11 Reviews

My DH loved this, especially with the hot peppers! I think I'll cut the honey by 1/2, it seemed to override the flavor of the original vidalia which is basically sweet in nature. The red pepper is a must! It gave the tongue teasing sweet/hot flavor. thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Paka June 07, 2012

This was a great tasting side dish!!! We had this as part of our Easter dinner. I used the cayenne pepper on it also. I left out the butter but I think I should have added it. Made for PAC Spring 2012.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nemokitty April 09, 2012

I'm always amazed at how wonderful a recipe can be with
simple ingredients. This was #1 in my book: delicious, easy, healthy,
novel. Served with my posted Lebanese-style meatballs, sauteed broccoli rabe
and plain basmati rice. The sauce alone earns five stars but it was especially good spooned over the rice and I happily lapped it all up! Used a 'Hermiston Sweet' onion grown here in Oregon. Thanks! Will make again soon! Reviewed for Best of 2011 Tag Game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
COOKGIRl February 01, 2012

This is so good! I ate a piece on its own and it's delicious! I did use the cayenne pepper option and it was a real nice touch. There was a nice mix of sweet and spicy that i enjoyed!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Studentchef April 11, 2011

I really enjoy using onions as a vegetable, not just a seasoning. This is a terrific recipe! We didn't use the cayenne, but I might try that next time. Great recipe, thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chocolatl March 18, 2011

Delicious! And very easy to prepare, definitely a keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
artkitty June 04, 2007

We enjoyed these hot n spicy, sweet onions very much, what a nice treat. I used the cayenne pepper option (1/4 tsp), sea salt & wildflower honey. The texture and flavour of the carmalized onions was amazing. The onions were very soft and tender. The heat from the cayenne and curry was lovely. I will double the recipe next time...thanks Karen

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Kato April 28, 2007

its a keeper! delicious! i actually didnt bake them but sliced the onion up and pan fried it and then added all the other ingredients and cooked until carmalized! mmmm. it turned out perfect. so tasty. great flavors. and great side dish, thanks..

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sprue March 27, 2007

Yum! I used smaller Peruvian sweet onions and they were so good! Loved the sweet spicy flavor! Thank you Karen!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 January 24, 2007

This was a nice change of pace. The honey glaze didn't really soak into the onions as much as I'd like. I think next time I'll finish the onions under the broiler. Thanks, Karen!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jessie MacMillan January 20, 2007
Honey Roasted Vidalia Onions