14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Today I prepared the sloppy joes ontop the stove, and thought I'd edit my review... I did use 2 lbs of ground beef though, 1 cup of diced onion, 2 cloves of garlic (minced), 3/4 cup of Spicy Hot V-8, 1 cup of catsup, I omitted the water, added 3 tablespoons of packed brown sugar, 2 pickled jalapenos (which I cut in half; removed the seeds, and diced them into the meat mixture). I also added 1 slightly heaping tablespoon of yellow prepared mustard, 3 teaspoons of chili powder, and 2 teaspoons of Worcestershire sauce. I simmered the sloppy joe mix (covered) for 25 minutes; stirring twice while simmering. I then removed the cover, and continued simmering the sloppy joe mix for 10 minutes. This was an easy way to cook the sloppy joes, minus using the crock-pot. My review on May 27th, 2008: Rita L, chef sheerkerry prepared these "excellant" sloppy joes, but she used a mild picante tomato juice, and added a little more ketchup (a 3/4 cup). The brand of canned jalapenos she used was, La Victoria Fire Roasted "Hot" Diced Jalapenos. She also added 2 Tablespoons of Mc Cormick's 1 Step Seasonings (Tex - Mex Chili Spice). We ate this on toasted hamburger buns, with a shredded Mexican cheese ontop. Rita, these sloppy joes were so darn good. Thank you for this delicious recipe!! Editing my review of recipe... Rita, I just recently I made these delicious sloppy joes once again, but this time I cooked them on high for 2-1/2 hours in the crockpot.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Domestic Goddess August 27, 2011

Excellent!! I used salsa and doubled the recipe. I will surely make this again!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chill April 21, 2011

Excellent crockpot recipe! I made a few minor changes to this based on what I had on hand. I used about 1 lb ground beef and 1 pkg (12 oz) pork sausage, V-8 juice (instead of tomato) and one chipotle pepper (instead of the jalapeno) and skipped the Worcestershire sauce. I also served this on top of rice instead of in hamburger buns. Wonderful supper for a busy weeknight and very adaptable to what I had on hand. Thanks Rita for sharing! We will be having this often on school nights this year.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ellie_ September 09, 2003

Just made this tonight and it was a big hit! Tasted spicy but didn't have any kind of after burn. Even my sister who doesn't like sloppy joes said these were good and she'd eat them again. Thanks for the great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
swansong33 March 14, 2010

Excellent! I'm going to stop buying the canned stuff. I didn't add the jalapeno peppers directly into the mix as we don't all enjoy the spicy-ness. We just added that individually. Also, I couldn't find hot style tomato juice so I used V8 vegetable juice instead.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
patsyzettle September 15, 2008

Great recipe! The sauce had a lot of flavor. I made mine on the stove top and it took about 30 minutes from start to finish. I didn't have canned jalapenos, so I diced up a fresh jalapeno. I also added the jalapeno seeds and a couple of tablespoons of crushed red pepper, as my husband likes things very spicy. Will be making these again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carolyn W November 18, 2007

Excellent! even when made with ground turkey! We finished up the leftovers yesterday! Will for sure make this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lesliecoy November 05, 2007

Holy CRAP! These were GOOOOOD. I'm STUFFED! I also used ground turkey instead of beef and I used "one-carb" ketchup from HEINZ and they are FABULOUS and low calorie! Everything else I did exactly the same. KEEPER! UPDATE: I decided to make these again but without the crockpot last night. I just browned the turkey, onion and garlic and then added it to the rest of the ingredients in my big pot. I let it simmer on low for an hour. Perfect! Thanks again! LOVE SLOPPY JOES!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jVo July 31, 2007

This recipe is zesty and unusual; very tasty. I found it a little sweet and missed a more "tomato" flavor that I associate with sloppy joes from childhood. Still, I liked the complexity of the flavor and think that the leftovers (which I froze) would be good as a pizza topping, in grilled pita sandwiches, and in lettuce wraps. Thanks for sharing this recipe and I like that it is cooked in the crockpot.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
artistclogger June 09, 2007

I made this recipe with a few minor adjustments, and this is what I did... I used 1 lb. ground beef instead of 1 1/2 lbs. I used regular V-8 juice, and added some pickled jalapeno juice for the spicy V-8 from my jar of pickled jalapeno peppers... I used cayenne pepper for the chili powder, and I used shredded cheese. I cooked the beef, onions and garlic until done, then set aside... In a small saucepan I added the rest of the ingredients except the cheese, and cooked for about 20-25 mins. on med., it was boiling a little, and cooked until it thickend up. When most of the liquid was gone, I added it to the beef mixture, and spooned it onto my roll. I added the shredded cheese on top, and it was ready to go! I was too hungry to wait for the crock pot LOL... I liked the recipe, but I have to say it was rather on the sweet side... I think next time I will cut back on the brown sugar, and up the pickled jalapenos a little bit... I don't think I got quite 2 T. of them in the sauce... I used 1/4 of a lg. pepper with the seeds, minced. I have a picture that I posted of the Sloppy Joes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Linda's Busy Kitchen March 20, 2007
Hot and Spicy Sloppy Joes