Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Honey Wheat Oatmeal Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Honey Wheat Oatmeal Bread

    Average Rating:

    78 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 78

    Sort by:

    • on January 05, 2003

      Excellent bread. I served it warm last night with butter, which was a hit and made french toast from the leftovers this morning - also wonderful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2003

      This is very good bread, and you don't even have to make it yourself. Since ThatBobbieGirl just got 2 new bread machines for Christmas I'm sure she won't mind making a loaf for you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2010

      I love this bread. I have been making it for my household once a week for the past 4 weeks. It is excellent. I love that it doesn't have a lot of sugar and no dairy- yet it still turns out soft and chewy. I've been out of rolled oats and have substituted oat bran which has made it light and fluffy. EXCELLENT!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2007

      This bread is great, if you use the proper amount of yeast. 1 teaspoon is clearly not enough (judging from reviews), so I used 2 teaspoons and that worked fine. I also used 2 cups of whole wheat flour and 1 cup of all purpose flour. This turned out fine, and I might even try all whole wheat flour next time. My final substitution was the honey; I used unsulphured blackstrap molasses instead. Blackstrap molasses has all kinds of great vitamins and minerals (manganese, copper, iron, calcium, potassium, magnesium, B6, selenium) that give this bread a healthful boost. With the 1.5 lb light crust setting on my bread machine I got a darkly colored bread that is not too crispy, slices well, and tastes great!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2003

      Thanks for the bread recipe! It's a good tasting, slightly dense loaf, which I like. We've had it for breakfast two days now and it is so good. It should make nice sandwiches, too as it is easy to slice. Thanks, Carole in Orlando

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2014

      This bread is awesome! I purchased a bread machine two months ago and have made this at least every other day since then, tweaking the ingredients a little bit with each loaf until I finally ended up with a loaf my husband and I were both happy with. I add 4 tsp vital wheat gluten and use blackstrap molasses in place of honey, let everything process in the bread machine until the final kneading, then oil my hands before shaping the dough into a loaf in a oiled bread pan (the lighter colored pan, the better) and letting the dough rise covered for 90 minutes or more (in a cold, damp house) before baking at 350? for 36 minutes. The bread comes out dark and delicious, and we're able to slice it fairly thin without it falling apart or tearing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2014

      I haven't as yet made the bread, but, I'm pretty confident that the 1 tsp of Yeast is not going to be enough.......the one envelope, at least here in Canada amounts to 2 1/4 tsps.....thus that's what I will use. I notice that Green Chef thought the same.....maybe you would like to change the amounts? I'll rate the recipe once I've made the loaf.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2013

      Not sure what happened but even with 2 tsp yeast, this didn't rise enough. Made good toast, though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2013

      Used to make Cinnamom Swirl Bread, turn out great though used more yeast and vital wheat gluten to get a good rise.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2012

      This is a nice moist wheat bread. My son said it was his favorite bread of all time. Next time I'll probably switch out some white for wheat flour. I made this in the oven rather than in a bread machine. The dough was a little tacky when kneading but it turned out great and I didn't add any more flour to reduce the stickiness. I just dealt with it and it worked great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2012

      This is the year I have decided to learn how to make "really good bread" and not door stops. Any whole wheat bread I've made in the past was dry, sort of like what sawdust would feel like in your mouth.
      Wow is all I can say about this recipe. Using my KA for kneading, this recipe came together like a dream. LOVED the rise, LOVE the hint of honey, LOVED it warm with butter and really, really LOVED it toasted! Your instructions are perfect-I didn't freak out over the first rise, the second rise I watched until it was one inch over the top of the loaf pan and in it went into the hot oven. When I told my husband we were having breakfast for dinner he sort of groaned under his breath when I added we were having whole wheat toast from bread I made today. Groan no more, he also enjoyed this loaf! Thank you for taking the time to post this recipe-I have a new "can do" attitude about making Whole Wheat Bread!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2012

      Great recipe! I was looking for a good sandwich bread and this is it. Next time I will try it with only whole wheat. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2012

      Excellent moist yet healthy bread. Great for sandwiches. Followed recipe exactly and I will be using this recipe again and again. I used the light crust setting and 500g loaf size. Much better than the bread I have made using the recipes that came with my breadmaker.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2012

      Only thing I changed was I added a tablespoon of milk powder. Tasted great. Even got thumbs up from my wife and kids. To make this a bit healthier I plan to make several changes to the recipe. Next time I plan to cut the honey in half, use 1 cup bread flour, and 2 cups of whole wheat flour, and possibly add some bran.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2011

      Have made this at least 5-6 times now, it has become my go to weekly bread for sandwiches. Only thing I changed after making a few times is to use 2 cups of a good white wheat flour and 1 cup of white bread flour. I also add vital wheat gluten, which helps it rise nicely and slices a bit easier. I use the 2# light setting on my machine with the specified amount of yeast, and always have a nice tall, brown loaf. Thanks for posting, this is a favorite in our house.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2011

      Mmmmmm. I can still smell the bread baking. This is excellant honey wheat bread. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2011

      Made this in my bread machine. Nice dense loaf. I used 1/4 c honey and 1/4 c molasses. Made the bread dark and flavorful! This one deserves more than 5 stars!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2011

      This is wonderful!! I will definitely be making it again! Thanks so much for sharing. :O)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2011

      Loved this bread! My dd is allergic to dairy so I'm always looking for breads that don't call for butter or milk. This one is really good. I too added an extra 1/2 tsp. of yeast since I wasn't sure 1 tsp. would be enough. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2010

      Very tasty

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Honey Wheat Oatmeal Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (73 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 173.0
     
    Calories from Fat 19
    11%
    Total Fat 2.1 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 0.3 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 196.1 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 35.1 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 2.8 g
    11%
    Sugars 7.9 g
    31%
    Protein 4.6 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes