19 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I have the Cooking Light Cookbook that this recipe came from. The serving size is 1/3 cup of the mix. The directions for 1 cup are to use 1/3 cup mix, 3/4 cup water, 1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract and to microwave on high for 45 to 60 seconds. For 2 servings use 2/3 cup mix, 1 1/2 cups water, 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract and microwave for 1 1/2 to 2 minutes. For 4 servings use 1 1/3 cups mix, 3 cups water, 1 teaspoon vanilla extract and microwave for 3 minutes.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susan M. January 21, 2010

Lovely mix :D. I added extra cocoa just because I'm a (maybe not so closet) chocoholic and knew that I'd end up adding it anyway. Used Splenda for the sugar and added 1/2 a tsp vanillin to the 2 cups of mix that I made. Then I gave it all a good wizz in the food processor. It made a fine mix with no lumps that dissolved easily. It's Hot Cocoa Season, whoohoo :D

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annacia November 10, 2009

Sorry - I didn't like this at all. To me it tasted too strong of powdered milk and I really hate the taste of powdered milk. Another recipe I found on foodnetwork.com used only 2 1/2 cups of powdered milk, 2 cups of sugar and 1 cup of cocoa, so I used what I had made from this recipe as a base and added the following: another cup of sugar (powdered sugar since that's what the recipe called for) and another cup of cocoa. After that, I liked it much better.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bonn Amie November 23, 2014

What a great recipe to go to when you want to have alot of hot-chocolate made up for whenever. I seldom buy pre-packaged hotchocolate mix anymore as this way is so much easier. The only change I made to your recipe was using splenda in place of the sugar. It will take at least 3 heaping T. of the mix with 12 oz. of water. Thanks for a keeper Cathy!~ Made for ZaarStars.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CoffeeB September 23, 2009

I started with this recipe but have ended up changing several things. 3 cups powdered milk 3/4 cup powdered sugar 1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa This makes 4 cups dry mix (about 10 servings) Mix 3 heaping tablespoons with 1 cup hot water. I make up a batch of this mix about once a week during the cold months!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rohanlori February 05, 2009

What a wonderful recipe to have on hand - especially at the holidays. I made a batch to give to my Dad and a neighbor - both of who have diabetes. I used a dark cocoa mix, Splenda for the sugar, and did use the hint to mix it in the blender to make it finer in texture. I divided the mix between mason jars, wrapped it with ribbon and tacked on the instructions. I now have two great gifts to give out! Thanks Nimzie!! Made for Holiday Tag game Dec 08. Oh wanted to add - I did make a mug of this to taste test and it was a very smooth tasting drink and mikekey is right - no floaters of mix in my mug! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HokiesMom December 11, 2008

Not sure this is quite what I was looking for. I changed the serving size to 1 cup of mix, and felt the end result tasted very much like powdered milk - which I did not like at all. The only redeeming factor was that my kids (who I made it for) liked it...of course, they have seldom had commercial hot chocolate mix...and I added some mint extract. In the end, I guess it served its purpose, I just don't think I will be making more to keep on hand.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cookin'-4-5 December 08, 2008

This is a nice mix to keep on hand. I used Splenda and Hershey's Special Dark cocoa, which made it a little richer. I also followed Paula's hint and ran it through the blender. The best part of this is you don't get those "pudding lumps" you get with the commercial mix if you use water that is too hot. Thanks for a nice winter warmer!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mikekey October 31, 2008

I made this hot chocolate to have along with some Cream Cheese Cinnamon Cresents. What a treat! The hot chocolate warmed my innards and put a smile on my face. Great stuff Nimz! I made for the Zaar Star Tag Game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Linda's Busy Kitchen January 27, 2008

Wow- this was really good. I have made a lot of hot chocolate mix but this is definately the best one that I have tasted. I used 2% milk and 3 heaping tbls of mix. I also added marshmellows. I love hot chocolate so I will be making a lot more of this. I used splenda instead of sugar as that is all I buy. I also didn't add the extra sugar.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bmcnichol November 16, 2007
Hot Chocolate Mix