Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Honey Roasted Squash Rings Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Honey Roasted Squash Rings

    Average Rating:

    44 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 44

    Sort by:

    • on December 15, 2009

      Very, very good. I had one small acorn squash and about 1/3 of a butternut squash. I peeled and cubed them both and tossed in the sauce mixture. The butternut sq. retained more shape and color, while the acorn sq. cubes absorbed more of the sauce and got browner and more pungent. It was a good combination. Will make again for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2011

      OK...I havent made this but I plan on it here soon so thats why no star rating.I thought I would share a tip with everyone.To peal a squash is quite an ordeal...try this.Cut him in half length wise and cut the stem off.This creates a flat spot,now turn it over and use this to stand him up.Grab a veggie peeler and start peeling away.The strips dont come off long and clean like a potato;they are shorter and you have to keep at it but you get rid of the tough skin and if you flip him over you can go the other way to get the stuff you missed.You end up with a nicely peeled squash and your sanity in tact.Hope this helps and I look forward to trying this!Thanks

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2010

      I ended up with more of a sauce than a glaze like I was expecting, but I guess my expectations were just off. Very tasty. We will make again (possibly with other types of squash)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2008

      I liked them! They definitely end up with what I would consider a bit of an Asian flare, and I think they would be a great compliment to a chicken dish of the same cuisine. Very easy and quick.. most Roasted Squash recipes take 50+ minutes to complete, however my rings were done in 35 - 40 minutes. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2005

      I haven't actually tried this with squash yet. I made this recipe using yams instead, but it was delicious. I'm certain the squash would be wonderful as well. I sliced the yams about 1/2" to 3/4" thick. I think if they were any thicker, they might not cook through quickly enough for the glaze not to burn. I also used tamari for the soy sauce, with good results. Nice recipe, and it smelled wonderful coming out of the oven!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2005

      This is a nice way to fix squash. I have found that if you microwave the whole squash for 1 minute turn and microwave an additional minute it makes it much easier to cut. I cut the squash in half and then sliced it. After it was in slices it was so easy to trim away the fibers and seeds. Cooked it at the 350 degrees and it was delightful with my New Years dinner.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2004

      I am putting in a new review on this since I made this again. The recipe has been changed from the last time I made it, so anyone who has this printed out may want to check to make sure they have an updated copy. The last time I made this, it was a disaster- the oven temp called for was way too high and subsequently, the squash burnt pitch black on the undersides. I could not eat that then, so I had to give a low review. But I have made this at the new oven temp (350F) and this recipe works out quite well. I like the savory taste the soy gives the squash, and it goes together very well. It is a little messy to eat trying to get the peel off, but it is definitely worth it. I am glad I gave this recipe a second chance and would happily make it again. Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2004

      This was really tasty! I wasn't sure if I was supposed to peel the squash first. I did end up peeling it which I think is the way I prefer it. I served this with grilled chicken, a corn/pea mix, and brussel sprouts. Next time I will decrease the soy sauce about 1/2 a tbsp for our preference. But really sweet and yummy way to fix acorn squash!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2004

      All I can say about this squash dish was FABULOUS!!!! I did turn the heat down to 325 in my air convection oven. Also I increased the honey mixture yummmmm! I have to say, if anyone is looking for a wonderful squash dish, this has to be one of them, well worth trying. WE just loved it! I'll double this and be making this for my Christmas dinner. Thanks so much CL for sharing!....Kitten:)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2004

      This was yummy! Unfortunately, halfway through cooking my oven went wacko and decided that it wanted to be closer to 500º than 400º and it burnt the glaze. So, I tranferred pans, got the heat back down and let this finish cooking. Very tasty sweet and salty way to serve squash. I did make this with butternut, so I didn't really get rings- I did chunks instead. When I read the recipe, I thought that it was weird that it called for you to baste the squash- I thought the mixture would be too thick, but it was surprisingly thin, espeically once it was heated. Very yummy way to serve squash! We had for dinner with Easy Rice Congee #76014.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2004

      This is so yummmmmmmmmm.... made it the first time with butternut squash... couldn't wait to make it again... I DO LOVE SQUASH... just an added note..... I used butternut squash the first time and was able to peel it... this time i used acorn squash and started to peel it... unless you have some magic way to do this I found it impossible... so I cooked them with the peel on and they turned out great... the peel comes off easily, which i did before I served it... Everyone wants the recipe Lee

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2003

      Never having had acorn squash before I thought this would be a good recipe to try them. It was Simply delicious. My husband has never had them either and he was impressed (he is not a fan of squash and pumpkin other than pumpkin pie). The glaze was savory and sweet and complimented the taste of the squash.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2003

      I think this is my new favorite way to fix winter squash! Sliced rings covered with glazed honey-soy-garlic-yummmy! Thanks CL!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2014

      I used acorn squash for this. I found the soy sauce was so strong and pungent it overwhelmed the rest of the flavors. If I made this again, I would reduce it to teaspoons instead of tablespoons.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2014

    • on January 16, 2013

      This is good and yes...sweet! I left out the salt, trusting the soy sauce to provide enough for my DH's low salt diet. Also made a mistake (didn't read directions) and cut the squash into cubes. I went ahead with the recipe at 350 for 25 minutes and it was perfect. The cubes had a nice glaze and color. For kicks I added some slices of eggplant that I found in the fridge. The sweet sauce was terrific combined with the eggplant! I now have a sauce for eggplant and a sauce for squash! thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2013

      This was great! I didn't add the salt, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly.
      Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2012

      Loved these... wish I could make them a bit less sweet, but I think they'd lose all of the best parts! Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2012

      I love this recipe! I cut my squash into cubes instead of rings, used low-sodium soy sauce & did not add the salt. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2010

      This was much spicier than I would have anticipated . . . there's not that much pepper, but I didn't enjoy the pepperiness of it (is that a word??!!). I may try again and decrease the pepper. Thanks for sharing! :O)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Honey Roasted Squash Rings

    Serving Size: 1 (247 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 157.4
     
    Calories from Fat 2
    31%
    Total Fat 0.2 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 655.5 mg
    27%
    Total Carbohydrate 40.7 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 3.4 g
    13%
    Sugars 17.5 g
    70%
    Protein 2.8 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites