Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Honey Wheat Oatmeal Bread - All Whole Grain Version Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Honey Wheat Oatmeal Bread - All Whole Grain Version

    Average Rating:

    25 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 25

    Sort by:

    • on September 15, 2010

      This is my new favorite bread machine recipe. The bread is tender but the crust is amazingly crunchy. I don't use my machine often but I will definitely be making this one again and again.

      I did find that it needed more water, maybe 1/2 cup or so. Just watch it as the machine is kneading and add water a little at a time, as needed.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2010

      This is the whole wheat recipe I've been looking for!!! So often you sacrifice flavor when you stick to purely whole grains; that's not the case here. The gluten makes for a soft, full loaf, not the dense brick I usually force myself to eat. Here is a truly 100% whole grain recipe that full of flavor and texture, and so healthy, too! I am interested in adding flax to my diet, so I substituted 3/4 cup of flour with ground flax. Flax adds a nutty flavor to the bread, distinct and very yummy. I used local flax found at my grocery store, but you can probably also get it at most health food stores. The search is over--this is the recipe you will keep coming back to!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2007

      This bread is fantastic! I have been searching for an 'everyday' bread for my family that I can make form scratch that still meets the requirements of being healthy AND great tasting, and this definitely fits the bill. I don't have a bread machine, so i mixed it all in my Kitchenaid mixer and let it do the kneading for me (setting #2 for 2 minutes), then I let it rise for 1 hour. I placed the dough into my greased loaf pan, let rise an additional 30 minutes, then baked it at 375 for 45 minutes. We had some with our dinner that night (slathered in honey- delicious!) and then I stuck the bread in a plastic bag while it was still warm to let the crust soften up. Dh made himself a sandwich with it the next day, and LOVES it. Thanks so much for this new recipe for our daily bread!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2012

      Delicious bread, full of nutrients but looks and tastes great. A winning combo. I keep making it. Yesterday I added 1/2 c of chopped walnuts and 1/2 c chopped dates during the second kneading and it still rose beautifully. I appreciate the advice about popping it into a bag right away for a softer crust.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2011

      Ok, so I used the recipe as more of a guideline and changed it up quite a bit but still had great results. Changes I made - used 1/3 cup maple syrup instead of honey, added a extra TBSP of olive oil, used 2 1/2 cups whole wheat flour and 1/2 cup KA bread flour (I ran out of whole wheat flour) and only used 1/2 cup oats. I will have to try the recipe as stated here and report back. The main thing I wanted to comment on is the advice to put the bread in a plastic bag after baking to keep it soft. Genius! I'd never tried that before and it really works. I have always let my bread cool on a rack and been disappointed that the crust came out hard. So thanks for the good advice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2011

      This bread is lush! Lightly sweet, moist, and even beautiful to look at. All this and healthy too:) Thanks for the great recipe! I will be making this often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2010

      This is a great recipe! I used the kneading attachment on my mixer and proceeded with the usual 2 rises. I made a round loaf and baked it at 350 for 38 minutes. I made a few changes - butter instead of olive oil, half the amount of honey, old fashioned oats, King Arthur White Whole Wheat flour, 3 T. gluten and a full T. of yeast to boost the rising. I can't wait to try it toasted tomorrow morning.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2010

      Very good. I've made it several times according to the recipe and also varied things a bit. This last time I was out of honey so I used half blackstrap molasses and half light corn syrup and also used 7-grain cereal instead of oatmeal. Pretty good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2009

      EXCELLENT! This didn't rise up as much as my white bread loaf, but since that was huge I think this is good. The slices are more of a normal size & will be better sandwich size. Ended up adding about 11 ozs of water because I know our house is VERY dry in the winter & all turned out wonderful! UPDATE - I'm taking this down to 4 stars for the simple reason that this dried out VERY quickly. I don't have much experience w/whole grain breads, so am not sure if this is typical...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2009

      I used regular flour, and made it by hand (375* for 45 min) and it turned out great. :0)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2009

      Great bread! I did have to increase the liquid by 2 oz and add 1tsp more gluten to get a good rise and avoid the "misshapen lump" referenced by Mary Kay. I made the first loaf last week and another yesterday. My company ate all of it so I guess I will have to bake it again today.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2009

      This was really good! I love the size of the loaf, and the texture is just right for a daily bread. I did make a mistake, though, by storing this in the fridge which caused it to dry out quickly. I have since learned it is best to slice the loaf and freeze it, then thaw pieces as you need them :). Thanks for posting! Made for Healthy Choices 2009.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2009

      I have no idea what I did wrong.. I ended up with a misshapen lump! Anyone have any idea???? :( I was quite disappointed. I will try again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2008

      Hi. Your recipe was the first I have tried for a bread machine, and it worked perfectly. It was nice and moist,sturdy,excellent for the soup I had with it, and stayed fresh for several days. it made into excellent toast, and was not crumbly, nor did it fall apart at the slightest whim. I will try adding some whole grains next time, but as it is, I could eat it every week and not miss out on anything !! Thanks, Mike

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2008

      I'm only giving four stars because the bread did not rise that much, if at all. However; I did taste it and thought it tasted very good. I will definately try to make the bread again with better results. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2008

      The only thing I will change next time is to follow other reviewers and cut down on the honey. It is too sweet, unless you are going to have it for a breakfast bread. It did not rise as much as I expected it to, but that could be my yeast. Thanks, Carole in Orlando

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2007

      fantastic bread, quite fluffy and very filling. Reduce the honey to 2T instead.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2006

      This is a wonderful bread!! Both my husband and I enjoyed it very much. I followed the recipe exactly and took advantage of your tip for a soft crust. Worked like a charm! I used the wheat cyle as well. This bread is really great when it's still warm too. Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2006

      This a very good, much better than the recipe for honey oat bread that came with my bread machine. I used 2 c. whole wheat and 1 c. bread flour because my family still loves white bread, and the combo provides a tasty and healthy balance. I did use the wheat cycle since the instructions for my machine says that it gives a longer rising time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2005

      Well, I managed to mess up the rising process somewhere along the line since I made this by hand (note to self: buy bread machine) so mine wasn't exactly a high-riser in the end, but the flavor is great. Wheaty with a hint of honey flavor and sweetness. The oats gave it a nice texture and some of that creamy oat flavor that I love. It is a dense bread, but I think that that makes it a great hearty everyday bread. The addition of gluten flour makes it really easy to work with. I'll make this again... once I get a bread machine that is. ;) Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Honey Wheat Oatmeal Bread - All Whole Grain Version

    Serving Size: 1 (878 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 2019.5
     
    Calories from Fat 255
    12%
    Total Fat 28.3 g
    43%
    Saturated Fat 4.3 g
    21%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 2355.2 mg
    98%
    Total Carbohydrate 410.2 g
    136%
    Dietary Fiber 49.0 g
    196%
    Sugars 94.9 g
    379%
    Protein 61.7 g
    123%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vital wheat gluten

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes