8 Reviews

My family and I have been been making horseradish for the past 10 years, can't think of a better way to spend a Saturday. Many tears in each bottle as the horseradish root is much stronger than onions.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vickey Wickenhauser October 01, 2001

Thank you Carley, your additions to the recipe sound great, I'll try your suggestions next time I make a batch. Judi Caston

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Judi Caston October 15, 2002

I just made this (the first time making horseradish) and you weren't kidding about the fumes! Wow. I had to take the food processor canister outside after I ground it up to put it into the jars. We decided that we're going to let it soak for a day or two before we really use it and the anticipation is killing me! I will update my review, but it tasted pretty zesty after we mixed everything together. Delish! Thanks for posting! UPDATE: I originally posted a review in June of 2011 and wanted to update a few days later. Go figure, I completely forgot that I even made the horseradish until about a month later. It was so great that I can't begin to describe it! It tastes better than the Heluva Good stuff I've always bought from the grocery store. I think next time I will add the vinegar and process it again after a day or two so I have finer pieces but I have no taste complaints here. Everyone that has tried it since August (it's May 2012 when I'm updating) has loved it. I am getting ready to dig more out of the garden and I will use this recipe again. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PSU Lioness May 04, 2012

Great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amanda4433 June 16, 2011

I made this exactly as the recipe states and it was easy and tasty. I only made one jarful thinking that it would sit in the fridge for 6 months like our last jar but it disappeared in just 2 weeks so now I have to go out in the garden and dig up some more horseradish! Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
aeillill July 15, 2008

Great recipe, my DH has been making your recipe for sometime now. In fact he is making a batch right now. He grinds it using the Cuisinart.I just tasted it, It is so good & very warm! Thank you Judi for posting the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Barb Gertz January 13, 2008

I made this recipe and I will never buy horseradish in the store again...this is a superb recipe

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mel Wilson June 27, 2004

this was a great recipe, I added some crushed garlic cloves, white pepper, brown mustard(crushed), lil' bit of dried dill (crushed), & some sea salt. also a little bit of alum just to keep the horseradish from yellowing. yummy and very warm!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
carley king October 02, 2002
Horseradish