and it was a very smooth tasting drink and mikekey is right - no floaters of mix in my mug! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2008

      Not sure this is quite what I was looking for. I changed the serving size to 1 cup of mix, and felt the end result tasted very much like powdered milk - which I did not like at all. The only redeeming factor was that my kids (who I made it for) liked it...of course, they have seldom had commercial hot chocolate mix...and I added some mint extract. In the end, I guess it served its purpose, I just don't think I will be making more to keep on hand.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2008

      This is a nice mix to keep on hand. I used Splenda and Hershey's Special Dark cocoa, which made it a little richer. I also followed Paula's hint and ran it through the blender. The best part of this is you don't get those "pudding lumps" you get with the commercial mix if you use water that is too hot. Thanks for a nice winter warmer!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2008

      I made this hot chocolate to have along with some Cream Cheese Cinnamon Cresents. What a treat! The hot chocolate warmed my innards and put a smile on my face. Great stuff Nimz! I made for the Zaar Star Tag Game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2007

      Wow- this was really good. I have made a lot of hot chocolate mix but this is definately the best one that I have tasted. I used 2% milk and 3 heaping tbls of mix. I also added marshmellows. I love hot chocolate so I will be making a lot more of this. I used splenda instead of sugar as that is all I buy. I also didn't add the extra sugar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2007

      I did only for 1 cup and right after doing it, I did a hot chocolate in microwave, with milk. I used 2 tbs and it was perfect. I omitted the second quantity of sugar. Thanks Nimz :) Made for Holiday Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2006

      WOW! This is delicious! Its the best coco mix I think I have ever had. I only had 4 1/2c of powdered milk but I think its just perfect. I also used 2% milk when making a cup and used 3 to 4Tbs of the mix. (the measurements depends on size of cup your using) I love it! Its going to be a keeper for sure in our kitchen. Thanks so much for sharing this great recipe. Your right! I will never buy store brand again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2006

      I loved this cocoa mixture. But I also used less sugar. This will always be in my kitchen, ready for a hot cocoa. And maybe next winter I'll add some drandy? Thanks for this great recipe NimrodCook!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2006

      This will really come in handy on the boat in Mexico where it's impossible to get hot chocolate mixes. Wish I'd read Paula's review before I made mine, I used sugar! Next time I'll try the splenda! Thanks for sharing

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2006

      Great mix! LOVE this mixed into a cup of coffee!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2006

      Delicious. The only thing I changed was I used splenda and of course it was fine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2006

      Quick and easy LOVE this! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2005

      This is so easy and so inexpensive to make. I mixed all the ingredients in the Vita-Mix which creates a very fine powder and helps to break down the milk solids resulting in easier mixing. The unsweetened cocoa was a premium grade of Dutch Process Cocoa and I used Splenda for the sugar. For a little under 12 oz of hot water, I used about 4 rounded tablespoons of the mix, topping it off with frothed low-fat milk for a true taste delight.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2005

      Great to have on hand! Hot chocolate mix with a healthy serving of calcium and no saturated fat like the commercial brands and mixes using coffee creamer. I've made this with hot water, with milk, and with vanilla soy milk, and served it to my kids, my mother and, of course, myself. I've also used it in NimrodCook's Kahlua Mocha #147141 and Hot Chocolate Float #147145. The taste of powdered milk I found the most pronounced with plain water, but the other flavor options from Cooking Light were not only delicious (and fat free) but hid that aftertaste a bit. It didn't bother my kids or mother, and since this is a healthful alternative to the commercial stuff (without making hot cocoa from scratch), I think it definitely deserves 5 stars. Thanks for posting!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Hot Chocolate Mix

    Serving Size: 1 (949 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 464.7
     
    Calories from Fat 17
    67%
    Total Fat 1.9 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 1.1 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 18.0 mg
    6%
    Sodium 483.3 mg
    20%
    Total Carbohydrate 82.2 g
    27%
    Dietary Fiber 2.9 g
    11%
    Sugars 77.6 g
    310%
    Protein 34.2 g
    68%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites