11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Our chicken cooked up beautifully, though the marinade appeared charred from the grill. Had a lovely flavour and the chicken inside was beautifully tender and moist. Prepared the marinade in the morning and allow to marinade all day in the fridge. Photo also to be posted. Made for ZWT8

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Jubes** August 08, 2012

Great marinade! I can only imagine this is amazing on the grill; we got rid of our old grill before we moved and have not bought a new one yet so I had to saut? the chicken on the stovetop. Was not too sweet or to bitter/sour from the lemon juice and soy sauce. Will make again when we get a grill! Made for ZWT8.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AZPARZYCH August 06, 2012

I found this in my TOH Backyard Grilling book so tried it today. I had not read the reviews here but now that I have I find it quite funny because a few people thought there wasn't enough honey and we thought there was too much making the chicken too sweet. Just goes to show you that we all have different tastes. I actually cooked my chicken in the slow cooker for about 2 hours just to get it started, then finished on the grill. All in all, a good recipe that I will make again. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mums the word June 02, 2014

This had a great texture, and the chicken was very moist and tender coming off of the grill. However, we didn't really feel that the marinade offered a lot of improvement to flavor than a simple salt and pepper and herb sprinkling would. The soy was a bit overpowering and very much dominant to the other flavors. I let this sit in the marinade for 10 hours before grilling. Made for ZWT

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
IngridH September 03, 2012

Real winner, we loved this! Easy to make, too. Not as sweet as other recipes like this, which made me very happy! Thanks for sharing :)
Made for ZWT 8 / Aus/NZ for the Lively Lemon Lovelies

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mia in Germany August 03, 2012

I had to make them in the oven, I thought it needed more honey They were good but I would change a few things.
Make for the World tour 8

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bigbadbrenda August 02, 2012

This was a hit at my house we loved it. Made for Recipe Swap # 39 - April 2010 in the Aust/NZ forum

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sonya01 May 01, 2010

I thought this was pretty good - next time I'd probably make mine a bit sweeter (couldn't much taste the honey). Another reviewed mentioned having a problem with it burning, and I wanted to add that using an indoor grill gives much more control over the heat. Made this with Potatoes With Rosemary and Carrots Vichy for ZWT5 Jammin' Java Jivers. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KissKiss June 10, 2009

Made for Aus/NZ Make My Recipe Edition 7. We didn't really care for these. They were nice and tender, but we thought the amount of basil was overpowering. I might make these again, but would definitely cut back on the amount of basil.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LARavenscroft April 20, 2009

Yummy recipe, I made this using on the bone chicken piece and it was delightful. The flavour was yummy and the chicken was very tender. I found the chicken quickly burnt even with regular bastings, I think it's because of the honey, so don't panic or take it off the griller to quickly. Thank you JanuaryBride

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef floWer November 04, 2008
Honey Lemon Chicken