18 Reviews

This was exactly what I was looking for! I did add mini chocolate chips to the recipe. I used local wildflower honey. My son loved it, I love it and hubby liked the sweetness. I think I will play with this alittle more and try some of the suggestions like the cinnamon and such. Thanks so much for posting this!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rachel's Home Recipes March 02, 2013

I got this recipe, originally, off of a Sunday School website. It was a craft for the kids to make "Pharohs Bricks" with or without the straw (oats, in this case). It went over SO well, that I had to find a proper recipe and keep it. These are really fantastic tasting - though, we used almond butter. We had no "grainy" problems and our powdered milk WAS grainy. The balls changed after an hour and solidified better. Perhaps, if you left them, untouched,, for an hour, they would be PERFECT for consistency and flavors melding/grain breaking down. Nonetheless, we loved them! YUM!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wedrinktea'ere October 07, 2012

I was wondering why the honey milk balls I prepared were grainy. I think that
maybe it was because the milk powder I used was not powdery but more
like the texture of cornmeal. Regardless, these are easy to make although ~Tasty~ didn't like them. Again, I think it was a texture thing and not the fault of the recipe. I slightly warmed the honey to make it easier to mix with the other ingredients. I used a small cookie scoop to portion out the dough, then rolled the honey-milk balls in oiled hands. Placed them in the refrigerator for 10-15 minutes. Very easily adaptable for substituting other seed or nut butters. I added a small amount of ground cinnamon and vanilla powder-about 1/4 teaspoon of each. Reviewed for Veg Tag/October.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
COOKGIRl October 05, 2011

Sorry but these didn't work out for me. I made them while hosting a play date and had the kids mix them with their hands. If I were to make them again I would just have them stir them with a spoon. It was VERY messy and I think a lot of the ingredients were lost on their hands. Also I was surprised at how sweet these were since another reviewer had said they were not as sweet as other cookies. For me the sweetness was overpowering.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Tweaker August 10, 2011

Fist bump!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gailanng December 17, 2010

Can't believe I forgot to rate this. I've been making these for a couple years now and absolutely love them! They're healthy, simple and fantastic for nights where you just can't stand the oven. They keep well thanks to the powdered milk. I featured these as part of my Christmas cookie gift tins last year and everyone seemed to love them as the only option that wasn't "sugar overload." They're also very versatile - you can add or sub just about anything. I've added cinnamon and sesame seeds to one batch, and just now I tried cocoa powder and crunchy peanut butter like some of the other reviewers. Trying very hard not to eat the entire counter's worth. Thanks so much for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
queenofeats November 16, 2010

3 stars... Very easy and fast and tasted pretty good, but I didn't like the texture the dry milk gave them, and they were a little too much like eating just peanut butter for me. Adding a little cocoa helped some. I used crunchy peanut butter... liked that extra bite.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mandabacca November 16, 2010

Yummy! Made some changes though. I would never again let the kids mix this it was a mess! It was so messy they didn't even want to continue! I would mix it first next time and then let them make the balls... I used my food processor to grind the oats so the kids wouldn't know it was there! I didn't have powdered milk so I used powdered cocoa. It tasted just like a chocolate power bar! I might try coconut next time too!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Addicted2Zaar October 21, 2009

I make these for my kids and they love them! The only change is that I grind the oats into powder in my blender first.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elaniemay September 29, 2009

turned out rather too dry, also tastes more like peanut butter then anything else. added 3 Tbs of water and 3 Tbs of cocoa powder. still very sticky but fairly tasty. chilled to stabilize them

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
spiritussancto May 10, 2009
Honey Milk Balls