79 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very tasty

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Stefanie828 December 10, 2010

This bread is so delicious! I'll be adding it to my regulars. I live at high altitude, so unlike other reviewers, I did not need to add additional yeast. I used agave in place of the honey. Thanks for posting this excellent recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Serah B. October 21, 2010

This is the first bread I have made in my new bread machine that I liked. It is a sweet, soft loaf. And the trick with the bag made such a big difference in the moisture of the bread and the texture of the crust!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
unicornbeauty October 19, 2010

Great recipe! I l made the dough in my bread machine, then let it slow-rise overnight in the fridge. Turned out delicious and yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dontbegauche October 12, 2010

This bread took me back to my mama's kitchen---there isn't a better compliment when it comes to bread. I've made the recipe twice this week, and am about to make another loaf to give to a friend. I did follow the advice of other reviewers the first time I baked this and doubled the amount of yeast. The second time, I nervously tried this recipe on a rapid cyle in my BM with 2 adjustments--used 1 1/2 T of yeast and added 1 T of vital wheat gluten. Worked just as well as the first time (good thing since I needed that bread in hurry:) This will absolutely be the only wheat bread I make. Next time I may use only whole wheat flour and see how that does. Thank you!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WeddingGirl June 29, 2010

This is my favorite bread recipe - I make it almost every week, it always comes out wonderful. Last time I used light agave for 1/2 of the honey. Next time I will try all agave in place of it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
k51orndoff February 18, 2010

This was great! It had the whole wheat flavor with more of a white bread texture! I will be making this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kristy D. February 14, 2010

I made this recipe with 2 cups whole wheat and one cup white bread flour; I added an extra 1/2 tsp yeast; and used plain vegetable oil instead of olive oil. I used the whole wheat setting on my bread machine, which takes a little longer. I used the 1 1/2 pound setting, as some others have mentioned; and light crust setting (which I always use). It came out great. It has a mild slightly sweet flavor and a nice texture. I think it'd be fine for sandwiches and is definitely good with butter and dunked into stew.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ClassyMarySue January 11, 2010

I made this with 2 cups of whole wheat flour and one cup of bread flour, and it was delicous! I made it the day I was going back to college, and my mom texted me that night, thanking me for making itm and she HATES wheat breads, but she LOVED this! All of my friends want me to bring the breadmaker to school because this bread was so good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kenneytwin January 02, 2010

Disappointing. I followed the instructions to the letter and the bread was essentially flavorless. It was good for soaking up extra fluids in a soup and was a suitable "shovel" for excess gravy on the plate, but other than that it was bland.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mhartung November 29, 2009
Honey Wheat Oatmeal Bread