10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

SO excited to find this simple & relatively healthy recipe! I needed a honey cake, but don't like the ones with tea, coffee, or orange juice. Other recipes call for 1/4c of honey....please! Made this one just as directed and MAN is it GOOD! Moist and I can taste the honey! This is my new honey cake keeper recipe. Thanks for sharing! **Must add - after one bite my husband told me I'd better freeze in single-serving portions before he ate the whole cake right out of the pan! 09/27 - Made again & added 2T of WW flour plus 1/4t of cloves. Improved texture & taste...mmmmmm.....

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LillyZackMom September 27, 2009

I halved the recipe and made the following substitutions: 1) cold-pressed canola oil instead of butter, 2) two parts date honey and one part apple sauce instead of honey. The result was no doubt much less rich than the original, but the taste was still great and the texture simply perfect. This is a keeper!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chaim L February 09, 2009

Made this for my 2-year-old's birthday because, in one of her favorite books, the hungry bear eats honey cakes. This cake was wonderful! My father-in-law, who has a pretty traditional, Southern palate, had seconds! With the raisins that I added, it reminded all of us of a moist carrot cake. I used whole wheat pastry flour (it's lighter than regular whole wheat flour), only 1 cup of honey and 1 cup of unsweetened applesauce. It was plenty sweet! Since it was a birthday cake, I topped it with homemade whipped cream frosting. Yummy! Will make this one again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
doggy momma January 10, 2009

This is a gem of a recipe for people who don't want to eat white flour, and not much white sugar either. :) Here are the modifications I made: I used 1/2 cup honey, 1/2 cup maple syrup and 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce. I added loads more spices - I used cinnamon and a pumpkin pie spice blend that I had in the cupboard. I made these as cupcakes - it made 15 regular size muffins/cupcakes. For a special touch (and because I'm making these for people who DO like sugar) I made a glaze for on top - a bit of powdered sugar, a bit of the pumpkin pie spice, and a splash of maple syrup. I thinned it out with a little half and half. I put it over the muffins/cupcakes while cooling. Yum! Hope you enjoy these modifications as much as I did. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
boogaloogie January 20, 2007

This was easy to make. My kids enjoyed helping. But in the end, we felt that the flavour was somewhat lacking. We figured there would be more of a "honey" flavour to it. After it had cooled, the top got this slightly sticky-ness to it that was great. This was definitely better completely cool. The texture ended up like that of banana bread. So much so that my oldest son put butter on his. It was really good that way too! Thanks for posting! My kids had a blast.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Saturn July 12, 2006

Straying from the flock, I made this exactly as written! It rose beautifully, has a light texture & tastes wonderful! I can see this cake appearing often at my house. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SusieQusie July 11, 2006

After reading the reviews I chose to change afew things. I cut down the honey to 1 cup. I added 1 cup of apple sauce, no sugar added. Even though this is going to be for breakfast tomorrow I just had to try this. Not bad if I may say so. Came out moist and good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BLUE ROSE July 09, 2006

this made a great breakfast treat for dh- he took it to work and it was consumed quickly over the morning coffee. I would have liked ti better if it had some fruit in it like some chopped apples or pears.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mama's Kitchen (Hope) November 01, 2005

I have to endorse what Roosie says. This is really so good and then GOOD too. (If you know what I mean) Love the combo of both my favourites whole wheat and oats. I used Roosie's lead and subbed 1/2 oil and reduced the honey to 1 cup but added some dates (pulped)This has been going with my DS for his 10.30 am tiffin. I do not mind if he does not have a full breakfast at 7.00 a.m. for I know that something nutritious, filling and tasty :D awaits him in his tiffin. Thank you Paula for this addition to our life. :) Fay

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Girl from India September 02, 2004

Yummy! This cake is very tasty. Although its made with whole wheat flour, it doesn't have that dense texture and flavor that whole wheat often imparts. I like the texture the oats add- chewy and wonderful. I was a little concerned at first about the recipe calling for soda rather than baking powder since most of the recipe I have used that call for soda call for baking powder as well and have an acidic ingredient such as buttermilk or yogurt, but the cake rose beautifully! I have to mention that I did halve the recipe (since its only BF and myself) and baked it in an 8x8 pan. Took about 20 minutes to be done in my oven. I made one minor substitution- I used about half butter and half vegetable oil, which seemed to work just fine since the butter is melted anyway and doesn't need to be creamed or anything. I make this substitution a lot in quickbread type recipes to lower the saturated fats and up the better fats that are in vegetable oils. Anyhow, this was very yummy. We did not eat if for dessert as a cake, but for breakfast. The high fiber kept me full this morning for about 5 hours. Delicious *and* nutritious... what's not to love? Thanks for posting, Paula!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Roosie June 30, 2004
Honey Oatmeal Cake