11 Reviews

This recipe is terrible. I followed the directions EXACTLY as written and it was a total flop.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nila.augustyniak April 29, 2014

The bread is delicious and smells AMAZING while baking. I also agree with he other reviews that it was done at about 20-25 minutes. I only give it three stars because, I did the entire recipe by hand, since we have limited counter space and no room for a mixer. I kneaded the dough for 10 minuted instead of mixing in the machine. However, my dough neer got that translucent stretchiness to it. Also, the bread only filled the loaf pans about half way. Even though the end result yielded tiny loaves, it's still delicious. Although I don't think I'll make it again until I get a stand mixer to try it with.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hayden Star January 22, 2009

I made this yesterday and followed the directions exactly (except the dough sat longer than 30 min. and my knives weren't sharp enough to make slices in the bread so I didn't cut into the loaves), the bread turned out wonderful. I'll be using this recipe again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mommy8 July 15, 2008

I just cut my first loaf. Delicious!!! This recipe is defintiely a keeper. Even my fussy son liked it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
QueenBee49444 January 05, 2008

Pretty good, but not something I would make again. My whole family was like, I like your other breads better. Anyway, it was nice to feel healthy for one meal. ;) Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
God's_sugarcookie June 13, 2007

Amazing recipe with a wonderful texture to the bread;had to make a few changes because I didn't have all the ingredients and I used my bread machine on Dough cycle.I have been looking for a starter recipe for my bread machine for 10 years and I succeeded with your recipe. Thanks PanNan I had to make this again;I followed the recipe this time and I must say it turned out Fantastic. I used Barley Malt instead of honey.Thanks again Nan, Rita This time I let the starter sit overnight;wonderful! I made this bread again;this time for WT3; it is one of my favourites. I make the starter the day before and add it to the machine the morning I make the bread. I also use Barley Malt to give that sheen.Wonderful recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sage June 05, 2007

I made this recipe earlier today and my husband is enjoying his second piece as I type! He loves the crusty outer exterior and the hearty, soft interior of the bread. Oh, and the bread is beautiful too! Thanks for a great recipe, Nan. :-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Juenessa April 02, 2007

Outstanding recipe for bread! I have made this bread twice in two days. Its just soo tasty. I found that the honey was just the right amount, not overly sweet. I proofed the active yeast for 10 minutes in the 3/4 cup warm water. I also baked the bread at 375 and it was done within 24 minutes. Thanks Pannan for another great recipe and one that I will be making often.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Calee January 29, 2007

Excellent! There's nothing like the smell of bread baking ... or the taste of that first slice, still warm from the oven with butter melting into every nook & cranny. I followed the recipe exactly, except that I added a couple of tablespoons of ground flax seed meal to the flour. I also let the formed loaves rise for about an hour (they weren't quite filling the pans at 30 minutes). The loaves came out beautifully, with a rich dark crust that smelled heavenly. I found that they were done at about 20-25 minutes in my oven. Thanks for posting - I will definitely make this recipe again! -M =)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mary Scheffert January 21, 2007

Made this bread last week and it was delicious!! Had just the right amount of a wheat taste without being overpowering. Loved the touch of sweetness from the honey. I will be making the bread again real soon. Update - Well I made this bread again and it came out great for a second time. I have two sliced loaves in my freezer. I just pop out a few slices at a time and it makes great toast or grilled cheese sandwiches!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
longtime veggie January 19, 2007
Honey Wheat Bread