20 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

It was......eh. "Sauce" was pasty. Was awful as per the recipe. Slightly improved with the addition of the brown sugar recommended by other reviewers. Will most definitely not be making this one again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Snickerspotpie July 15, 2012

Hubby and I thought this was good. Neither of my children would eat it, but they are 1 and 2 and very picky these days, so I wouldn't really factor their opinion into the equation. Anyhow, I pretty much kept to the recipe, only I omitted the sprouts in hopes the kids would eat it (should have put them in since we like them and the kids didn't eat it anyway) and I also cut back on the hot sauce for the kids sake. I think next time I would like to add ginger to this. We ate it with egg rolls on the side. I ate leftovers for lunch today and it really does taste even better after sitting overnight. Thanks for posting the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TexasKelly April 20, 2012

I am forced to give this recipe 5 stars. I really didn't expect this to be so good! I didn't think I was ever going to find a recipe that combined peanut butter and spaghetti that I liked but this really is a keeper! The sauce is perfect - it coats well but isn't heavy. I took other reviewers advice and used 1 tbsp hot sauce and 1 tbsp brown sugar - other then that I made the sauce as directed. Only other change was slicing up cabbage myself (2 cups) and grated carrot (1/2 cup) Thanks for a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nikoma July 19, 2011

I added chopped cilantro and left out bean sprouts as I didn't have any and was too lazy to run to the store. Hubbie loved this one and would give it 5 stars. I liked it quite a bit (very rich!) and the kids were so-so (I left the hot sauce out because of them, but hubbie and I added it to ours at the table.) On the subject of "hot sauce" called for in the recipe- the best it the Asian kind Sriracha sauce, or as we call it, "roster sauce" because of the picture of a roster on the front. We can get it at Ralph's grocery store in CA in the asian food section- a clear plastic sqeeze bottle with a green top. Caution!!! It is HOT. I will make this one again. Next time I think I will add some chopped up grilled chicken.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kda949 April 08, 2010

What a gorgeous looking salad this is! I chopped up half a red cabbage instead of the coleslaw mix and used sprouted mixed legumes (lentils, kidney beans, garbanzos, lots of good stuff). The only reason I'm not giving 5 stars is that I agree with Cadylnn that the peanut sauce just isn't the greatest. I took her advice and added 1 t. fish sauce and 1 T. brown sugar and it improved it a lot. I'm looking forward to eating this for lunch for the next few days.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ksparker January 05, 2010

This was pretty good. I made it just as the recipe reads but was disappointed with the sauce. First I felt like there was not enough of it for 8 oz of noodles and secondly I felt like it needed some sweetness as well. I ended up putting about a tablespoon of brown sugar along with some fish sauce we use for all of our other thai meals. The end result was good, just not our very favorite thai dish.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cadylynn December 03, 2008

Everyone loved this salad - I have made it twice in a week and it was a big hit both times. I used vermicelli noodles, and I used spicy Thai chili sauce for the hot sauce. I also like a touch of sweet, and added 2 tbsp sweet chili sauce to the dressing. This will be a staple at our house for sure.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SukiB October 30, 2008

Very good. I did have to make some substitutions for what I had on hand. Used small broccoli florets instead of bean sprouts. The dressing seemed like it needed some sweet so I used sweet chili sauce instead of hot sauce. DH and DD loved it as it was. For me, I would probably used less soy sauce the next time but the overall produce was a great change of pace.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Keolani October 12, 2008

I tried Chef #875065's revision of the recipe. It was the best pasta salad I've tasted in a long while. It seemed like it had parmesan cheese in it. Yum, Yum, Yummie

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nutribuff July 03, 2008

This is so good. I used olive oil instead of the sesame oil and used peanuts instead of sesame seeds. I left out the bean sprouts also. I also used rice noodles. I did all this because I didn't have all the ingredients it called for but I'm glad I did it turned out so good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pattsyd June 29, 2008
Hot and Cold Thai Sesame Noodle Salad