Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Horlicks Banana Smoothie Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Horlicks Banana Smoothie

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on August 20, 2002

      Miller, you have yourself a very fine drink here! Super easy to prepare and for my first time experience using malt (Horlicks) I was pleased with the outcome. The only thing I would emphasize as you did was that the milk be ICE COLD! I think that this is very important to the success of the recipe. I would almost go as far as to suggest semi-freezing the milk to a "slush" state to insure that cold frothy refreshing quench of thirst. Once again Miller, a very tasty drink, I'm submitting a photo in gratitude.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2002

      OMG Miller, this is DYNAMITE!! I had all the ingredients on hand and just made me a batch of this. I already drank one glass and right now I am on the second glass. This has me licking my lips for more. Great taste and very flavorful too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2002

      After childhood, only today I've had 'Ovaltine' and slipped back into those wonderful days I enjoyed as a kid. Thank You to U for this recipe. It was really nice, and like has been said, the milk really got to be 'ice cold' for this smoothie. I could have just 1 glass of this as it was really filling but really yummy all the same. I think its good for a quick lunch on its own for college students or those who can't spend hours in front of the gas stove. This was great! Thank U!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2002

      With thanks to Chef Miller for sending me a jar of Horlicks, I'm now in a position to add my positive comments here. What a terrific drink! I have made this a few times now, and must emphasize the need for cold ingredients. In fact, I have found that using a frozen banana (the riper, the better), cut in chunks, makes this drink absolutely perfect! I also have stuck my blender container in the fridge, in an effort to keep the ingredients cold while I made the drink. Other than freezing the banana, I made no changes to this recipe -- which is both fast and easy to prepare. I use 1% milk in this, which drastically alters the nutritional info showing for this recipe (which must be based on fullfat milk, I'm guessing).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2002

      This was absolutely yummy - a real breakfast treat. I cut the malted milk powder to about 2 tbsp and added a couple more icecubes. This gave it a more mild flavor, which was more to my liking. I ended up having this for breakfast every day last week, and it kept me full till lunch! Oh, and the riper the banana, the better the flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2002

      Thanks for posting this one.... I agree too that the milk must be icy cold, and next time will do as Charlene suggested & semi freeze the milk first. I made two batches, one with non fat milk & one with lite soy milk, and used a little less brown sugar, (personal taste) and both were great. Cheers, JenT

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2005

      Ohhh I'm so glad I found this! I had some ripe banana's and was looking for a good banana smoothie recipe...well i found it! Shocked I had all the ingredients but I did and this will be made over and over again in my house:) My 18 mth old loved it as well which is a bonus! Thanks! Followed the recipe to a T & used whole milk. Its the good stuff:)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2004

      I got a smoothie maker for Christmas and I just had to try this. It's pretty good! I used Ovaltine chocolate and added one scoop of fat free, no sugar added vanilla frozen yogurt.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2004

      I made this for breakfast and it was awesome! I used Ovaltine because I love it! I love the idea of drinking something so healthful yet so delicious! Much better than a a canned health shake! I think I will make this a regular quick breakfast drink when I am on the run! Thanks

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2004

      Yummy!!!!!!This is the best home-made smoothie I've tasted so far, but beware it's addictive ;)!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2004

      MMMM Yum this is a good recipe! My husband and I have made this smoothie every day now, for about the last two weeks, we even ran out and bought a new blender especially for this smoothie, because our blender of 25 years went on the blink. The only modifications of the recipe that we have made are that we freeze the banana after we chop it into managable pieces, plus we use vanilla soy milk. To make it extra nutritious we add 2 TBSP. of Flax seed meal, which really tastes good. This smoothie was very creamy and refreshing, also extremely easy to make, and the vanilla and malted milk powder really compliment the banana flavor. I recommend freezing the banana, and as mentioned on some of the other reviews, make sure your milk is very cold. Really enjoyed this. Thank you for the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2003

      I love ovaltine and this is a great smoothie. DS and DD drank it down! It was a wonderful desert after a wonderful dinner of Italian Chicken in a Skillet. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2003

      I used ice cold 1% milk, Ovaltine & 2 scoops of frozen banana yoghurt (no ice). This smoothie received a two thumbs up from my grandson & his buddy! Thanx for posting Miller.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2014

      This helped soothe my scratchy throat. I used 2% milk and left out the brown sugar. It blended up nicely. Thanks for sharing the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2011

      This is a good smoothie but there was too much brown sugar for my taste. It was too sweet. Thanks Mille :) Made for Cookbook tag game

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2009

      This is a great smoothie recipe! The nice part is that I had all of the ingredients available. Added a bit of chocolate syrup to it and I was in smoothie heaven! :-P

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Horlicks Banana Smoothie

    Serving Size: 1 (264 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 281.8
     
    Calories from Fat 45
    16%
    Total Fat 5.0 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 3.0 g
    15%
    Cholesterol 17.0 mg
    5%
    Sodium 146.5 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 52.9 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 2.1 g
    8%
    Sugars 34.4 g
    137%
    Protein 7.6 g
    15%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes