Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Honey Mustard-canning recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Honey Mustard-canning recipe

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on October 28, 2012

      This recipe is open to botulism even if the eggs are cooked. It seems that pressure canning is in order; if there isn't enough acid base, it is not safe for consumption with a boiling water bath. The recipe sounds delicious, but I would use it as a refrigerated item to be safe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2012

      Lucy22 is 100% correct this recipe is UNSAFE. You cannot can low acid food in a water bath canner. You're gonna kills someone. Eggs are a low acid food thatreally shouldn't be canned, but if you insist, the only way is Pressure Canner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2008

      Excellent results. Pre cooking the mustard before canning cooks the eggs and makes them safe for canning.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2009

      This worked out so easily. I like the idea of having little jars of things to give away to company or for special occasions. I got 5 quarter pint jars out of this recipe as then I have five gifts instead of two and it seemed to me smaller was fine as mustard has such strong flavor. Thanks for the recipe. Update: I had a roast of ham and made sandwiches that I served with this mustard. The taste was devine and not many people guessed it was homemade!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2004

      This is unsafe to can with eggs in it. You can get botulism from it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2003

      Very good and easy to make. I did double the recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2013

      This recipe is not canning fade and should be removed before someone is sickened

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2013

      This recipe is actually quite high in acidic content, and therefore safe for water bath canning when done so properly. The cider vinegar called for in this recipe will raise the acidic content of the overall dish to a level acceptable for water bath canning. Just be certain to use store purchased vinegar, nit homemade, as the acidic content of homemade vinegar can vary and sometimes fall outside the range needed fir use in water bath canning.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2007

      The eggs are cooked during the process and then further cooked through the water bath. I gave this four stars because I found it a little overpowering, I know, I know it's mustard. I doubled the recipe and then doubled the honey (1 1/3 cups,we have a little sweeter taste buds I guess) I found it to be a little runny (cause of the extra honey) so I thickened it with a little flour mixture (1 tbsp flour + 1 tbsp cold water to avoid lumps). Overall it turned out good and even with the added changes it was very easy to make. I got 2 1/2 pints (mostly because of all my additions) I will use every drop I'm sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2007

      By processing in a boiling water canner for 10 minutes, it seems as though the egg would be cooked.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Honey Mustard-canning recipe

    Serving Size: 1 (560 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 483.0
     
    Calories from Fat 179
    37%
    Total Fat 19.9 g
    30%
    Saturated Fat 2.8 g
    14%
    Cholesterol 245.5 mg
    81%
    Sodium 106.8 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 58.7 g
    19%
    Dietary Fiber 4.7 g
    18%
    Sugars 49.6 g
    198%
    Protein 18.3 g
    36%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites