15 Reviews

I really wanted to make this because the picture looked so good! After reading the reviews I decided to do it a little differently! The marinade I did the same except I used a teaspoon of lemon pepper instead of lemon juice, put in a large ziploc baggie and put in the refrigerator. After about 3 hours I just dumped it all into a pan and sauteed until shrimp was done (my shrimp were huge so I cut them into pieces after cooking). I thought it was a little strange to put the parsley/garlic/butter mixture on the outside of the sandwich so I spread some of it on the scooped out part of the bread and the rest in a bowl along with bread crumbs & all remaining ingredients. Mixed well and put on the loaf. Topped with some grated cheese (any kind will do) and baked at 400 until the cheese melted, about 10 to 15 minutes. I did not saute the bread crumbs which cut out some of the fat. This smelled wonderful and tasted even better! My husband kept telling me how great it was!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Aunt Bee :) February 15, 2010

Thanx, perfect recipes....

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Intesar January 04, 2010

This was just alright. I liked it more than my fiance, but it wasn't that fabulous. Not sure what to do to improve it, and I probably won't make it again. Good idea, though.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Southern Bug October 10, 2009

this did not come out all that great for me...I think my shrimp were too big and the bottom ones did not cook all the way. But I still used the filling with my eggs in the morning...it was great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Leelee 76 January 25, 2009

This is a great recipe for parties. We have made this several times and it is always a big hit. The recipe is not as hard as it looks. My 11 year old daughter made this by herself (with limited supervision) and it came out great. She is now in charge of making this for parties. We have tried short marinating time 1/2 hour and also long marinating time 2.5 hours. Both were just fine but the longer time seems to be better for flavor.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CARL HARDMAN December 31, 2008

After reading other reviews, I subbed olive oil for all the butter, marinated for 1/2 an hour and lightly chopped the marinated shrimp before adding it to the hollowed loaf. I didn't have any trouble with sogginess or overbaked bread.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sugarpea January 27, 2008

This was AMAZING! I have to say it was a bit more work to make but so worth the time and effort! It doesn't hold up well in the fridge so plan on eating it that night. It would be a great food to serve for guests! Very impressive!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CulinaryExplorer December 19, 2007

This was very different. I halved the butter and went light on the marinade and still encountered the soggy bread problem. The crusty parts were great--the soggy, not so much. Next time we try this I will halve the lemon juice, and for the spread I will just brush the inside of the loaf with melted butter and then sprinkle the garlic and parsley on top. Adding some cheese would be worth a try, too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Renegade Chef March 24, 2007

A very tasty sandwich. The prep time was a little involved and I can't see myself making this regularly because of that. I did not like the texture of the shrimp. I think that this was because the marinating time was too long and the lemon juice 'cooked'the shrimp making it too soggy for my liking. In all, I think that all the flavours marry well but I will have to adjust the method of preparation to make it more practical for me to prepare.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WizzyTheStick March 07, 2007

not good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tunamanphd February 28, 2007
Hot and Crusty Shrimp Sandwich