49 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

You're receiving my first review!! This bread's soft and delicious--Thanks so much for sharing!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laura O. December 07, 2014

Very tasty loaf of bread. I used what I had on hand, so I used all-purpose flour. I also used 1 cup of oats and 2 1/2 cups of the four. I chose the medium brown setting on my bread machine. Looks and tastes great! I'll be trying variations on this loaf, as the recipe seems very adaptable.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
B B. October 17, 2014

Great all-around bread. Went well with a bowl of soup and also delicious toasted and buttered for breakfast. Thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ratherbeswimmin' September 07, 2014

I have to add just a dab of water to bring the dough into a ball. This made a great sandwich/toast loaf, as it will hold up to spreading (perfect density).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andrew L. March 10, 2014

After retiring in December, I started making homemade bread because it is so much better than store bought. This recipe is the best so far. Followed the recipe exactly and added 1/4 tsp powdered ginger to help the bread stay fresher longer as that has been a common problem. After 4 days the bread is still fresh and tasty. Excellent recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
frankjax February 27, 2014

Great bread! Like others I used the dough cycle on the bread machine and then baked at 350 for 35 minutes. I also used an egg wash and topped with oats. It was a beautiful looking loaf of bread and tasted even better. My usual sandwich loaf just got replaced!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lexie November 19, 2013

Spectacular! I've made this twice, with the vital wheat gluten and without. It's not really needed, but does help the bread to rise a bit more.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jen in Victoria, BC April 26, 2013

Thanks for a great recipe! This turned out perfectly. I didn't have any honey so I used some amber agave and it worked out fine. It sliced nicely and is going to be great for sandwiches. I will be making this one again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kittehchef November 17, 2012

This was very good. I made it with the whole wheat. It wasn't very sweet but had a nice nutty flavor. Thanks for the great recipe Tonkcats......

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jennyblender September 24, 2012

I just got a bread machine and this has been our favorite bread so far! I typically use 1 1/2 c. wheat flour and add the wheat gluten. I also find I usually need 1/8 c. more water than called for. Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
run for your life August 31, 2012
Honey Oat Bread (Bread Machine)