23 Reviews

My first "Hot Buttered Rum".....but it sure won't be my last! The perfect "warm up" on a cold winter's night. I kept Bill's review in mind when mixing, because I felt it might be a little strong for my taste also. So, I reduced the rum to 1-oz for my serving. It was perfect!! I put the remaining batter in an air-tight container and stuck it in the 'fridge. Thanks, Gay, I'm very glad you shared this one!!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susie in Texas January 25, 2003

This was absolutely delicious, perfect for a winter night. I reduced the recipe by half (I didn't have a gallon of rum) and saved the rest of the batter. I would recommend cutting the amount of ground cloves in half, but that might just be me, I think they're pretty strong. But well worth having nonetheless!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bill Gary January 02, 2003

Hey! Good stuff! I've used Trader Vic's all these years, but now I'm switched. Sorry Vic. I've sacraficed a new plastic container for my buttered rum mix. I like having it on hand all year. This is good, and easy. TIP: Make up a double batch. It'll keep forever in the fridge and it's good any time. Summer nights on the patio can get chilly, and mid-winter can be freezing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Countrywife December 18, 2006

Ooooooh! I had never had hot buttered rum before, so I took a chance and tried this recipe. Am soooooo glad I did! I omitted the cloves as I am not really big on them, but otherwise kept the recipe the same. I cannot rate this recipe high enough! Absolutely delish!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boxerwing December 10, 2003

USE NUTMEG SPARINGLY!!!
This is a good recipe. Very yummy. I drink it without rum and my baby loves it to. However I seriously suggest mixing everything and adding the nutmeg to taste. Even a dash too much can overpower the whole drink.
Can't wait to try it in my coffee.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SuperNancPants January 07, 2012

Oh.my.goodness!! DELISH! I was the hit of every gathering I brought this to. Seriously, even without the rum (for the kiddos), people were going wild. WELL DONE! A FAVORITE IN MY HOUSE.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
aprils0909 December 05, 2011

Loved it! I thought it might not taste good without the ice cream, but I was wrong, it is delicious without it (and less fattening). I want to try it with the Splenda brown sugar next time to make it more sugar free. I sometimes add a little powdered cream for coffee to the drink for a little different taste. I halved the recipe and used 1/4 tsp. for each spice. Perfect the way it is, thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dandy Sandy December 24, 2010

i absolutely love this stuff. I have had a recipe for Hot Buttered Rum for years. Always calling for heavy cream or icecream. Being lactose intolerate.. well it never was something I could enjoy. Now with this recipe... am loving it.. Ty so much for posting an allergy friendly recipe. It's not winter in ND yet although the winds are 54 mph and its raining.. lol so its cold.. now i got some yummy in my warm tummy.. Again tysvm

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WyomingMoonDust October 01, 2009

Morning and Merry Christmas! Five stars with a couple extra!! I made a batch of this in am. and added it to coffee. It was absolutely delicious!!! Instead of regular brown sugar I used the splenda brown sugar. It turned out just right. I made a very small batch and did a 4-1 ration of sugar to butter. I also added more cinnamon. How festive.. The temp. is falling and it is trying to snow here in Lexington, KY.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lori Lee December 23, 2007
Hot Buttered Rum