11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made this for the hubby because he loves guacamole and he loves horseradish. He really enjoyed this except asked me to leave out the lemon juice next time. (Maybe I accidently put in too much?) It was a nice little snack. Next time I think I'll prepare it as written except I'll put some in a seperate bowl before adding the horseradish so I can have my own without then add some horseradish to his. thanks so much for sharing! Made for Football Pool 2008!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shelby Jo November 11, 2008

We really enjoyed this sauce. It tastes buttery and light, and is a welcome change from the usual steak sauces. I've made it twice, the second time adding a little bit of salt to the recipe. As you suggested, Nimz, I think it will be great as a chip dip, so I'm going to make it for the crowd for SuperBowl. And the horseradish did add a great flavor! Thanks for this great addition to my recipe "keepers".

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TasteTester January 17, 2008

Avocado & guacamole are always favourites in our house & this was no exception. I made half quantity & used light sour cream. We topped our steaks with this tonight & they were wonderful. Made for Aus/NZ Recipe Swap January 2008. Thanks Nimz for sharing this keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heydarl January 11, 2008

This is very good. The Horseradish adds a nice bite to it, but it's not overpowering. I let it set in the fridge for a couple of hours before I ate any of it. It tasted much better after I did. The avocados i used weren't very rich but everything mixed together brought out the flavor. Thanks for a great recipe Nimz. Tagged for Went to the Market game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AuntWoofieWoof December 11, 2007

This recipe looked terrific. It was easy to make. We found the result left a bitter taste in the mouth. We served it a dinner party; it was less popular than another dip. Perhaps the horseradish we bought was stronger that that available in the USA.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PeeGee December 05, 2007

I love horseradish, dill and guacamole, but never thought of adding horseradish and dill to guacamole. I used lime juice rather than lemon juice just because that's what I usually add to guacamole. The flavors really do complement roast beef well.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
iris5555 October 05, 2007

This was really good. My son, who doesn't like guacamole, scarfed it down!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charmie777 July 01, 2007

Horseradish with dill is one of my favorite seasoning combinations and I love avocados, too. I tagged this because the health food store nearby was featuring a sale on some really good avocados. Some of it I used as a dip with flour tortillas baked crisp in the oven and broken up. I also spread it on whole wheat wraps, then topped with sliced roast beef and chopped tomatos and rolled the whole thing up around a scallion, trimmed to just fit the wrapper. I made as directed this time (with light sour cream) but would like to try substituting lime juice for lemon, as some other reviewers did, and shoveling it in the bottom of some chicken tacos. Needless to say this goes right into my Standbys cookbook.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
echo echo March 27, 2007

The longer this chills the better it gets. I made this last evening so it had well over 12 hours to chill. I liked the kick of the horseradish. It's a nice variation of guacamole. I used it as a dip for tortilla chips, but you can bet that once I get outside to grill some steaks, I'll be making this for a steak topping! Thanx for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Parsley* March 26, 2007

This is different! Good. Made 1/4 of the recipe useing light sour cream, lime juice, dried dill. The horseradish came through in flavor not heat! A must make with steak!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rita~ January 25, 2006
Horseradish Guacamole