Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Holiday Central >

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Do You See What I See? #PartyBites
    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    You Saved Room For a Reason
    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    57 Homemade Gifts From The Kitchen
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Hot Buttered Rum Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Hot Buttered Rum

    Average Rating:

    23 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 23

    Sort by:

    • on January 25, 2003

      My first "Hot Buttered Rum".....but it sure won't be my last! The perfect "warm up" on a cold winter's night. I kept Bill's review in mind when mixing, because I felt it might be a little strong for my taste also. So, I reduced the rum to 1-oz for my serving. It was perfect!! I put the remaining batter in an air-tight container and stuck it in the 'fridge. Thanks, Gay, I'm very glad you shared this one!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2003

      This was absolutely delicious, perfect for a winter night. I reduced the recipe by half (I didn't have a gallon of rum) and saved the rest of the batter. I would recommend cutting the amount of ground cloves in half, but that might just be me, I think they're pretty strong. But well worth having nonetheless!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2006

      Hey! Good stuff! I've used Trader Vic's all these years, but now I'm switched. Sorry Vic. I've sacraficed a new plastic container for my buttered rum mix. I like having it on hand all year. This is good, and easy. TIP: Make up a double batch. It'll keep forever in the fridge and it's good any time. Summer nights on the patio can get chilly, and mid-winter can be freezing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2003

      Ooooooh! I had never had hot buttered rum before, so I took a chance and tried this recipe. Am soooooo glad I did! I omitted the cloves as I am not really big on them, but otherwise kept the recipe the same. I cannot rate this recipe high enough! Absolutely delish!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2012

    • on January 07, 2012

      USE NUTMEG SPARINGLY!!!
      This is a good recipe. Very yummy. I drink it without rum and my baby loves it to. However I seriously suggest mixing everything and adding the nutmeg to taste. Even a dash too much can overpower the whole drink.
      Can't wait to try it in my coffee.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2011

      Oh.my.goodness!! DELISH! I was the hit of every gathering I brought this to. Seriously, even without the rum (for the kiddos), people were going wild. WELL DONE! A FAVORITE IN MY HOUSE.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2010

      Loved it! I thought it might not taste good without the ice cream, but I was wrong, it is delicious without it (and less fattening). I want to try it with the Splenda brown sugar next time to make it more sugar free. I sometimes add a little powdered cream for coffee to the drink for a little different taste. I halved the recipe and used 1/4 tsp. for each spice. Perfect the way it is, thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2009

      i absolutely love this stuff. I have had a recipe for Hot Buttered Rum for years. Always calling for heavy cream or icecream. Being lactose intolerate.. well it never was something I could enjoy. Now with this recipe... am loving it.. Ty so much for posting an allergy friendly recipe. It's not winter in ND yet although the winds are 54 mph and its raining.. lol so its cold.. now i got some yummy in my warm tummy.. Again tysvm

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2007

      Morning and Merry Christmas! Five stars with a couple extra!! I made a batch of this in am. and added it to coffee. It was absolutely delicious!!! Instead of regular brown sugar I used the splenda brown sugar. It turned out just right. I made a very small batch and did a 4-1 ration of sugar to butter. I also added more cinnamon. How festive.. The temp. is falling and it is trying to snow here in Lexington, KY.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2007

      I gave this recipe to a friend of mine who requested it. I have never tried this before, I didn't think I would like it as I'm not a rum drinker, but I was so wrong. I Loved it and on a cold night like we've been having, you really appreciate it even more. My friend said she didn't change a thing on this, and I plan on making a batch myself to keep on hand. Thanks Gay, its a winner!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2007

      Yummy! I ground my own cloves with a mortar and pestle. Creamed with the back of a spoon because I don't have a mixer. It took a litle time, but eventually all blended. This recipe tastes best with light rum (rather than dark spiced rum).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2006

      Yum! Made a double batch - and I'm sipping on the 'sample' mug right now. All the 'makin's will come with us to the NY eve party tonight. We're going to try using hot cider instead of the water tomorrow morning while watching the Rose Parade. Note to self - if you decide to use a cinammon stick as a stirrer - be sure your mug isn't too tall -- it disappeared under the HBR, and we had to use a spoon to stir the stick out! ;-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2006

    • on December 16, 2006

      We bought a Harley in 04 and the first year we rode every night and every weekend regardless of the weather!! We were introduced to hot buttered rum after riding half a day in the freezing cold!! Yum Yum!! We, too, prefer Brandy in it. This recipe is as good if not better than store bought! I came looking for it (Zaar to the rescue!) when I opened a brand new container of HBR mix from the store and it had mold in it - yuck!!! I will never buy it again - thanks for sharing your recipe. P.S. - After reading the reviews, Richard Wright sounds like a hoot!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2006

      I made this recipe last night and used my coffe maker to keep it warm. The butter mixture separated in the drink and looked kinda gross. I am not a heavy drinker so I think that is why it wasn't my favorite. sorry

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2006

      Wonderful and so easy to make and enjoy. This is my new favorite winter evening beverage.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2005

      This hot buttered rum recipe is excellent. It is a great sweet, flavorful recipe. Very easy to enjoy on a cold winter's night with friends.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2005

      This is a favorite of ours!! Perfect for a snowy night...by the lights of the Christmas tree. We used our favorite rum Myers...so it was quite dark...and so very good!!! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2005

      I love this drink! I have been looking for a recipe to use up some dark rum that my wife bought to make cookies. This is perfect! I reduced the recipe to 2 serveings and everthing came out good. I also used dark rum and added a little extra brown sugar. Thanks for posting this recipe; I am looking forward to enjoying this drink during the holidays.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Hot Buttered Rum

    Serving Size: 1 (166 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 80

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 400.7
     
    Calories from Fat 10
    58%
    Total Fat 1.1 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.7 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 3.0 mg
    1%
    Sodium 15.2 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 5.4 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 5.3 g
    21%
    Protein 0.0 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes