Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Horiatiko Psomi: Crusty Country Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Horiatiko Psomi: Crusty Country Bread

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on July 16, 2013

      Quite good, although my loaf came out a bit misshapen! The dough was very soft is my excuse, and I am sticking to it, LOL! I baked it at 500 on a pizza stone for 20 minutes. Perfect! Thanks for sharing! Made for ZWT9 Parting gifts.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2010

      Made this recipe for ZWT #6 Hercules Part II challenge. I did cut the recipe in half, baking one loaf today, and retarding the other (in the refrigerator); plan to bake tomorrow. Instead of using a commercial yeast I did convert it to sourdough, however I used used a slightly different method. To simulate the bakers oven, I preheated the oven to 500 with a broiler tray on the bottom shelf. Then slid the bread in on the pre-heated baking stone, added 1 cup water to the hot tray (for steam). It worked perfectly! Thanks so much for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2009

      Excellent bread! I changed the method quite a bit. First I made the starter as described, then I added all the water, milk, oil, salt and honey to the bowl with the starter. Using my Kitchen Aid dough hook I gradually kneaded 1 cup of flour (all purpose) after another in, reaching to 8 cups (the bowl was quite full at this point). Hereafter I removed from the bowl and kneaded the dough through by hand and it did not need any more flour, just perfect. Followed the recipe from here, my dough rose in 1.5 hours. I made 4 loaves. The bread looks exactly like the picture posted and the first 1.5 loaves were gone in 10 min, no kidding, with a bunch of kids yelling for more and asking me to send the recipe to their moms. Haha. Quite made my day! Made for 1-2-3. I highly recommend this to anyone who likes to bake bread.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2012

      I dont know if I did it right, but i only have half a loaf (only made half a batch, but there were only 3 of us!) it was loaf-ly (ha) and dense! made with half AP and half white wheat from King Arthur flour. LOVED it w the greek spreads from the farmers market! update: added the stars, not sure why they didnt show up!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2011

      Ok Iv tried many different bread recipes an this is the BEST!!! soooooooo good nice an crusty an soft in the middle delicious...thank you so much for sharing this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2011

      I hadn't made bread in years and this was a success! Very tasty. I made an 1/2 batch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2010

      This is one of those rare recipes that transport me to another dimension. First, I cut the recipe in half and used an ABM to prep the dough. After the cycle was over I shaped the dough into two loaves, covered with a tea towel and let proof in a warm place for one half hour. Scored the top and baked for about 22 minutes. Whole wheat flour replaced 1 2/3 cups of unbleached white flour and I also added a pan of boiling water to the oven to help crisp the crust. Tested this by dipping a slice of the bread in a mixture of extra virgin olive oil and muscat vinegar. Yielded two huge loaves. Reviewed for ZWT 6.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2009

      I pulled this recipe out Christmas before last to go with the greek meal I was making for dinner. It got a great review. Everyone loved it. It was easy to make. Since then every time the family gets together someone makes this bread in the morning so we can have fresh bread with dinner no matter what the cusine

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2008

      Funnily enough this tasted more or less like my mum's bread...even though she doesn't make it quite the same way. However it didn't seem to be as dense as on the photo - I don't know why - but it tasted good all the same. The best thing about it was that the dough didn't stick to your hands;-)!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2008

      Wonderful bread diner524! I got 3 nice sized loaves. The dough rose beautifully in about 1 hr 15 minutes and was very easy to work with. I only had to bake it about 25 minutes until it was quite browned and sounded hollow when tapped. Thanks for sharing. Made for ZWT4

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Horiatiko Psomi: Crusty Country Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (1913 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1443.7
     
    Calories from Fat 121
    38%
    Total Fat 13.4 g
    20%
    Saturated Fat 2.1 g
    10%
    Cholesterol 1.4 mg
    0%
    Sodium 2349.4 mg
    97%
    Total Carbohydrate 285.5 g
    95%
    Dietary Fiber 11.7 g
    46%
    Sugars 12.4 g
    49%
    Protein 40.2 g
    80%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites