8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

After following the directions exactly, I was very disappointed to come home 8 hours later after a long work day to very burnt, dark brown sauce. It was not edible.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
polisci27 November 08, 2011

I'm sure that this was an amazing recipe, however, a word to the wise. Don't make the shortcut mistakes that I had made. It made it not as great:
1) premix it, don't just throw it all in the pot.
2) I'm sure using good curry powder would have helped.
3) Make sure that you don't overcook it.

Hope this helps.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
phoenixarising04 October 04, 2011

I really debated how to rate this recipe. The sauce is great, we love honey mustard at our house, so it was a big hit. The chicken (I used bone in breasts), no so good. It was really overcooked and no amount of gravy in the world would make it moist. I suspect the cooking time should have been cut down by at least half. I made the sauce with cheap store brand dijon and organic honey, I didn't have any of the burning issues others faced. I also forgot the salt, but the sauce was fine. After removing the chicken. I put the liquid in a sauce pan and thickened with cornstarch and water. I served the chicken with mashed potatoes, green beans and bread. I will try the recipe again cutting down the cooking time significantly.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Erindipity January 29, 2008

I liked this quite a bit. I needed something easy that used ingredients that I had on hand. That being said, I did not have any honey, so I searched for and found a substitution (1/2 cup sugar, 1/8 cup water). I decreased the amount of curry powder by half because I don't really like the taste. Also, based on other reviews, I lowered the cook time to 6 hours to get a less-brown chicken product. After removing the chicken from the crockpot, I added some cornstarch to thicken the sauce, which I served over the chicken and some mashed potatoes. Kudos!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LadyLaura July 18, 2007

This didn't work for us at all. During the day, my husband kept telling me it smelled "funny". By supper time (cooked around 8 1/2 hours) the sauce was all dark brown and the chicken was burnt on the edges. (I use my crockpot all the time, so I know it's not too hot.) We wound up tossing it and getting Taco Bell food instead. Sorry, I won't be trying this again. Thanks anyway.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AmyMCGS June 03, 2007

yummy,very tasty and easy.I recommend this for an easy crockpot meal.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katej76 May 09, 2007

I'm not a fan of curry powder but I think it was the addition of the honey that turned me around. This is very easy to make. I turned it on high for 4 hours and it was ready to eat after church this morning. I will be making this again. I made this for the Spring PAC 2007 game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charlotte J May 06, 2007

This was pretty good. The chicken got a little browner than I like, but it still tasted good. The flavor was all through the meat and the meat was falling off the bone. Thanks for sharing. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dicentra May 03, 2007
Honey Mustard Crock Pot Chicken