13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I have tried many eggplant recipes on Zaar and this is one of the best. Followed your directions to a tee. The flavor of the sauce was unbelievable. I especially liked the flavor of the fresh ginger and hoisin sauce. I served this with eggrolls and a cabbage-dish. Thanks Sharon, for a memorable meal.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ratherbeswimmin' November 16, 2003

This recipe goes into my cookbook to stay. The flavor of the sauce was sweet and spicy and rich. I was a little worried about the amount of red pepper flakes, but it was just perfect...not too hot and not too bland. I didn't have any sherry so I substituted some rice wine (saki) and I thought it worked very well. The sesame seeds didn't add much flavor to the dish, but they looked pretty scattered on top. I served this with some Jasmine rice and stir fried bok choy with shitakes. Really delicious recipe, Sharon.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Geema May 14, 2004

Excellent recipe. I added 1 tsp of ginger paste. Thanks for sharing a great and easy recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pesto lover November 19, 2014

Yum. Would be great served with rice. I had no hoisin so used oyster. I cut the water in half. The time and reduction is key. I cooked my meat in the remains of the sauce. Nice.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ambervim February 20, 2014

Very tasty -- loved the flavors. I used regular eggplant as I could not find my favorite Asian eggplants -- they seem to have a milder flavor. Next time, I might add some additional veggies and/or some tofu. I did add the chopped cilantro as mentioned by another reviewer. This made a really nice dinner tonight. Made for Everyday is a Holiday tag, December, 2013.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nancy's Pantry January 01, 2014

Fantastic! Added some ground beef & tofu after cooking the eggplant to boost protein. Served with brown rice & green beans. Delicious! Oh, did add about 1/2 T garlic chile sauce to bump up the heat a bit. Mmmm! Another winner, Sharon123! Thanks (especially since I wasn't up to making moussaka & didn't want to baba it!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Buster's friend December 23, 2010

Very tasty and pleasantly hot. I made this as written, just garnished with some chopped cilantro. This is a really good way to do something different with eggplant. Thanx for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Parsley* October 03, 2010

This was a great, fast dish to accompany the spicy garlic shrimp I made for dinner tonight. I only used one eggplant but I kept the amounts the same for the ingredients (maybe reducing the hoisin to 2 tbsp instead and using chicken broth instead of water). I also only simmered the eggplant for 10mins and it was tender but not soggy. Perhaps it was because I used dark mushroom soy sauce, but the hoisin and soy sauce seemed to overpower the dish for me. I think next time I will use 1 tbsp hoisin and 1 tbsp oyster sauce and use regular soy sauce, to still maintain the consistency but make the flavors more subtle. The heat of the final dish was just right for DH, but I added spicy chili oil on top of my serving. I'll definitely make this again but make those changes I suggested. Thanks very much!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mlao77 October 05, 2009

It was so nice and flaerful, but it came out a bit salty. I added ground pork next time and it was perfect. Highly recommended. I will definately make it over and over. Thank you!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Naoko V October 13, 2008

Yummy eggplant. More spicy than sweet. Keep a close eye on it once you turn it up to high, it will thicken to almost nothing in less than 5 minutes. Served 4 with brown rice. Great recipe, Sharon!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maito March 30, 2008
Hot Chinese Eggplant (Aubergine)