Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Hot Chinese Eggplant (Aubergine) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Hot Chinese Eggplant (Aubergine)

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on November 16, 2003

      I have tried many eggplant recipes on Zaar and this is one of the best. Followed your directions to a tee. The flavor of the sauce was unbelievable. I especially liked the flavor of the fresh ginger and hoisin sauce. I served this with eggrolls and a cabbage-dish. Thanks Sharon, for a memorable meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2004

      This recipe goes into my cookbook to stay. The flavor of the sauce was sweet and spicy and rich. I was a little worried about the amount of red pepper flakes, but it was just perfect...not too hot and not too bland. I didn't have any sherry so I substituted some rice wine (saki) and I thought it worked very well. The sesame seeds didn't add much flavor to the dish, but they looked pretty scattered on top. I served this with some Jasmine rice and stir fried bok choy with shitakes. Really delicious recipe, Sharon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2014

      Yum. Would be great served with rice. I had no hoisin so used oyster. I cut the water in half. The time and reduction is key. I cooked my meat in the remains of the sauce. Nice.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2014

      Very tasty -- loved the flavors. I used regular eggplant as I could not find my favorite Asian eggplants -- they seem to have a milder flavor. Next time, I might add some additional veggies and/or some tofu. I did add the chopped cilantro as mentioned by another reviewer. This made a really nice dinner tonight. Made for Everyday is a Holiday tag, December, 2013.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2010

      Fantastic! Added some ground beef & tofu after cooking the eggplant to boost protein. Served with brown rice & green beans. Delicious! Oh, did add about 1/2 T garlic chile sauce to bump up the heat a bit. Mmmm! Another winner, Sharon123! Thanks (especially since I wasn't up to making moussaka & didn't want to baba it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2010

      Very tasty and pleasantly hot. I made this as written, just garnished with some chopped cilantro. This is a really good way to do something different with eggplant. Thanx for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2009

      This was a great, fast dish to accompany the spicy garlic shrimp I made for dinner tonight. I only used one eggplant but I kept the amounts the same for the ingredients (maybe reducing the hoisin to 2 tbsp instead and using chicken broth instead of water). I also only simmered the eggplant for 10mins and it was tender but not soggy. Perhaps it was because I used dark mushroom soy sauce, but the hoisin and soy sauce seemed to overpower the dish for me. I think next time I will use 1 tbsp hoisin and 1 tbsp oyster sauce and use regular soy sauce, to still maintain the consistency but make the flavors more subtle. The heat of the final dish was just right for DH, but I added spicy chili oil on top of my serving. I'll definitely make this again but make those changes I suggested. Thanks very much!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2008

      It was so nice and flaerful, but it came out a bit salty. I added ground pork next time and it was perfect. Highly recommended. I will definately make it over and over. Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2008

      Yummy eggplant. More spicy than sweet. Keep a close eye on it once you turn it up to high, it will thicken to almost nothing in less than 5 minutes. Served 4 with brown rice. Great recipe, Sharon!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2008

      Alot sweeter than expected, matched nicely with the spicyness (I added extra heat). Great recipe! Thanks Sharon123! Made for Chinese/Vietnamese New Year Tag Game 2008.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2005

      I just love eggplant - I think it is my favourite vegetable - and I really enjoyed it prepared this way. Sweet, fresh and spicy. Glancing up at Geema's review, I've just realised I forgot the sesame seeds, but it was still delicious without them. I used McWilliam's Cream Sherry, and the amount of sauce, for us, was just right. I served this with steamed rice and MaeEast's Braised Pork in Soy Sauce #66763, and they complemented each other nicely. Thanks for posting Sharon.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2002

      Eggplant bathed in a wonderful sauce made with Hoisin, sherry, garlic and ginger. I used Japanese eggplant and didn't need to salt and drain it. I also didn't have time to slice it into strips, so I cut it into small wedges. The recipe didn't specify the type of sherry, so I used a lightly sweetened amber sherry. I would have liked more sauce and think it would be helpful to have the amount of eggplant specified by weight. We adored the flavor, next time I use less eggplant.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Hot Chinese Eggplant (Aubergine)

    Serving Size: 1 (286 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 127.1
     
    Calories from Fat 46
    36%
    Total Fat 5.1 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 0.8 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 0.2 mg
    0%
    Sodium 471.5 mg
    19%
    Total Carbohydrate 16.1 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 6.6 g
    26%
    Sugars 6.8 g
    27%
    Protein 2.9 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites