Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Hot Butter Your Buns With Buttered Rum in a Crock Pot Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Hot Butter Your Buns With Buttered Rum in a Crock Pot

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on December 18, 2011

      also thought this was great but a little too sweet. will halv sugar next time! was away for the holidays and didn't have any cardamom pods so improvised and put about a tsp or so in a coffee filter and tied with a twist tie (should of put the cloves in there too!) used captain nelson spiced rum and topped with whipped cream in a can. tell ya what, it sure didn't last long! brought back some memories for an uncle who hadn't had it homemade since '88! THANKS Rita!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2013

      We made this buttered rum the center of a neighborhood gathering. It was a real hit! We all loved it. I made exactly as the recipe is written until the last step - everyone got to adjust their own rum level. My daughters new favorite drink now is hot buttered mulled water! Will save this recipe and make again many times. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2011

      I found the spices right, but the amount of sugar was too much and it was too runny for my tastes. With a few mods, I enjoyed it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2009

      This was very yummy but looked quite nasty - like a jus. It was also super, dooper sweet.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2009

      Delicious and easy! I did take the advice of putting all the spices in a cheese cloth - Worked out perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2009

      I made this last night for my New Years eve party. We LOVED this!!! I put all the spices in a loose tea leaf holder and let it sit in my crock pot for about 6 hours. House smelled AWESOME!! Thanks so much for sharing such a great recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2008

    • on January 03, 2008

    • on December 24, 2007

      Fantastic! I halved the rum in the crockpot so that it would be okay for the "light weights" and gave everyone the option of adding more to taste. This was VERY well received by everyone. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2007

      Wonderful. I could not find cardamon pods so I used ground. Perfect holiday beverage.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2006

      It is very sweet - which is not a problem because I served it with the rum on the side so we could add lots of extra rum to cut the sweetness.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2006

      Wonderful! I used this recipe for a recent shin-dig and it was a hit. Even though one of the guest commented that it looked like aus ju, I received many compliments on the flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2006

      This was so yummy, although a bit sweet, even for me. But, we still loved it. We had this on Thanksgiving after coming home from a nice big dinner. Let's just say I slept good that night! I am going to make this again for a Christmas party and see how it goes. Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2006

      Made for PAC. I made this yesterday when we had a rainy, chilly day! I was perfect with Monday Night Football watching! This is going in my permanent files! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2006

      Rita, we loved this! I had this in the crockpot for an hour or so, and my whole house smells awesome! I served this instead of coffee for guests after a meal, and boy, it went fast! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2006

      This was an exceptional treat for my Bunco night! I didn't use cardamon pods as I didn't know what they were at first. Just prior to serving, I had to strain it using cheesecloth as my cinnamon stick bark fell apart, but what a WONDERFUL cocktail this was! I added either [canned] chocolate or regular whipped topping and sprinkled with holiday decorating sugar. Of course, I had to drizzle a wee bit more spiced rum atop the whipped topping. However, the non-drinkers enjoyed it without the rum. This is a keeper!!! Thank you for a superb and easy cocktail recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2004

      This is GREAT!!! I made it and served it at a party I had; the house smelled wounderful and the tast...out of this world! I didn't have nutmeg so I used pumpkin pie spice and it was great. ***Next time I will use cheese clothe and put the whole spices in a pocket. I think I am going to make this for Christmas at my parents house but leave out the rum and double the batch so that the kids can have some and the adults can put in rum to tast.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2004

      WONDERFUL !!! JUST GREAT! This more than anything else was the favorite on Thanksgiving. I even had an ex-bar tender telling me that hot buttered rum would never turn out well in a crockpot ... and then she converted! It is by far the best Hot Buttered Rum I have ever tasted. * I used spiced rum and cut back just a bit on the amount of rum so it wouldnt overpower it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2004

      This was excellent, Rita. Just what I needed after a wretched stressful week. The flavor was smooth, rich and pleasantly spiced. Lovely smell. I will be making this again during the holidays. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Hot Butter Your Buns With Buttered Rum in a Crock Pot

    Serving Size: 1 (125 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 439.8
     
    Calories from Fat 104
    23%
    Total Fat 11.5 g
    17%
    Saturated Fat 7.3 g
    36%
    Cholesterol 30.5 mg
    10%
    Sodium 136.6 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 54.0 g
    18%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 53.4 g
    213%
    Protein 0.1 g
    0%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    cloves

    cardamom pods

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites