79 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Excellent bread. I served it warm last night with butter, which was a hit and made french toast from the leftovers this morning - also wonderful.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bogey'sMom January 05, 2003

This is very good bread, and you don't even have to make it yourself. Since ThatBobbieGirl just got 2 new bread machines for Christmas I'm sure she won't mind making a loaf for you!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ThatDebbieGirl January 01, 2003

I love this bread. I have been making it for my household once a week for the past 4 weeks. It is excellent. I love that it doesn't have a lot of sugar and no dairy- yet it still turns out soft and chewy. I've been out of rolled oats and have substituted oat bran which has made it light and fluffy. EXCELLENT!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CabbageHeadMurphy May 16, 2010

This bread is great, if you use the proper amount of yeast. 1 teaspoon is clearly not enough (judging from reviews), so I used 2 teaspoons and that worked fine. I also used 2 cups of whole wheat flour and 1 cup of all purpose flour. This turned out fine, and I might even try all whole wheat flour next time. My final substitution was the honey; I used unsulphured blackstrap molasses instead. Blackstrap molasses has all kinds of great vitamins and minerals (manganese, copper, iron, calcium, potassium, magnesium, B6, selenium) that give this bread a healthful boost. With the 1.5 lb light crust setting on my bread machine I got a darkly colored bread that is not too crispy, slices well, and tastes great!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Green.Chef July 10, 2007

Thanks for the bread recipe! It's a good tasting, slightly dense loaf, which I like. We've had it for breakfast two days now and it is so good. It should make nice sandwiches, too as it is easy to slice. Thanks, Carole in Orlando

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
carole in orlando May 28, 2003

Great Bread! Tasty and soft.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sow-Wei T. January 05, 2015

This bread is awesome! I purchased a bread machine two months ago and have made this at least every other day since then, tweaking the ingredients a little bit with each loaf until I finally ended up with a loaf my husband and I were both happy with. I add 4 tsp vital wheat gluten and use blackstrap molasses in place of honey, let everything process in the bread machine until the final kneading, then oil my hands before shaping the dough into a loaf in a oiled bread pan (the lighter colored pan, the better) and letting the dough rise covered for 90 minutes or more (in a cold, damp house) before baking at 350? for 36 minutes. The bread comes out dark and delicious, and we're able to slice it fairly thin without it falling apart or tearing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
insulin resistant carb addict March 06, 2014

I haven't as yet made the bread, but, I'm pretty confident that the 1 tsp of Yeast is not going to be enough.......the one envelope, at least here in Canada amounts to 2 1/4 tsps.....thus that's what I will use. I notice that Green Chef thought the same.....maybe you would like to change the amounts? I'll rate the recipe once I've made the loaf.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
luvadacook January 11, 2014

Not sure what happened but even with 2 tsp yeast, this didn't rise enough. Made good toast, though.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jen in Victoria, BC December 11, 2013

Used to make Cinnamom Swirl Bread, turn out great though used more yeast and vital wheat gluten to get a good rise.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Whiskerkitty January 20, 2013
Honey Wheat Oatmeal Bread