10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Quite good, although my loaf came out a bit misshapen! The dough was very soft is my excuse, and I am sticking to it, LOL! I baked it at 500 on a pizza stone for 20 minutes. Perfect! Thanks for sharing! Made for ZWT9 Parting gifts.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pammyowl July 16, 2013

Made this recipe for ZWT #6 Hercules Part II challenge. I did cut the recipe in half, baking one loaf today, and retarding the other (in the refrigerator); plan to bake tomorrow. Instead of using a commercial yeast I did convert it to sourdough, however I used used a slightly different method. To simulate the bakers oven, I preheated the oven to 500 with a broiler tray on the bottom shelf. Then slid the bread in on the pre-heated baking stone, added 1 cup water to the hot tray (for steam). It worked perfectly! Thanks so much for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Galley Wench June 17, 2010

Excellent bread! I changed the method quite a bit. First I made the starter as described, then I added all the water, milk, oil, salt and honey to the bowl with the starter. Using my Kitchen Aid dough hook I gradually kneaded 1 cup of flour (all purpose) after another in, reaching to 8 cups (the bowl was quite full at this point). Hereafter I removed from the bowl and kneaded the dough through by hand and it did not need any more flour, just perfect. Followed the recipe from here, my dough rose in 1.5 hours. I made 4 loaves. The bread looks exactly like the picture posted and the first 1.5 loaves were gone in 10 min, no kidding, with a bunch of kids yelling for more and asking me to send the recipe to their moms. Haha. Quite made my day! Made for 1-2-3. I highly recommend this to anyone who likes to bake bread.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deantini July 19, 2009

I dont know if I did it right, but i only have half a loaf (only made half a batch, but there were only 3 of us!) it was loaf-ly (ha) and dense! made with half AP and half white wheat from King Arthur flour. LOVED it w the greek spreads from the farmers market! update: added the stars, not sure why they didnt show up!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fyrfli March 29, 2012

Ok Iv tried many different bread recipes an this is the BEST!!! soooooooo good nice an crusty an soft in the middle delicious...thank you so much for sharing this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
anniek36 October 13, 2011

I hadn't made bread in years and this was a success! Very tasty. I made an 1/2 batch.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
IndyEater January 10, 2011

This is one of those rare recipes that transport me to another dimension. First, I cut the recipe in half and used an ABM to prep the dough. After the cycle was over I shaped the dough into two loaves, covered with a tea towel and let proof in a warm place for one half hour. Scored the top and baked for about 22 minutes. Whole wheat flour replaced 1 2/3 cups of unbleached white flour and I also added a pan of boiling water to the oven to help crisp the crust. Tested this by dipping a slice of the bread in a mixture of extra virgin olive oil and muscat vinegar. Yielded two huge loaves. Reviewed for ZWT 6.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
COOKGIRl June 11, 2010

I pulled this recipe out Christmas before last to go with the greek meal I was making for dinner. It got a great review. Everyone loved it. It was easy to make. Since then every time the family gets together someone makes this bread in the morning so we can have fresh bread with dinner no matter what the cusine

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vanillacat1 June 28, 2009

Funnily enough this tasted more or less like my mum's bread...even though she doesn't make it quite the same way. However it didn't seem to be as dense as on the photo - I don't know why - but it tasted good all the same. The best thing about it was that the dough didn't stick to your hands;-)!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ginger Rose June 21, 2008

Wonderful bread diner524! I got 3 nice sized loaves. The dough rose beautifully in about 1 hr 15 minutes and was very easy to work with. I only had to bake it about 25 minutes until it was quite browned and sounded hollow when tapped. Thanks for sharing. Made for ZWT4

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brenda. June 15, 2008
Horiatiko Psomi: Crusty Country Bread