Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Honey Wheat Bread Like Outback Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Honey Wheat Bread Like Outback

    Average Rating:

    41 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 41

    Sort by:

    • on September 15, 2005

      Fantastic! I added 1 cup of ground flax seed - and in return for this wonderful recipe I offer the best bread machine tip you'll ever have: add 1 tablespoon of lemon juice to your liquid ingredients in the bread machine - it will not affect the flavour but it will make any recipe lighter and rise higher. I got this tip off a bag of Robin Hood bread flour and urge everyone to try it and see the difference. Again - THANK YOU - for an aabsolutely fabulous bread recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2009

      Wonderful aroma, taste, and texture! I made this based on Chef#8629's recommendation for Top Favorites of 2008 Game. I made as posted except I did use regular ground coffee b/c we do not drink instant and I did not use any cornmeal. As you can see from my photo my loaves are very dark b/c I did not add more bread flour and haven't eaten at the Outback in years so am unsure if they are suppose to be this dark. My dough was not too sticky-southern Arizona is dry, but maybe if I was back in Wisconsin it would be different. Thank you SJG3483 for posting! Update on Aug. 2, 2009--Made these again and correctly, they were not as dark so the first time I must have doubled the cocoa. Oops! They looked like Bayhill's photo.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2010

      One of our favorites! I increase wheat flour to 2 cups. For darker color, use dark chocolate cocoa powder available in any grocery; I don't use any other coloring but do increase the cocoa to anywhere from 1 1/2 to 2 TBS. As far as the instant coffee: I keep a box of the individual serving packets on hand and use one of those. We actually like this flavor better than Outback's because we prefer the honey rather than molasses flavor. Rave reviews from anyone who has tasted this delicious bread.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2008

      This bread is AWESOME! My bf and I are so addicted to this bread! I have made the recipe twice now and it turned out perfect each time. And it really is super close to Outback's! To tell you the truth I think this recipe may even be better than Outback's bread! You have got to make this! It is so easy to make and the best part of all it freezes wonderfully! We don't eat all 8 loaves at once so after the first rise, I take it out of my bread machine, shape them all and then put the ones for later in the freezer to freeze up. Then the next day I want some fresh bread, I just pull a couple out and let them thaw and rise for about 4-6 hours on the counter until doubled. Then their ready to bake. An easy way to freeze them is just to form them on a cookie sheet then put the cookie sheet in your freezer flat so they keep their shape. After a couple hours of freezing they will be hard and you can put them in a freezer bag. Just make sure to do it right after the first rise. You dont want them to rise a second time before freezing them. The coldness will stop the rising process. So when you pull them out to thaw, they will do their rising process then. Do look in your bread machine after about 3-5 min. to see if it needs some more water or flour to make a good ball. I normally have to add about 2-3 tsp. more flour to mine to get a good consistency. It is still going to be sticky so make sure to flour your hands and surface well when handling. This is great with some honey butter or whipped butter. Davine!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2014

      So soft and plushy! I subbed oil for the butter and doubled the cocoa while omitting the coffee because I didn't have it. Made it into ten rolls of about 110g each and it's amazing. Not exactly Bushman's bread but wonderfully tasty anyway.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2011

      These are very nice wholemeal rolls, albeit a bit sweet, but they aren't as sweet as the Outback ones, although my memory may be hazy. Mine were a very light brown. Did add the extra flour as recommended by other reviewers and didn't taste coffee at all so I'm not sure if it's needed

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2011

      This makes wonderful soft and fluffy brown bread, almost like a cake when warm. The dough was very sticky so next time I will cut the water to 1 1/4 C and use 2 C of whole wheat flour. We did not like the coffee flavour so will omit that next time. I will definitely use this as my brown bread recipe. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2011

      This bread is delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2010

      AWESOME... Spread some butter as soon as it gets out the oven and watch the loaf disappear!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2010

      We love the bread at the Outback so couldn't wait to try this. This tasted really close to it. I tried it in a bread machine and also using a mixer with the dough hook. I thought it turned out the same. I also added some extra flour as recommended. The only thing I was disappointed with was that it didn't rise alot. So I will keep trying because it tasted really good. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2010

      I enjoyed this bread a lot! I made a "fake out Outback Dinner" and wanted to duplicate their bread and this came close enough for me to make it again. The ONLY things I changed was that I didn't use the cornmeal & halved the recipe. I served it with Herb and Garlic Butter Spread. I made a back up bread in my machine just in case it didn't turn out as I almost never bake anything but before the night was up we ate almost the entire loaf.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2010

      This was way to sweet for us. The texture was good, so maybe with half the honey it would be good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2009

      Nice flavor and so soft. Keeper. I didn't have the coffee so I skipped it . Everything else is the same.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2009

      Oh so good! My DH and I so enjoyed this flavorful bread! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2009

      This was great! I made this a while back and had forgotten about it.. I got the recipe from the book. But, I used Gravy Master or Kitchen Bouquet for the brown color instead of the coffee. Turned out fantastic!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2009

      Very easy and good. Made as written except didn't use cornmeal. Baked for 25 mins and made 2 loaves

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2008

      I've made this so many times, I just assumed that I had rated it already... This bread is so yummie and flavorful! Every time I make it for any occasion, I get a barrage of requests for the recipe. I've used the lemon juice trick on the dough, and am currently making 48 dinner sized rolls (24 to a 9x13 pan) PLUS a medium sized loaf. This is practically the only bread we eat...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2008

    • on October 01, 2008

      If I could give this bread more stars I would. So DELICIOUS!! I used to work at Outback many years ago and this bread is very similar--I have eaten literally hundreds of loaves--but this bread is lighter and probably better for you. I made it into a big loaf in my Breadman. The only thing I changed was the yeast since I use the rapid rise yeast for my bread maker ( about 1 3/4 tsp). It worked wonderfully--it rose right up to the top, so you should definitely adjust--and the whole family raved. Thanks for posting this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2008

      Picture perfect rolls! I wish I had tried these sooner.They are easy to put together with ingredients that I usually have on hand. I divided the dough to make 12 very generous size dinner rolls. I made honey butter to go with them. I added about 1 -2 tablespoons of honey to 1/2 cup softened unsalted butter. Absolutely delightful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Honey Wheat Bread Like Outback

    Serving Size: 1 (86 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 200.9
     
    Calories from Fat 23
    11%
    Total Fat 2.6 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 1.3 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 5.0 mg
    1%
    Sodium 213.3 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 41.2 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 2.6 g
    10%
    Sugars 12.7 g
    51%
    Protein 4.8 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes