9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

cooked mine on the BBQ. very good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bigdaddylikestocook July 22, 2014

The texture of these came out very good, which is why I didn't give it 1 star. But, though I am a huge vinegar lover, these were way too vinegary for me. I might try again with half the vinegar or something.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nati February 07, 2013

I made this tonight for my own version of mushroom eggplant pizza and I have to say that this is THE best recipe for eggplant I have ever tried. I left out the fennel because I didn't have any. I used japanese eggplant so I didn't have to peel them. Watch them, they cook fast! I can see these will be great skewered on the grill too. Thanks for adding a new fave to my recipe collection!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elainia February 21, 2010

This is a very good marinade that produces a strong balsamic flavored eggplant--yet you can still taste the rosemary, etc. The marinade itself would probably make a good salad dressing. I skinned my eggplants and then ran them through the quisinart so prep time was nil. I did use these to make Julesong's pizza recipe as she recommended (with home made dough from a different eggplant recipe). It was a very good pizza, just not five stars 'cause to me it was very strong and so has limited appeal. Thanks for the great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amylisai October 01, 2009

Tasty marinade. I think next time I would cook the eggplant longer or at a higher temperature as I think this would be great crispy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LadyPoe March 25, 2009

Wow! This is a great blend of herbs and oil and balsamic!! The balsamic takes on a tangy sweet flavor and then there are hints of rosemary and fennel and Italian flavors with each bite. I bought 2 medium size eggplants because to look at the recipe, I thought 1/3 cup oil was a lot but I knew that eggplant would soak it up and it does. This is just the right amount of marinade for the 1 eggplant!! Yay, now I have another eggplant to use!! I will definitely put these on sandwiches or pizza!!! I ate a bunch of them right off the pan!!! Thanks for the recipe!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef*Lee January 19, 2009

After trying a few recipes for marinated eggplant, this is the one we like the best. Thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BarbieRose July 24, 2008

Yummy! I have made this several times--thank you for the recipe! We eat it along with hummus & pitas for a little change of pace. Even my husband, who suggested that the eggplants didn't need to go in the garden this year, liked these.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Too Many Tomatoes February 12, 2008

This was simply sensational, and definitely one I will be making again. I made the recipe as written, cooking in the oven, which was delish! I had the eggplant cold in a sandwich, next time I will try them on the bbq! YUM

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sarah! July 24, 2006
Hopvine's Marinated Roasted Eggplant (Aubergine)