Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Hot and Sour Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Hot and Sour Soup

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on April 02, 2002

      Fantastic recipe. You can really personalize the taste. Very quick, easy and tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2002

      This is a really nice soup with a complex flavour; my husband loved it. The recipe seems perfect to me, although I skipped some of the seasoning steps and added seasoning at the end instead. Thank you, Kathy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2009

      This compares to the hot and sour soup I get from my favorite restuarant. I love it and will definitely make it again soon. Next time, I think I won't add so many mushrooms as I prefer my soup with a bit more broth. Also, I had no clue what type of tofu so I got medium/hard. Next time I will get soft/medium. That you so much, Kathy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2006

      Excellent hot and sour soup, KathyShu. It has the classic taste I was looking for but hadn't yet found in a hot and sour soup recipe. I suspect rice vinegar is a must in terms of the right sour note. Thanks for posting this easy, tasty recipe for my favorite soup!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2012

      Looks very nice, can't wait to try it. I would like to note, however, that contrary to the directions, it is not possible to make a chicken stock based soup vegetarian by simply omitting the pork strips!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2010

      We enjoyed this soup, but the kids thought it was a bit too vinegary. I said I would cut back a bit on the vinegar next time although I didn't think so. Thank you for sharing with us....we love Hot and Sour soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2010

      Very Good! It was exactly what I was wanting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2010

      This is truthfully amazing! Id been to another recipe site that I tried to make this and turned out pretty bad. This was very easy to make and the proper proceedure. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2009

      i actually have never tasted this. No hot and sour soup for me. However, this is the recipe my husband requests when he's sick. He says it's perfect and even better than the Chinese restaurant's. In a pinch, i've used chicken breast instead of pork. No complaints from him. i also add red pepper flakes. Thanks for the recipe, Kathy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2007

      I made this without having the wood ear mushrooms, straw mushrooms, bean curd, and the green onions. It still turned out great. One time I used chicken and then no meat at all. This is a great recipe and tastes just like it does at the resturant. Thanks so much KathyShu. :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2006

      So delicious. I doubled everything and made enough for a week. That was last week...I'm making it again tonight. :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2006

      I prepared ingredients, meaning to use another recipe for hot & sour soup, when I realised last minute that it was rather vague on certain details. Searched for another recipe on 'Zaar and found this! Omitted the pork and straw mushrooms cos I didn't have them in the kitchen, and substituted the red wine vinegar (which the last recipe had called for) for rice vinegar. It turned out quite well, only a little too salty, will add less soy sauce next time. I loved the effect that swirling the egg has, makes for lovely presentation.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2005

    • on August 30, 2005

      Very good recipe.. I made it with veggie broth instead of chicken, skipped the pork and added golden mushrooms. The amount of vinegar the recipe calls for was too much for my taste.. I used about half.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2002

      This is excellent, just like we get at our favorite chinese restaurant.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Hot and Sour Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (422 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 5

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 201.4
     
    Calories from Fat 78
    38%
    Total Fat 8.7 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 1.9 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 56.3 mg
    18%
    Sodium 1201.9 mg
    50%
    Total Carbohydrate 15.3 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 2.1 g
    8%
    Sugars 4.7 g
    18%
    Protein 16.9 g
    33%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites