50 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I signed up just to rate and comment on this recipe! It is absolutely amazing! I did the dough setting in my bread machine, then I put it into a loaf pan and let it rise until it was about 1 1/2 inches above rim. Preheated oven to 350, brushed with milk and sprinkled on oats.. Baked for 20 minutes the foil tented it for another 25 (total of 45 minutes) and the results were amazing. My kids and husband wanted to eat the entire loaf at once! Thank you so much! Will be making as gifts!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Christy D. June 24, 2015

You're receiving my first review!! This bread's soft and delicious--Thanks so much for sharing!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laura O. December 07, 2014

Very tasty loaf of bread. I used what I had on hand, so I used all-purpose flour. I also used 1 cup of oats and 2 1/2 cups of the four. I chose the medium brown setting on my bread machine. Looks and tastes great! I'll be trying variations on this loaf, as the recipe seems very adaptable.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
B B. October 17, 2014

Great all-around bread. Went well with a bowl of soup and also delicious toasted and buttered for breakfast. Thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ratherbeswimmin' September 07, 2014

I have to add just a dab of water to bring the dough into a ball. This made a great sandwich/toast loaf, as it will hold up to spreading (perfect density).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andrew L. March 10, 2014

After retiring in December, I started making homemade bread because it is so much better than store bought. This recipe is the best so far. Followed the recipe exactly and added 1/4 tsp powdered ginger to help the bread stay fresher longer as that has been a common problem. After 4 days the bread is still fresh and tasty. Excellent recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
frankjax February 27, 2014

Great bread! Like others I used the dough cycle on the bread machine and then baked at 350 for 35 minutes. I also used an egg wash and topped with oats. It was a beautiful looking loaf of bread and tasted even better. My usual sandwich loaf just got replaced!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lexie November 19, 2013

Spectacular! I've made this twice, with the vital wheat gluten and without. It's not really needed, but does help the bread to rise a bit more.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jen in Victoria, BC April 26, 2013

Thanks for a great recipe! This turned out perfectly. I didn't have any honey so I used some amber agave and it worked out fine. It sliced nicely and is going to be great for sandwiches. I will be making this one again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kittehchef November 17, 2012

This was very good. I made it with the whole wheat. It wasn't very sweet but had a nice nutty flavor. Thanks for the great recipe Tonkcats......

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jennyblender September 24, 2012
Honey Oat Bread (Bread Machine)