Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Hoppin' John Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Hoppin' John

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on January 07, 2012

      Delicious! I made this exactly as directed, but instead of using a ham hock I used a smoked turkey leg I had in the freezer. I would have loved to use both the ham hock AND the turkey leg, but I couldn't find the ham hock in the freezer that I swore was in there. So as a substitution, I used good bacon, which I sauteed with the onion, garlic and celery in the beginning. Barely needed any extra seasonings other than called for. So good, I will be making this again! Thank you GaylaJ!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2013

      This is was great. I added smoked turkey instead of the pork.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2009

      I made this for our traditional New Year's Day meal. It was a delicious dish to eat those lucky peas. I used a ham bone and added a chipotle pepper. Served with cornbread, asst garnishes, and greens. Happy New Year Gayla!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2009

      This was a winning recipe. Tripled the amount and cooked it in two big pots: simmered slowly on the stove and in a crock pot several hours today. Sauteed one cup of celery with the onion and garlic. Served with plain white rice, sauteed collard greens. For garnish, we had four different types of Tabasco sauce, green onions and fresh parsley. The mixture will thicken up nicely for tomorrow as leftovers. You can view my entire menu here: Menu #21497. Thanks! cg

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2009

      I'd been looking for something different for dinner New Year's Day and I found it in this recipe. It was the whole family's first taste of black-eyed peas and Hoppin' John and everyone enjoyed it. I used pork shanks and served with ham and cole slaw. Happy New Year to you and yours GaylaJ!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2008

      Great New Year's Day meal, GaylaJ. I added a few spices such as bay leaves, parsley, cayenne, and Tabasco. Excellent on brown rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2008

      Excellent recipe! I made this for our Southern New Years Day traditional dinner, and it was great! Thanks so much for sharing it with us Gayla. I will be using this recipe each year along with Linda's Collard Greens With a Twist. What a great combo! Debbie

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2008

      An excellent recipe for the New Year. =) The only addition I made was to add a couple of small chicken thighs to make the broth. Then I added the chopped chicken to the ham pieces. Yum! I will make this tasty recipe again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2007

      Great recipe!! :-) I used frozen black-eyed peas and my own hamstock, made with smoked ham hocks. Instead of the chicken stock. And since I had some nice fresh Kale on hand I cooked it right in there with it!Wonderful!!! Happy new Year, Ingrid/Koechin

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2006

      i love black eyed peas and everyone should check out her recipes, they have PICTURES . they are beautiful and the food looks GREAT thank you for posting dee

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Rice Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Hoppin' John

    Serving Size: 1 (277 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 350.3
     
    Calories from Fat 37
    10%
    Total Fat 4.2 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 0.8 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 3.0 mg
    1%
    Sodium 149.6 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 63.0 g
    21%
    Dietary Fiber 4.6 g
    18%
    Sugars 4.7 g
    18%
    Protein 14.5 g
    29%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    smoked pork shanks

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites