Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Honey Oatmeal Bread - 2 Lb. Loaf Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Honey Oatmeal Bread - 2 Lb. Loaf

    Average Rating:

    36 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 36

    Sort by:

    • on April 01, 2010

      This recipe is a find. I have a large bread machine and it is nice to be able to use it to its full capacity. Plus, this bread is so tasty and easy to prepare, we can eat it often.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2009

      This bread is very tasty. It is the first Oatmeal bread that isn't made with sourdough starter that I have found to be really tasty. I followed the ingredients exactly. I mixed the dough in my ABM but took it out of the machine before rising. Then I shaped it into a round loaf, sprinkled some cornmeal on my stonewear, placed the loaf on it. Then I oiled it and covered it with plastic wrap and let it rise until it was doubled in sized. I baked it in a 350 degree oven for 35 minutes. It is not only good freshly baked but also makes awesome grilled cheese and ham sandwiches. Thanks. I will make this recipe again and again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2014

      Love oatmeal bread and this one was super. A high riser, nice and tender. Makes great cinnamon toast and also good with soup. Thanks Charmie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2013

      This rose well, and like the recipe as it does not call for marg. or butter and pwd. milk, also no sugar. I did add chunks of garlic and habinero pepper at the beap signal. This is a must to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2011

      Great recipe!
      I find better result using only 1 cup of oats; still one of myy favourite recipes,ut I bake it in the oven.
      It is cooler here today and I decided to bake it in the oven.
      I made it with 1/2 whole wheat and made 2 loaves.I included a picture so you could see how great it looks.Tastes even better.Thanks for posting.
      Rita

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2011

      [27 AUG 11]
      WOW!!  This bread, is awesome!!  This is the first bread I put in my new machine.  I love honey, and I love oatmeal.  This bread is moist, and very flavorful.  I tried it, dipped in olive oil --my preference-- as well as plain.  It is excellent, both ways!

      [9 SEP 11]
      I also did experimentation -- changes, follow:

      1. Rather than 1 1/2cups water, I reduced it to 1 1/4 cups & added 1/4 cup Pompeian Olive Oil
      2. I used 2 cups Gold Medal whole wheat flour, rather than 1 1/2 cups oatmeal
      3. Bread flour was changed to 3 cups Gold Medal Unbleached
      4. I added 1 cup raisins, when the final mixing started

      I actually forgot to change the 'Type' to whole wheat, so left the finished bread in the machine, for an extra 10 minutes.  The result, was very good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2011

      This was really good! I used quick oats and Tupelo honey (which is very mild) and followed the directions exactly. I used the ABM only for the dough, and then did my own rise and bake to yield two smaller loaves. Thanks so much for sharing! (Oh...the only reason I'm not giving 5 stars is that the overall taste of this bread was very mild...I was hoping for more of an oatmeal-y flavor.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2011

      This bread tasted very nice and I love the bold oat flavour... the only downfall is the bread turned out quite dense (perhaps cut back on the oatmeal and add more flour?).... it is a very tasty bread however, I think I will try altering it a bit next time to make a more fluffier, lighter bread.... thanks :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2010

      The best bread I've made so far. The taste was great, made a big loaf, and the texture was great. Thanks for the recipe, for sure I will make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2010

      Wonderful bread! I used 1 1/2 cups of white whole wheat flour because it's my favorite, and paired with that hint of honey, this was a spectacular loaf. My mom was over this afternoon and we mowed through half of it together. I soaked my whole wheat flour in the water to soften up the bran before adding any other ingredients, and added 2 tablespoons of potato flakes to make it nice and moist. This was a high riser, and with an incredibly soft, airy crumb you don't usually get from whole grain bread. My mom asked me twice to send her the recipe. Thanks for a winner, Charmie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2009

      great bread!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2009

      For my taste, this was just too sweet. It also was a little too much volume for my machine. And the top was sunken in, though since I've had that problem before, I'm not sure it was the recipe to blame. (Haven't yet figured out how to prevent this, but not all my breads have this problem.) I may try to tweak the recipe and make again, or try one of the others...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2009

      Easy ang good. I used the ABM only for the dough, then rose and baked.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2009

      Above average results for a bread machine recipe. Used 1 envelope (2 ¼ tsp.) rapid rise yeast and all purpose flour. The loaf had a firm, dense, fine crumbed texture; moist interior with a crunchy crust and rough top. Very easy to slice evenly. Keeps very well in a zip top bag in the refrigerator. The honey provides a faint sweetness. Good toasted and with sweeter sandwiches. Not as good with savory fillings; the sweetness seemed odd with meat and mustard.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2008

      Wow, this turned out so wonderful! I had been having such bad luck with my old standby oatmeal recipe I had quit using my bread machine for awhile. This had made a fantastic loaf, and HUGE! I think that I will follow another poster's comment and cut back to 2 tsp of yeast next time. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2008

      Definitely a staple for anyone using a bread machine. I used this recipe on a whim to make sure my new bread maker was working to my satisfaction, and the smell permeated my entire home! I did however change the flour to the following with great sucess, 2 cups white unbleached flour, 1 1/4 wheat flour. Bake this recipe today!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2008

      Very good bread! I noticed that others have seen this rise too much with the specified quantity of yeast. On my first try, I used a Fleischmann's yeast packet of 2 1/4 teaspoons, and still got rising so high that the loaf actually stuck to the dome of my bread machine. The next time, then, I cut the yeast back to 2 teaspoons. Still got a light, fluffy, high loaf, but this time no contact was made with the lid of the machine. My permanent change to the recipe, then, will be to use only 2 tsp. of yeast. To add another flavor note and a bit of a crunch, I've also been adding 1/3 of a cup of sunflower seeds. Can't begin to describe how tasty that is!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2008

      An excellent recipe that is easily vegan adaptable. I have mad this three times, one with honey, one with molasses (and an extra 1/2 cup of water as to not dry the dough out), and with six splenda packets (again the 1/2 cup of water). One minute complaint: as stated previously by reviewers, the dough rose completely to the top of, and nearly overflowed, in my Cuisineart bread machine. This is definately a keeper and going to be a staple in my bread-machine collection!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2007

      This is fantastic! Thank you so much for posting this recipe, this is just sweet enough, without being overly sweet, had great texture for sandwiches and toast, and is just a perfect everyday bread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2007

      I was doing my usual Sat morning Recipezaar surfing and stumbled onto this recipe. I got right up from my computer and threw it into my bread machine. This bread was so quick and easy to make and made a beautiful loaf. Mine also rose up to the top of my machine. We enjoyed it warm with butter and can't wait to have it toasted for breafast! Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Honey Oatmeal Bread - 2 Lb. Loaf

    Serving Size: 1 (1184 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 3118.8
     
    Calories from Fat 435
    13%
    Total Fat 48.3 g
    74%
    Saturated Fat 7.1 g
    35%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 2359.1 mg
    98%
    Total Carbohydrate 586.0 g
    195%
    Dietary Fiber 39.5 g
    158%
    Sugars 93.8 g
    375%
    Protein 89.1 g
    178%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites