47 Reviews

Delicious...and so quick and easy, too!! I have made this three times already because it is so darn good. I did increase the caramel and vanilla measurements to get it so that it was right for my taste. Also, I went the lazy route and mixed all of the ingredients into a 2-cup glass measuring cup. I microwaved it on "high" for 3-4 mins. until it was hot, stirring occasionally. This really hits the spot when you are looking for something to warm your insides :) *Made for Comfort Cafe*

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bayhill January 02, 2009

This is so delicious! I think I'll serve this after dinner on Thanksgiving! Update: I served this in a crockpot on Thanksgiving and it was GONE before I knew it! I mean they picked up the crockpot and poured the last of it out! They LOVED it! Thank you!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SweetySJD November 24, 2006

It did warm me right up! So easy to make - I did it in a microwaveable measuring cup, then poured, steaming into my mug. I used Dulce de Leche Mexican style caramel and it was like having dessert!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LorenLou December 16, 2003

just made this and it was perfect on a rainy morning!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fyrfli November 04, 2011

The caramel adds just enough sweetness. We added a teaspoon of cinnamon and I forgot the vanila. Tasted great. Served up in a thermal carafe for our block parry. YUM!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shabby Sign Shoppe November 01, 2011

Made this using Mom's Homemade apple cider #253224, it came out heavenly! Perfect for a cool autumn day. Thank you

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mom2MMCJ October 07, 2009

NOTE for those of you with stringy caramel: Try using the brand Mrs. Richardson's Butterscotch Caramel Topping, which you can order on amazon or I buy it at my local Jewel Food Store. It completely dissolves and is flawless in this recipe!

I'm giving this recipe the Official 3-D review:
*Delectable
*Delicious
*Deceptively Easy to Make!

Well, after reading the reviewer who had problems, I was very curious to see how this turned out. Luckily, where we're on holiday, they have a pantry-like store within a good brisk walk and I bought caramel sauce, regular apple cider & HARD cider to try this. (Hard cider was my hubby's suggestion. LOL) We made the 1st mug in the microwave, zapped it for 4 minutes and it turned out flawlessly! We made the hard cider version in a pan over the hob and that turned out even better...but that may have been the "harder" nature of the cider! Absolutely lovely and we both enjoyed our versions, lounging in front of the fireplace and savoring each sip.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The_Swedish_Chef December 16, 2012

This was perfect for a cold day like today!! Thanks, Woofie!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annisette November 19, 2010
Hot Caramel Apple Cider