Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Hot and Tangy Wings Crock Pot Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Hot and Tangy Wings Crock Pot Recipe

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on February 02, 2009

      I made these for a superbowl party and was dissapointed.I thought the flavor was very nice but not at all hot. I ended up adding about a tablespoon of ground red pepper and that warmed them up a little bit. No where near as hot as I expected. If I do make these again, it would be for my grandkids.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2013

      giving this one a 4 as of now because and only because I am cooking these now folks!! found many recipes but this one just stood out and...seem to be inexpensive..and hey who is not lookin for a bargain these days?! I will post again later-although I did read your reviews and we like sweet but HOTT! so thanks to you who said to add a lil more kick if you like hot..I will let you know..stay tuned..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2013

      I used this recipe for chicken legs because I wanted to do a hot wing style. I hate how expensive wings are. A pack of 10 legs are always less than $4 and makes for more of a meal than wings. After reading some of the reviews I decided to change a few things. First I laid the legs (skin on) on a foil lined sheet pan, salt and peppered, and stuck them under the broiler for 15mins. For the sauce, in a bowl I did all the same ingredients (used texas petes hot wing sauce, Im sure any will do though) but added 1 teaspoon of garlic powder and about 1/2 teaspoon of cayenne for some extra flavor and heat. Placed the wings in the slow cooker and poured the sauce over the top, stirring to coat. Cooked on low for 3 hours and removed from the crock pot. Served mine with jalapeño hushpuppies and green beans. Fed my family of four for less than $7! EXCELLENT! I thnk

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2013

      We loved the combination of flavors. They were sweet and tangy. They were a hit! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2012

      My daughter requested BDubs for her grad party. I considered the cost and decided it was time we learned to make our own wings and even though we surely haven't saved any money on the deal we have a new fryer and can make the best damn wings ever! I doubt we will ever step foot in BDubs again! I was looking for a honey BBQ recipe because those are her favorite and this sauce fit the bill. I will say this...I was bound and determined to taste test and test again until we got it perfect and I used this same recipe with three different BBQ sauces. I didn't find Bullseye in my neck of the woods but we finally settled on KC Masterpiece Original since we could also buy it in a large quantity at Sam's if we decided we liked it. I also cut the Frank's in half as it was just too spicy for me-sorry, I'm from MN and we just can't handle the heat up here!!! We used cheap WalMart brand honey. WOWZERS!!! THIS STUFF WILL MAKE YOU SLAP YO' MAMA CUZ SHE HASN'T MADE THIS YOUR WHOLE LIFE!!! Good thing mine wasn't around :) We brought our top contenders to some family friends to share and the wings covered in this delish sauce were the 2nd to disappear-beat out only by the teriyaki wings which really surprised me!!! LOVED BY ALL WITH RAVE REVIEWS! Thank you so much!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2012

      Very good recipe! I added 1/2 teaspoon cayenne pepper to mine, and the flavor was a comfortable mlid-medium. I made these for a superbowl party, and the crockpot came home empty. Hubby said I could make these again any time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2012

      I love this recipe - I've used it for a long time, but cant believe I never reviewed it - a tad tangy/spicy - but not overpowering. Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2012

      I had never cooked chicken wings before and I used this recipe for my Chicken Wing Cook-Off at work. I got first place! Excellent blend of sweet and spicy. Was a huge hit. Love love love it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2010

      Awesome! Used a different brand of BBQ sauce and whatever hot sauces I had around the house, otherwise the same. Sent recipe home with everyone. Easy and great to be able to do ahead of time in the crock-pot! Our hot sauces made them just tingly enough...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2009

      These wings were a huge hit at my families Christmas potluck! Everyone LOVED them! I will be making these again very soon! Thanks for an awesome recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2009

      I made these for me and my parents using chicken legs, and it was just fabulous. I made it as the directions stated.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2009

      Made for AWESOME chicken wings. As already said by previous posters they are delicious, incredibly flavorful and fantastic tasting. Not much more that I can add to that! Made as posted and wouldn't change a thing. Having made up wings as well a second go round using chicken pieces this recipe goes straight into my recipe drawer. Amazing how a recipe so easily made can taste so good and please so many.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2008

      I'm not a wing eater, but I made these for my husband. He loved them! He said he didn't think they were very hot, but the sauce had an incredible flavor. We'll definitely be making these again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2007

      I made these tonight. SO tasty. I did not have any mustard powder on hand so I ended up omitting it but it was still fantastic. Definitely a 'do over' recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2007

      Love the combination of flavors-hot with sweet and barbecue. I used about 3 pounds of drummettes. I used only 1/4 cup hot sauce, which was plenty hot enough.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2007

      Made these for my sons youth group New Years Eve Party and they were a big hit. I've never been able to make hot wings and with this recipe I did it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2005

      The sauce for the wings was quite good--sweet and spicy. I broiled the wings again before serving for a crispier result.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2005

      This was really good! I used chicken legs instead of wings and it worked just fine. I didn't measure exactly and everything was still fine. So easy and so yummy. I ate it for lunch the next two days!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2005

      These were really good and just the right amount of spice on your tongue. Fixed them at camp for a party and wow! Margie

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2005

      Delicious wings that are super easy to throw together! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Hot and Tangy Wings Crock Pot Recipe

    Serving Size: 1 (2356 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 99.2
     
    Calories from Fat 52
    52%
    Total Fat 5.8 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 1.6 g
    8%
    Cholesterol 27.9 mg
    9%
    Sodium 128.6 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 4.7 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 4.2 g
    16%
    Protein 6.6 g
    13%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites