Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Hot and Sour Cabbage Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Hot and Sour Cabbage Soup

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on April 30, 2013

    • on March 16, 2013

      This is so easy, inexpensive and tasty. I used fresh mushrooms and left out the additional salt. Certainly makes more than two servings :) I love spicy things and surprised myself by thinking that about 1/2 the pepper would be sufficent as there are no starchy bits to balance out the spice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2011

      Amazing, amazing flavor from such a simple recipe!! I kinda sorta doubled the recipe - 2 onions, one large cabbage, 2 32-ounce boxes of broth, and about 3/4 pound of cubed pork, which was browned with the onion. Also added a generous tablespoon of chopped garlic. This made a more than generous meal for me and two grown men with enough leftover for three lunches the next day. This will absolutely be a regular meal for us - cheap, easy, delicious and low calorie to boot! Thank you so, so much for a fabulous recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2011

      This is very good....love the hot red chili pepper flakes! It makes a lot, so I ended up freezing some of mine. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2010

      Easy, tasty and healthy. Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2010

      Soup was very easy to make & had so much flavor. One bowl was very filling...I was surprised. I followed the recipe exactly, decreasing the chili flake to 1/2 tsp., which was plenty hot for me. I also added cubed tofu. I used the canned straw mushrooms, next time I will use some fresh also. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2010

      I just made this and it was really good and extremely easy! I used fresh button mushrooms and a teaspoon of a Chinese chili paste. My husband really like it as well. Will make it again. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2009

      Made this last winter and forgot to rate until now! Very warming and tasty soup. I used sauteed button mushrooms and I'll bet a combination of different kinds of ''shrooms would be good here as well. I agree, the broth MAKES the soup. It's outstanding! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2009

      Ohhhhh...I loved this! It's been so long since I've had this in a restaurant that I cannot attest to it's authenticness, however, it was really GREAT! I used cole slaw blend from a bag in place of cabbage, I used fire roasted canned tomatoes, could not find straw mushrooms, so I used fresh, added sliced water chestnuts and diced tofu and put in probably triple the red pepper flakes. Ate 3 stinking bowls!! YUM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2009

      Wow, i'm impressed! This was so good and easy. I only had regular canned mushrooms but will definatly try the straw next . i also cut down the red pepper just in case, but will add almost a tsp next time. I was really just looking for a healthy way to use up some cabbage, not at all expecting to love this soup. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2008

      This is super!!!!! I have been looking for a good hot and sour soup recipe and this is it!!! I love cabbage and I am obsessed with all mushrooms so this is perfect for throwing all different types of cabbages or mushrooms into. It has the exact flavor of hot and sour soup in oriental restaurants!! I did not drain the tomatoes, because I wasn't sure and it turned out perfectly with their juice included. I also love that the mushrooms are not drained!!! That is the secret that I never knew about hot and sour soup!!!! Brilliant!!!!!!! I will definitely make this again with tofu and all the different variations of hot and sour soup because this is a wonderful base broth!! Thanks so much for this great recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Hot and Sour Cabbage Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (395 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 63.9
     
    Calories from Fat 9
    14%
    Total Fat 1.0 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1606.9 mg
    66%
    Total Carbohydrate 10.7 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 3.9 g
    15%
    Sugars 4.1 g
    16%
    Protein 5.5 g
    11%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    seasoned rice vinegar

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites