14 Reviews

My husband's usual remark to when I bake chicken is "its ok, but I'm not crazy about it" but when he had this, his eyes popped out of his head and said "omg... this is GOOD - glad I took the big piece!" and wolfed it down! I added some red pepper flakes as suggested by another user, and since I was serving it with rice, I wanted a "gravy" and added some cream of chicken soup. I also butterflied the breasts and put in a slice of swiss and seasoned with pepper and seasoning salt inside. I too put it under the broiler to crisp the bacon. One word - heaven!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
plaza October 27, 2009

I was very pleased with this recipe. The chicken breast stayed incredibly moist and juicy-- it must have been the mayo! I too used 1/2 garlic powder and 1/2 black pepper since I didn't have the pre-mixed kind. Definitely cut your bacon in half and layer on top so that everything gets nice and crispy. A keeper!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cali_love April 14, 2009

My DH absolutely raved about this chicken. We made ours on the grill and I doubled the recipe, and served with a broccoli and rice dish. The leftovers were served the next day for lunch, and it made a scrumptious sandwich. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TheGrumpyChef March 23, 2009

Fantastic! I didn't have any garlic pepper and somehow was out of garlic powder so i used McCormick's Montreal chicken seasoning and it was delicious. Next time I might cut my bacon strips in half and layer over top instead of wrapping so that it's all crispy (broiling at the end for a couple of minutes). Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KLBoyle January 05, 2009

A fabulously easy and flavoursome recipe. I was particularly inspired - prior to making these -by twissis' photograph and review, so I erred on the side of generosity with the mayonaisse. I couldn't find any garlic pepper, so I used several grindings of black pepper, added some rosemary and sage and 2 cloves of minced garlic. SO delicious with SO little effort. I'll certainly be making these again. And the recipe could so easily be increased for feeding a crowd! Thanks, Wendy Bob, for sharing this great recipe! Made for PRMR.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bluemoon downunder November 10, 2008

This was such an easy recipe! It was quick too. I broiled it for about 5 minutes at the end to crisp the bacon like another reviewer mentioned. It worked great. Thanks for posting. This will become a go to recipe for when I want something easy and with ingredients I have on hand. Thanks for posting! Made for PRMR Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shelby Jo July 29, 2008

I echo LIG ~ An easy quick-fix w/great taste! I used Montreal Steak Seasoning for the garlic + pepper mix & added chives for color. My chicken breasts were lrg & thick, so I pounded them w/my meat mallet & halved them from side-to-side. Seen in the pic is my yield from 1 breast after I cut the thick half in medallions & followed directions. I slathered the thinner half w/the mayo mix, rolled it roulade fashion so it could be sliced & finished it the same. I carefully wrapped them, but found my favorite bites were those where the mayo mix escaped & baked to a lovely brown & tasty crunch. In my convection oven, I baked them 15 min on the bake setting & then switched to the fan setting for the last 5 min to fully cook & crisp the bacon. This is a terrific recipe. Thx for sharing it w/us. :-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
twissis May 26, 2008

In a word YUMMY!! This chicken was fantastic! Super moist and absolutely delicious. Incredibly easy to put together. I made extra of the mayo mixture and mixed it with a can of cream of chicken soup and some milk to create a nice sauce which we served over rice. This will definitely become a regular dish around here and I'm going to try to OAMC it

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cuistot February 29, 2008
Hot Chicken, Bacon & Garlic Mayo