Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Hot, but Sweet Corn & Potato Chowder Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Hot, but Sweet Corn & Potato Chowder

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on October 12, 2001

      This is FANTASTIC!!! Instead of the oil, I fried a few strips of bacon that I cut up. And, I also added a couple of ribs of celery. For the whole k. corn I used white corn. Very Good GAY!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2009

      Very good soup Malarkey Test! It truly is Hot and Sweet! I enjoyed bflygirl's suggested variations and incorporated several... but left in the thyme (makes such a difference!) Served with a dollop of sour cream, topped with chopped cilantro and Italian blend shredded cheese on the side, to be added individually! Got rave reviews! Thanks so much for a great recipe! We will enjoy again! Mama Marilyn

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2009

      Great Soup. I tweed the recipe some. I used 5 idaho potatoes with skin instead of red (did not have any) and added one can of chicken broth, one small can of green chili's (did not have jalapenio). We also like foods spicey, so added cayenne pepper and some nutmeg too. Very Good Chowder. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2009

      Spicy Single Female Variation Being a single female, I halfed this recipe so that I wouldn't have to eat it for 2 weeks straight. I also made a few minor substitutions and left out the leek and thyme. Here is my variation: Ingredients 1 tsp cooking oil 1/2 yellow onions, diced 1 (15 1/4 ounce) cans yellow and white corn 4 small red potatoes 1/2 teaspoon cumin 1/4 teaspoon chili powder 1 (15 1/4 ounce) cans creamed white corn 1 cup soy milk (to thin the soup) 1/4 teaspoon ancho chili pepper 1 teaspoon dried or fresh cillantro ground pepper (to taste) 1 cup black bean corn salsa Make recipe according to directions. This variation yields 9 cups which for me is four servings as a meal. I would recommend cooking the soup at least 30 minutes. The red potatoes were still hard after 20 minutes on my gas stove. Very yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2008

      I made this the 1st time as written (minus leeks as I didn't have any on hand) & it was very good. However, I have made it several times again with a few minor adjustments. I started by cooking onions, garlic, & potatoes in oil until soft, then added the jalapenos, followed by the spices (I used 2 teaspoons of chili powder as we like things spicy), then sprinkled about a tablespoon of flour over the ingredients. Then I added about a cup of broth. Then added the corns & lastly the milk & let it cook for about 30 minutes. Served with mexican shredded cheese on top..yum! Still a good dish either way you make it, it is very versatile. Thanks so much for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2007

      This recipe was quite wonderful for the ease of preparation. Do NOT overdo the chili powder--this is probably common sense, but I did by accident and it really overpowered the dish. I loved how simple and healthy it was with the absence of heavy cream or roux. I fed this to my fiance and he said "it definitely tastes low fat," but he still enjoyed it quite a bit (loved the red potatoes). I will probably make this again--though the taste isn't phenomenal, it's a very creative and easy dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2006

      This is an easy dish to prepare that results in a delicious healthy, low fat meal. I successfuly cut this recipe in half. I subbed 1 large idaho potato, peeled and cubed for the red potatoes and subbed 1/2 cup chopped bell pepper for the leek. I used no fat milk and used twice the amount called for because the potatoes I used needeed more liquid. When adding the spices I also threw in about 1/4-1/2 tsp ancho powder. Right before serving I stirred in 2 ounces of velveta lite til melted. I served it with a little low fat grated mexican cheese on top and with Frank's Red Hot Pepper Sauce on the side. The leftoveers (if you have any) reheat perfectly in the microwave. Thanks for sharing your recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2005

      Very good, I did add a can of chicken broth to thin it down, next time will add some bacon, the real test will to see if my meat eaters DH and DS come home with an empty thermos, but I did include a meat ladened sandwich with it #100481 (by Windchime)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2004

      This was absolutely delicious! I added more water and milk than called for, for a more brothy consistency. I like my soups thinner. I added a lot more pepper, and some curry powder for some extra kick. I made a huge batch so I can freeze it for lunches. Thanks for posting this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2002

      I'm eating a bowl of this chowder as I write and I'm sure I'm going for seconds! I added a bit of bacon as well as some water (in addition to the milk) when I was cooking the potatoes. But other than that, I didn't change a thing and am very pleased. I'll definitely make it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Hot, but Sweet Corn & Potato Chowder

    Serving Size: 1 (545 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 646.0
     
    Calories from Fat 49
    67%
    Total Fat 5.5 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 1.3 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 4.2 mg
    1%
    Sodium 743.2 mg
    30%
    Total Carbohydrate 148.1 g
    49%
    Dietary Fiber 14.6 g
    58%
    Sugars 20.3 g
    81%
    Protein 18.1 g
    36%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes