18 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I too got this recipe from another site, then after I mixed it I thought it seemed odd. So I came here and read the reviews. So I doctored it up a bit... Added 1 tbls of Hoisen Sauce and cooked as directed. When the chicken was done I removed it from the thin sauce and browned it. Then deglazed the pan with white wine and added the sauce to thicken it. Added a bit of soy sauce, and it turned out great. My husband loved it. I thought the sesame seeds made it a bit bitter. Next time I would toast them first.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jenk October 03, 2009

I used this recipe on Country Style Pork Ribs and it was awesome!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sandys7118 January 29, 2013

This was lightly flavored when used as oamc

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Analystseattle@yahoo.com February 04, 2011

Good Recipe. Love the flavor. Cooked it in the crock pot for 4 hours. Thanks for a good recipe!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mlhuston April 04, 2010

I made this right away, and not as a make ahead or freezer meal. It was not as tasty as it smelled. I cut up into big chunks. Easy to make, but not a wow meal.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
me and my 3 January 20, 2009

This is one of the OAMC recipes that inspired me to try OAMC. Yesterday, we cooked the chicken after it came out of our new deep freeze. It was worth the wait! We used leg quarters and served the leftover sauce over rice. My DH and I added a tiny bit of soy sauce to the rice, but this was a great recipe. If I could, I would give it a 10 star rating for ease of preparation! Thanks Tish!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JanieTeachGal January 15, 2009

This was an okay recipe. It didn't have a lot of flavor, having a mild sweet taste. I think it actually would have been better to either marinade the chicken and grill or to drain and then sprinkle with the sesame seeds. It really needs to be paired with other dishes that have strong flavors as it can't really hold the meal on its own. I served with a boxed wild rice and steamed broccoli, so our meal ended up being a little bland. The dish is easy to make and fits well into an OAMC menu as it is simple to prepare on the initial cooking day as well as the serving day.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Erindipity September 28, 2008

I did not like this at all. Maybe it was the beer. Sorry.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cavedweller August 01, 2008

I prepared this per the recipe but used chicken breast chunks 3 or 4 weeks ago, thawed it and cooked it last night. Since it was a dump recipe, it was so easy. Like other reviewers, I found it to be a little watery. I plan to make it again but will cut down on the sesame seeds, add a little more honey and maybe a little less beer (altho we liked the beer flavor) to make the sauce stick to the chicken better. Since I used chicken chunks and probably will again, I might cook in the wok instead. That might bring out more of the sesame seed flavor. It is a perfect OMAC meal.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chattes April 01, 2008

I made this recipe and then froze it raw. I took it out and put it in the crockpot still frozen since I was running short on time. The flavor wasn't strong (I used Coors Light) but the chicken pieces were a little tough (blame the chef not the recipe). Since I didn't cook it the way as directed, I'll hold off on the rating, but I probably won't be doing this recipe again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mulligan January 08, 2008
Honey Sesame Dump Chicken - OAMC