18 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I puree the hazelnuts in the blender without honey. it is the most delicious spread I have ever made and tasted so far. 10 stars!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ozlem October 05, 2009

Fantastic!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rosslare December 16, 2012

This is a very sweet, rich spread that goes great with warm scones. YUM! I loved the honey hazelnut combination, it was like eating marzipan paste. lol
I decreased the honey by a few tbs and still found it quite dominant, so next time I might try halving it. My hand held blender struggled with making this super smooth, but I liked the rough texture a lot.
Thanks so much for sharing this keeper, Kate! Ill surely make it again.
Made and reviewed for the Honey Tag in the Spain/Portugal forum February 2012.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lalaloula February 15, 2012

I love it on toast in the mornings!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
ten hundred million stars!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
sophia-age 9 (i wrote this myself!)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andreachc3 August 27, 2010

Ive done this with hazelnut butter (only ground hazelnuts) from the health food store and local honey. I actually just mix it in without any food processor. This is better than nutella because as another mentioned, the funny stuff they put in it. On toast or fresh crisp apples, wow. I am sure 100% this may just be even better or if not I already love it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
UmmBinat March 14, 2009

Delicious, dangerous stuff you eat with a spoon when no one else is looking!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lille February 21, 2009

It was so easy to do. And so delicious. I can't wait to try it on homemade bread. I wonder if we add cacao to it, it would taste a bit more like nutella and will have the color. I'll try it next time and will be back with a review. Thanks Chef Kate. Made for Zaar Star Game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette April 19, 2008

I was gifted a lovely bag of shelled raw hazelnuts for Christmas and decided this would be the perfect "first" hazelnut recipe! I toasted the nuts as per instructions and just finished making the spread. Yummy! Can't wait to try it on toast in the morning. Had no problems with buzzing the toasted nuts in the food processor... tho they were a bit loud at first. :) I loved the aroma of the hazelnuts as they got pulverized... it was as good an aroma as when they first came out of the oven. The ground nuts and honey blended together quickly... turning the two into a thick peanut butter-type consistency.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Impera_Magna January 06, 2008

Absolutely fabulous Kate...and really easy too. Will make this often. I used really really flavorful local fireweed honey, and think if I use the same strong honey I will cut back on it just a tad. Also, I added a pinch or two of sea salt, just until I could begin to detect the salt. The salt really put it over the top for me. Ate it plain and in "PB & J" with my homemade plum/cointreau jam...yum...Thanks Kate!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs Goodall June 09, 2007

Great alternative to nutella! Tastes very simmilar to it, simple, and delicious. The only thing extra that might need mentioning is that the food processor barely mixes it once you add honey- so make sure the nuts are as creamy as can be before adding it- Great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
doomtoo March 19, 2007
Honey Hazelnut Spread (The Anti-Nutella)