Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Hot and Crusty Shrimp Sandwich Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Hot and Crusty Shrimp Sandwich

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on February 15, 2010

      I really wanted to make this because the picture looked so good! After reading the reviews I decided to do it a little differently! The marinade I did the same except I used a teaspoon of lemon pepper instead of lemon juice, put in a large ziploc baggie and put in the refrigerator. After about 3 hours I just dumped it all into a pan and sauteed until shrimp was done (my shrimp were huge so I cut them into pieces after cooking). I thought it was a little strange to put the parsley/garlic/butter mixture on the outside of the sandwich so I spread some of it on the scooped out part of the bread and the rest in a bowl along with bread crumbs & all remaining ingredients. Mixed well and put on the loaf. Topped with some grated cheese (any kind will do) and baked at 400 until the cheese melted, about 10 to 15 minutes. I did not saute the bread crumbs which cut out some of the fat. This smelled wonderful and tasted even better! My husband kept telling me how great it was!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2010

      Thanx, perfect recipes....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2009

      This was just alright. I liked it more than my fiance, but it wasn't that fabulous. Not sure what to do to improve it, and I probably won't make it again. Good idea, though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2009

      this did not come out all that great for me...I think my shrimp were too big and the bottom ones did not cook all the way. But I still used the filling with my eggs in the morning...it was great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2008

      This is a great recipe for parties. We have made this several times and it is always a big hit. The recipe is not as hard as it looks. My 11 year old daughter made this by herself (with limited supervision) and it came out great. She is now in charge of making this for parties. We have tried short marinating time 1/2 hour and also long marinating time 2.5 hours. Both were just fine but the longer time seems to be better for flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2008

      After reading other reviews, I subbed olive oil for all the butter, marinated for 1/2 an hour and lightly chopped the marinated shrimp before adding it to the hollowed loaf. I didn't have any trouble with sogginess or overbaked bread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2007

      This was AMAZING! I have to say it was a bit more work to make but so worth the time and effort! It doesn't hold up well in the fridge so plan on eating it that night. It would be a great food to serve for guests! Very impressive!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2007

      This was very different. I halved the butter and went light on the marinade and still encountered the soggy bread problem. The crusty parts were great--the soggy, not so much. Next time we try this I will halve the lemon juice, and for the spread I will just brush the inside of the loaf with melted butter and then sprinkle the garlic and parsley on top. Adding some cheese would be worth a try, too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2007

      A very tasty sandwich. The prep time was a little involved and I can't see myself making this regularly because of that. I did not like the texture of the shrimp. I think that this was because the marinating time was too long and the lemon juice 'cooked'the shrimp making it too soggy for my liking. In all, I think that all the flavours marry well but I will have to adjust the method of preparation to make it more practical for me to prepare.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2007

      not good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2006

      The marinade is incredible! I baked the bread and shrimp (with all the marinade) separately for about 15 minutes and that worked well. Had nice crusty bread to soak up the juices from the shrimp. Thanks for the recipe, Gayla.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2006

      We enjoyed this quick to prepare recipe. The shrimp is very flavorful and the open faced sandwich has a nice garlic bread like flavor. I put this together a bit differently than instructed after reading the reviews. I grilled the shrimp and onion in a grill pan and added them cooked to avoid sogginess. I also sprinkled the sandwich with shredded parmesan. I think one could add other veggies if desired. I will make this recipe again. Thanks Gayla!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2006

      This was an easy fix for a casual Friday night dinner (served with coleslaw). The shrimp were incredibly tender and juicy with excellent flavor from the marinade. I did marinate longer than 3 hours, as I prepped this during a quick lunch break and prepared after returning home from work. I also added more garlic to both the marinade and the garlic butter. In the future, I would reduce the amount of marinade that I drizzled over the shrimp and onions, as my bread was a bit soggy under the shrimp and between the crusty outer crust. I would also consider adding a layer of shredded cheese, or tossing the shrimp, onions, black olive and pimento with some mayo and cheese blend or something prior to filling the bread shells. Parmesan mixed with the bread crumbs might also be good. While we did like these open faced sandwiches, they seemed to be missing something (for us)...I just can't quite put my finger on it, though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2006

      I have mixed feelings about this. It looked beautiful when removed from the oven and was done perfectly. However, it was so difficult to eat. The bottom of the bread was very crispy and very hard to cut through. Also, I think the red onion and garlic overpowered the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2006

      we absolutely loved this sandwhich. Everything is just spot on with this one.I love Shrimp and this didnt disappoint. I am sure we'll be making this often. Great for Mardi Gras/Fat Tuesday next month!!PeggyLynn

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Hot and Crusty Shrimp Sandwich

    Serving Size: 1 (264 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 411.2
     
    Calories from Fat 178
    43%
    Total Fat 19.8 g
    30%
    Saturated Fat 8.5 g
    42%
    Cholesterol 88.0 mg
    29%
    Sodium 1084.9 mg
    45%
    Total Carbohydrate 43.2 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 2.9 g
    11%
    Sugars 0.9 g
    3%
    Protein 15.1 g
    30%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites