29 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

We love carrots, thank you soursugar for making me figure out how to use my mandolin for something other than slicing potatoes. I made little sticks on the mandolin, just as you suggested.

I chose the fennel variation for the "Variety is the Spice of Life Event" Boy am I happy I did, it was great. I roast a lot of veggies, but never tried carrots before.

Wonderful application for carrots.

No problems at all, cooked exactly as directed. YUMMY!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
personalchef May 03, 2012

I made this using the cinnamon- allspice option. I cut the carrots into thin rounds and baked on a foil lined baking sheet. The timing was right on and the carrots were delicious! Thanks for sharing. Made for Variety is the Spice of Life event.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CJAY May 03, 2012

I have made these twice now, Once with the cinnamon-allspice and once with the fennel seed. Both very good, but we really liked the fennel seed version! Went well with Italian style dinner. I used baby carrots slice lengthwise. Made for Variety is the Spice of Life game.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mikekey May 10, 2012

Timing, directions, and taste right on. Made the cumin variation. IF, I could add it to my 425 oven cook book I would, but site is not meshing well with iPad. Thank you for sharing. Served with rice and breaded shrimp.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WiGal May 19, 2012

What a great recipe! :) It tastes soooo yummy and has a perfect balance of flavours. The honey really brings out the natural sweetness of the carrot (I chose to use a tad less honey, though) and the spices are a great addition. I made variations #1, #3 and #4 and liked #3 the best. The allspice and cinnamon were so great with the honey and carrots! YUM!
Ill definitely make this again! THANK YOU SO MUCH for sharing a keeper, soursugar.
Made and reviewed for the Variety is the spice of life event May 2012.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lalaloula May 12, 2012

I love roasted carrots! I used a pound of baby carrots cut in half lengthwise with the cinnamon variation. When I make these again (and I will), I will cut back on the cinnamon. Otherwise, we really liked them! MERP'd for the Variety of Spice game.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DuChick May 07, 2012

These carrots were very tasty and tender. I used a combo of dried thyme, rosemary and garlic salt. Next time I plan on trying them without the thyme and rosemary. I also used baby carrots which I cut into coins. Made for the Variety is the Spice of Life Event 2012.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AcadiaTwo May 06, 2012

I wanted savory and sweet, so I created a Cayenne and Coriander Variation! To the basic recipe, I added 1/8 teaspoon cayenne pepper, and 1 teaspoon ground coriander. Made for Variety is the Spice of Life Event 2012 ~

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kerfuffle-Upon-Wincle May 06, 2012

I made these using the cinnamon- allspice option, very very nice! I cut the carrots into batons, and roasted in a baking dish, shaking the pan occasionally. Cooked perfectly, such an easy and delish recipe, thank you soursugar. I used them to accompany Pearly Porcupine Meatballs and Mashed Potatoes With Variations. This recipe was made for Variety is the Spice of Life event.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen Elizabeth May 06, 2012

Really really sweet but still a very nice side! I made the rosemary option substituting fresh rosemary for dried, also made one minor technique change in that I just cut the carrots into small sticks which cooked up perfectly. We be coming back to try some of the other options. Thanks for the post.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbwl May 05, 2012
Honey Roasted Carrots - Variations