Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Hot and Sour Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Hot and Sour Soup

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on January 24, 2007

      I used dried shiitake mushrooms that I soaked in hot water for 20 minutes, Sliced and strained the liquid into the soup. Used fresh ground pepper flakes a nice kick! And fresh sliced cabbage added a carrot which did need more then 5 minutes of cooking more like 20 minutes. ;) Was just so good and comforting! Thanks, L,L,& L, Rita

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2013

      Made for Zaar Chef Alphabet Soup tag game and this was a great hit! I did use a variety of mushrooms (shiitake, oysters and a couple of crimini) and I used napa cabbage so I also grated some carrots to add to the mix. I also add a few red pepper flakes for a kick. Definately a keeper and going into my Favorites of 2013.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2012

      Yee-Umm. My kids looove this soup, as do I. Great base recipe. Added rehydrated wood ear mushrooms and bean sprouts to the recipe with amazing results. We'll be making this a lot!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2012

      Made half a recipe for the two of us and served with Lemon chicken and rice. Wow! What a great meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2010

      Great recipe! I really like the flavors. I used cabbage, shredded carrot, and regular mushrooms. I also added some tofu! I will keep making this again and again. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2008

      Yummy! It's very cold in my region and I needed something to warm me up. I had to alternate some ingredients because of the lack of food we have at home. So I used a combination of straw mushrooms and shiitake mushroom. I sliced the carrots instead of shredding them. I also added baby corn, bamboo shoots and coriander (as garnish). This was made in no time and it was delicious. Thank you Engrossed - *Made for Zaar World Tour 4*

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2007

      This was amazing, I froze some for lunches. I used an organic chicken broth, switched the cornstarch to arrowroot, and thought it was perfect. This recipe is going in the keepers book. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2007

      So much better than you get with take-out! This is a wonderfully flavorful version of the popular Chinese standard, thanks especially to the toasted sesame oil and seasoned rice vinegar. Using coleslaw mix is a great way to cut down on preparation time. I used exactly the amount of hot pepper flakes shown and slightly increased the garlic.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2007

      Very good, I increased the pepper flakes up to 3 teaspoons (we like extreme heat!) I also increased the garlic to 2 tablespoons otherwise made as stated, we really enjoyed this soup, thanks for sharing Engrossed!...Kitten:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Hot and Sour Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (334 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 172.5
     
    Calories from Fat 67
    38%
    Total Fat 7.4 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 1.6 g
    8%
    Cholesterol 29.7 mg
    9%
    Sodium 953.2 mg
    39%
    Total Carbohydrate 9.9 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 1.5 g
    6%
    Sugars 2.9 g
    11%
    Protein 16.2 g
    32%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    seasoned rice vinegar

    chili oil

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites