16 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Wow this is a wonderful salad! I don't care for raw onion so left it out and used grape tomatoes, halved. When adding the cheese and olives before serving, I just added more oregano and salt and didn't add the additional olive oil and water. This was great served with dinner a few hours after making; served the next day in a pita for lunch and it was really outstanding! Thanks for sharing a keeper! Made for ZWT9, The Apron String Travelers

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
loof July 19, 2013

I loved the combination of all these ingredients and didn't miss the lettuce at all. For our taste, we needed a little more tart though, so I sprinkled some wine vinegar on the salad and it was perfect. Made for Mike and the Appliance Killers ZWT9.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PanNan July 27, 2013

Loved this! I followed all directions except for adding water to the olive oil. I also included some romaine lettuce (I know it's not authenic, but it's the way we like it). Absolutely delicous. I really loved and was completely satisfied by the simple dressing of olive oil, oregano and salt. Great combination of flavors. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LifeIsGood March 13, 2014

Made this to go along with our roast for dinner tonight. I did add the veggies to a little bit of a mixed greens lettuce blend in order to sneak it by as a salad. The only other change I made was I subbed fresh squeezed lemon juice for the water. I will definitely make this again. Made and reviewed for the 38th AUS/NZ Recipe Swap.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Buggsy Mate March 09, 2010

A colourful and tasty salad. I like the fact we always have the ingredients for this sort of salad on hand. I had big fruity green olives, but think I would have preferred kalmata in this,

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JustJanS November 04, 2008

This is awesome. I chose not to add any oil, salt or water. I have made this twice and both times my husband devoured it. I ran out of cucumber and subbed some snow peas and it was still good. This is easy to make and filled with flavour. Thanks for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cilantro in Canada June 27, 2008

GREAT! Served as a vegetarian main meal. Added red wine vinegar to serve and ate in a warmed pita. Liked the fact that olive oil amounts were optional, so we added 1 tbsp or so to our tastes. This was so good I will add to my fast but tasty cookbook. Yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kumquat the Cat's friend June 18, 2008

This was my personal choice for the winner of our Greek Salad war last night. The freshness of ingredients and flavor of the seasoning and oil - just wonderful. I used combination of black and green olives and pepperoncini rings 'cause that's what I had on hand. I'm going to enjoy leftovers for lunch today. A perfect side dish or light meal. Made for Daffy Daffodils ZWT4

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ma Field June 17, 2008

Did a little tweaking on this, but not much ~ Just used 1/2 of a green bell pepper, & then served the pepperoncini peppers on the side, for those who like it HOT! A very TASTY SALAD, & it'll be worth keeping the recipe around! [Made & reviewed while in Greece on the Zaar World Tour 4]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike June 14, 2008

This recipe is excellent. I will make it often. Will omit the green pepper, just out of personal preference. Will also omit the water and serve it with a lemon vinaigrette.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Grannydragon February 15, 2008
Horiatiki Salata