14 Reviews

This jelly is amazing. Love it on a cracker with some goat cheese! mmm... I found you can also make it with Yellow Squash for a more golden color...even add a few drops of red dye for a "habenero orange" color!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rocky Mountain RN September 25, 2010

Holy hoppin' habaneros! Like Rita's, my husband loves the hot stuff. I used 20, count 'em, TWENTY habaneros and wore gloves while preparing this. WEAR GLOVES! I dribbled a drop on my hand while filling the jars, didn't think and licked, OWIEEE! This is, like the title says, hot as hell. I have a very happy husband, he's already asked me to get together some cream cheese and crackers so he can demonstrate this for his crew at work. And it's very pretty, too! Thanks Rita, another winner, your recipes always are! UPDATE: Our son took 3 jars of this home tonight. I guess he knows a good thing. He tasted it and loved it, and said it was ILLEGALLY HOT.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef PotPie December 05, 2007

Simple, easy to follow recipe. My batch came out a pale green because I didn't peel all of the green color from under the skin and because I substituted green cayenne peppers from my garden. Habanero peppers are too hot for us!! If you want to make your batch red, peel all the green away and use red hot peppers. I added some green food color to make it look prettier. This took a few days to set up, but yielded a nice spreadable jam.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deb Wolf September 12, 2011

I almost missed that this needed two pouches of pectin, but I caught in time, so my batch jelled great. I used 10 habaneros and 1 jalapeno that I roasted on the stove. It was not to hot when it first came out, but it is getting hotter as time goes on. I might do more habaneros next time. It all depends if the girls at work think this is hot enough for them. My B/F added some of this to peanut butter to make a spice sauce for dipping. Great for our Xmas baskets. Thank you for the recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Coppercloud October 05, 2009

This is great! I love the taste and the beautiful golden color but like one other reviewer it didn't set up as much as I would have liked. I chickened out and removed the seeds but it's still hotter than heck. This was my first time using habaneros and I couldn't believe the heat of the peppers burned my hands right through the gloves. I plan on making another batch to give to all my heat loving friends for Christmas. Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CJAY August 26, 2009

Simply fantastic! I added only a few drops of green food coloring to make it a prettier color. Actually, the heat on this is not bad, but we do like it HOT! This is what I would call jelly "with a kick." If you like it a little hot, this recipe is great! Thanks, Rita, for yet another keeper! keep posting, and I'll keep cooking! P

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pamela t. July 13, 2009

My dh tasted this jelly and at first said, "thats not hot." About 30 seconds later he said, "whew. that stuff is smoking hot." Mine came out a beautiful green color, I used grenn habaneros. Next time will use red one with the green zucchini. Plan to give for Christmas gift to all my hot food lover. Thanks for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DianeRN in Neosho, Missouri October 26, 2008

Thought I had reviewed this but guess not. Made it last year for the first time. Wish I had made more!! The family and friends loved it. Made more this year!! Love this great,great recipe!! Made as posted and wouldn't change a thing!! Thank You so Much!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Beansy October 23, 2008

This is just the best ! Its a beautiful orange color. I took to work and we had on cream cheese and crackers. Everyone loved it and wanted the recipe ! Super simple also. I have to make more now for Christmas gifts.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Idaho Sandy September 13, 2008

This is WONDERFUL! I would give it more than 5 stars if I could. Now I will admit that I used 2 Habaneros and 8 jalapenos because of my wimpy kids....but I served this up on cream cheese crackers and everyone loved it. It was just the right amount of heat for them, even though I could have gone hotter for me (old taste buds). I love the fact that zucchini was added; it added some more color to the red flakes of the habanero pepper floating around in the jelly. Thanks for a great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mary winecoff July 03, 2007
Hot As Hell Habanero Zucchini Jelly