15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Fantastic recipe. You can really personalize the taste. Very quick, easy and tasty!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
A Rotenberg April 02, 2002

This is a really nice soup with a complex flavour; my husband loved it. The recipe seems perfect to me, although I skipped some of the seasoning steps and added seasoning at the end instead. Thank you, Kathy.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anya March 16, 2002

This compares to the hot and sour soup I get from my favorite restuarant. I love it and will definitely make it again soon. Next time, I think I won't add so many mushrooms as I prefer my soup with a bit more broth. Also, I had no clue what type of tofu so I got medium/hard. Next time I will get soft/medium. That you so much, Kathy!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
texasgrillin September 04, 2009

Excellent hot and sour soup, KathyShu. It has the classic taste I was looking for but hadn't yet found in a hot and sour soup recipe. I suspect rice vinegar is a must in terms of the right sour note. Thanks for posting this easy, tasty recipe for my favorite soup!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heather U. August 22, 2006

Looks very nice, can't wait to try it. I would like to note, however, that contrary to the directions, it is not possible to make a chicken stock based soup vegetarian by simply omitting the pork strips!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Johann65 August 13, 2012

We enjoyed this soup, but the kids thought it was a bit too vinegary. I said I would cut back a bit on the vinegar next time although I didn't think so. Thank you for sharing with us....we love Hot and Sour soup.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour October 02, 2010

Very Good! It was exactly what I was wanting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nclpalacios July 11, 2010

This is truthfully amazing! Id been to another recipe site that I tried to make this and turned out pretty bad. This was very easy to make and the proper proceedure. Thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pafrock January 14, 2010

i actually have never tasted this. No hot and sour soup for me. However, this is the recipe my husband requests when he's sick. He says it's perfect and even better than the Chinese restaurant's. In a pinch, i've used chicken breast instead of pork. No complaints from him. i also add red pepper flakes. Thanks for the recipe, Kathy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pink Kitchenaid Lover May 11, 2009

I made this without having the wood ear mushrooms, straw mushrooms, bean curd, and the green onions. It still turned out great. One time I used chicken and then no meat at all. This is a great recipe and tastes just like it does at the resturant. Thanks so much KathyShu. :-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hey_mykie February 20, 2007
Hot and Sour Soup