13 Reviews

This recipe is open to botulism even if the eggs are cooked. It seems that pressure canning is in order; if there isn't enough acid base, it is not safe for consumption with a boiling water bath. The recipe sounds delicious, but I would use it as a refrigerated item to be safe.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kellykins62 October 28, 2012

Excellent results. Pre cooking the mustard before canning cooks the eggs and makes them safe for canning.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mtviolet January 11, 2008

Lucy22 is 100% correct this recipe is UNSAFE. You cannot can low acid food in a water bath canner. You're gonna kills someone. Eggs are a low acid food thatreally shouldn't be canned, but if you insist, the only way is Pressure Canner.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
firefly1245 May 04, 2012

Very good and easy to make. I did double the recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Scansalot1 August 30, 2003

This recipe is actually quite high in acidic content, and therefore safe for water bath canning when done so properly. The cider vinegar called for in this recipe will raise the acidic content of the overall dish to a level acceptable for water bath canning. Just be certain to use store purchased vinegar, nit homemade, as the acidic content of homemade vinegar can vary and sometimes fall outside the range needed fir use in water bath canning.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Peak003 April 22, 2013

This worked out so easily. I like the idea of having little jars of things to give away to company or for special occasions. I got 5 quarter pint jars out of this recipe as then I have five gifts instead of two and it seemed to me smaller was fine as mustard has such strong flavor. Thanks for the recipe. Update: I had a roast of ham and made sandwiches that I served with this mustard. The taste was devine and not many people guessed it was homemade!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ladymedic August 02, 2009

This is unsafe to can with eggs in it. You can get botulism from it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucy22 July 23, 2004

I also think this recipe is a disaster, waiting to happen. Food safety rules prohibit the canning of eggs in most cases and cooking them in advance doesn't make it safe. The single approved and tested safe recipe I know of that uses eggs is lemon curd, the eggs are cooked then too, but you can only store it 3 months after canning. Then you have the density issue. Pressure canning might help this, but I just don't think it's something meant for canning. Zero stars as a canning recipe, although I'd make it and keep it for immediate consumption.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
annie1992_11300709 August 01, 2016

Honey is a natural botulism deterrent as is the 5% vinegar. The eggs are cooked sufficiently for the recipe. The trick is to utilize the mustard in 3-6 months. Thinks about the high acid curd recipes, such as lemon curd. Because of the high acid from the lemon, both the eggs and butter are safely canned for shorter amounts of time. Oranges however, are lower in acid and must be kept in a frig unless they are blood oranges.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Suzy R. July 13, 2015

Dramatic reviews! Anyone who knows anything about these ingredients knows that mustard and honey are both highly anti-bacterial and vinegar makes this a powerhouse combination. I made it without fear of anything being able to survive the atmosphere. I used a combination of brown and yellow mustard to give it an extra kick. It was amazing. Tangy and Sweet and Creamy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Felicia R. July 12, 2015
Honey Mustard-canning recipe