10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This recipe is open to botulism even if the eggs are cooked. It seems that pressure canning is in order; if there isn't enough acid base, it is not safe for consumption with a boiling water bath. The recipe sounds delicious, but I would use it as a refrigerated item to be safe.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kellykins62 October 28, 2012

Lucy22 is 100% correct this recipe is UNSAFE. You cannot can low acid food in a water bath canner. You're gonna kills someone. Eggs are a low acid food thatreally shouldn't be canned, but if you insist, the only way is Pressure Canner.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
firefly1245 May 04, 2012

Excellent results. Pre cooking the mustard before canning cooks the eggs and makes them safe for canning.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mtviolet January 11, 2008

This worked out so easily. I like the idea of having little jars of things to give away to company or for special occasions. I got 5 quarter pint jars out of this recipe as then I have five gifts instead of two and it seemed to me smaller was fine as mustard has such strong flavor. Thanks for the recipe. Update: I had a roast of ham and made sandwiches that I served with this mustard. The taste was devine and not many people guessed it was homemade!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ladymedic August 02, 2009

This is unsafe to can with eggs in it. You can get botulism from it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucy22 July 23, 2004

Very good and easy to make. I did double the recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Scansalot1 August 30, 2003

This recipe is not canning fade and should be removed before someone is sickened

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cynthia H. November 01, 2013

This recipe is actually quite high in acidic content, and therefore safe for water bath canning when done so properly. The cider vinegar called for in this recipe will raise the acidic content of the overall dish to a level acceptable for water bath canning. Just be certain to use store purchased vinegar, nit homemade, as the acidic content of homemade vinegar can vary and sometimes fall outside the range needed fir use in water bath canning.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Peak003 April 22, 2013

The eggs are cooked during the process and then further cooked through the water bath. I gave this four stars because I found it a little overpowering, I know, I know it's mustard. I doubled the recipe and then doubled the honey (1 1/3 cups,we have a little sweeter taste buds I guess) I found it to be a little runny (cause of the extra honey) so I thickened it with a little flour mixture (1 tbsp flour + 1 tbsp cold water to avoid lumps). Overall it turned out good and even with the added changes it was very easy to make. I got 2 1/2 pints (mostly because of all my additions) I will use every drop I'm sure.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tylamd June 26, 2007

By processing in a boiling water canner for 10 minutes, it seems as though the egg would be cooked.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Foreverforward67 April 12, 2007
Honey Mustard-canning recipe