Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Hot and Sour Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Hot and Sour Soup

    Average Rating:

    47 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 47

    Sort by:

    • on July 05, 2002

      WONDERFUL SOUP! This recipe is the best I've had. Marinating it over night really adds to the depth of flavor, great tip! The 2nd time I made this I doubled the amount of liquid and spice and left the veggie amounts the same. I like extra broth. It's also worth mentioning that I thought I wouldn't like the Tofu- but when it's left to marinate it completely takes on the flavor of the soup! This recipe is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2003

      Great soup! I'm a rookie at cooking and was very happy with the results. Thank you so much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2009

      I am in love with this soup. I made this last night and eating the leftovers now. I made my own broth from a whole chicken since I needed the meat for chicken salad for another meal anyway...I kept the meat from the legs and wings for this soup...I have no idea if I used only 6 cups of stock...I think it was probably more as I just filled my stock pot...I ended up adding 1 tablespoon more of soy sauce, chili sauce (I used Japanese style since I love the flavor) and vinegar (I used rice vin 'cause its what I had). I also added a tbsp of duck sauce which is something I usually add at the table when going out for chinese. This simmerd for much longer at the end after everything was added but I think it was all the better for it...I just served with some chow mein noodles and everyone enjoyed it...so yummy...I'll be making this again for sure...I may try adding slivers of beef next time...this is also easy enough to make as part of a large chinese meal. Just put the pot on the back burner to simmer while you do everything else...I normally find Chinese food to be overwhelming but this is easy and better than the restaurants and with my efforts to keep kosher in a place where there are no kosher restaurants this is a great find...thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2011

      Yumm! This was the first time I've made hot and sour soup myself but it was excellent. I used both dried shittake mushrooms and enoki mushrooms, did not have the tofu, and left out the water chestnuts and baby corn out of personal preference. It was still wonderful! Not as rich as the soup you'd get at restaurants, but still a great, slightly lighter substitute and it was REALLY satisfying! Definitely making this as often as I can! Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2010

      This was absolutely delicious! I made a vegetarian version with vegetable stock and no pork. I also used only 1 Tbsp of chili-garlic paste and didn't have the fungus, but this soup was spot-on to my restaurant favorites. Thanks for the great and easy recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2009

      Have been making this soup for the past year. I always double the recipe to eat for the week on my diet days. I omit the water chestnuts and corn because I've never had it before in hot and sour soup and add sliced button mushrooms. Also I use white ground pepper to give the creep up on you heat, about a tab cause I like my stuff spicy.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2009

      great recipe. I used cider vinegar, and doubled both the vinegar and hot sauce for more snap. I also added a little salt.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2008

      This tastes just like the soup at my favorite restaurants. Another Zaar chef once again has made it possible to get top quality food without having to leave my house. I let it marinade for 24 hours. Definetly needed it to make the tofu taste less like tofu and more like heavinly little cubes of good stuff. I thought it was seasoned perfectly. It was hot enough to have a kick and mild enough for those who do not like it too spicy. I serve it with some more chiligarlic sauce on the side and vinigar in case someone wants to take it up a notch. Thank You nutdoc!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2008

      WOW!!! I have made this many many times... I can't believe I haven't reviewed it. It tastes just like restaurant quality soup... if not better! I use homemade stock when I have it... otherwise I use Better Than Boullion (chicken). I like the pork option for the protein... more authentic IMO. I usually use dried shittakes since I always have them in my pantry... I soften them in 1 c of hot water and then add in this "mushroom broth" into the soup since we like lots of liquid and the deep mushroom flavor it adds is awesome! I love the combination of veggies and if I am making a small batch (since this recipe makes a lot) I will sometimes use a can of the stir fry vegetables instead of buying separate cans of each individual... no waste that way. Perfect amount of seasonings and heat for us... and I always add in a little splash of extra vinegar before serving. So good... thanks for posting!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2006

      In China, I never saw Hot and Sour soup with meat. I prepare it without mean and much prefer it that way because of the purity of flavor. This is the best I've seen and I think it's far better than you find in "Chinese" restaurants here.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2006

      Whenever we go out for Chinese food, I order hot and sour soup. It's my favorite-- salty, slightly sour, and spicy. This recipe allowed me to recreate the restaurant version right at home. It's wonderful! I'm out of garlic/red chile paste so I used 1 clove of garlic and red pepper flakes. I found that 2 eggs was plenty, and I used rice wine vinegar instead of white vinegar. I added more like 4 T soy sauce, and still found it needed some salt to finish it off. Delicious, and I'll make it often. Thanks so much for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2014

      Soooo, I'm a big lover of H&S soup. The flavor was great, but toooo much cornstarch, and toooo many eggs. Of course my measurements were a little off also. I had 12 oz of shiitake and 12 oz of tofu so that may have added to the denseness. I certainly will try again with a few tweeks. As I said the flavor was there, just the consistency was a little to heavy for me. Other than that I would have given it a 5 star.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2014

    • on September 06, 2013

      5 tablespoons of corn starch ? you like hot&sour soup in slices then? way to much cornstarch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2013

      This doesn't taste authentic (minus one star), but it's still good. This is one of the simplest recipes I found for hot and sour soup. I made it for a potluck once and everyone liked it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2013

      Wonderful Hot and Sour! We both loved it and will make many times again. Mine was very thick but l was very filling also. Made it one day and let it sit and had it the next day. Reheated while making egg rolls.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2013

      Very good! I used 8 cups chicken stock, and chilled overnight as suggested. Julienned the bamboo shoots, shiitakes, and chopped the water chestnuts a bit. Before serving, stirred in about 2 t chili garlic paste and a little salt. Soup was chock full of ingredients, not too heavy on the broth. If broth is your thing, I'd suggest doubling stock and seasonings. Have never had baby corn in hot and sour but it was good. Couldn't find straw mushrooms at the grocery, but we have a huge Hong Kong market where they had about ten kinds to choose from! Hot and sour soup is my middle son's favorite and he's slurping down his second bowl as I type. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2012

    • on November 26, 2012

      I have been wanting to make hot and sour soup for years and finally came across this one and thought it sounded good. Read first review where they doubled the broth. I also doubled the amount of broth and doubled the chicken, tofu. Adjusted the vinegar and chili. I agree you need to let this sit overnight in refrig before it tastes right. This recipe is now going to be the recipe I fix when I want some good hot and sour soup. Thanks for posting the recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2012

      Tried this recipe as im a massive lover of hot and sour soup and i was over the moon with it and so pleased that i could make it myself!
      Will deffianatley be making it again some time soon :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Hot and Sour Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (245 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 162.5
     
    Calories from Fat 53
    32%
    Total Fat 5.9 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 1.5 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 85.4 mg
    28%
    Sodium 610.7 mg
    25%
    Total Carbohydrate 15.1 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 2.1 g
    8%
    Sugars 3.6 g
    14%
    Protein 12.8 g
    25%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    garlic and red chile paste

    shiitake mushrooms

    dried black fungus

    baby sweet corn cobs

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes