Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Honey Hazelnut Spread (The Anti-Nutella) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Honey Hazelnut Spread (The Anti-Nutella)

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on October 05, 2009

      I puree the hazelnuts in the blender without honey. it is the most delicious spread I have ever made and tasted so far. 10 stars!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2012

      Fantastic!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2012

      This is a very sweet, rich spread that goes great with warm scones. YUM! I loved the honey hazelnut combination, it was like eating marzipan paste. lol
      I decreased the honey by a few tbs and still found it quite dominant, so next time I might try halving it. My hand held blender struggled with making this super smooth, but I liked the rough texture a lot.
      Thanks so much for sharing this keeper, Kate! Ill surely make it again.
      Made and reviewed for the Honey Tag in the Spain/Portugal forum February 2012.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2010

      I love it on toast in the mornings!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
      ten hundred million stars!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
      sophia-age 9 (i wrote this myself!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2009

      Ive done this with hazelnut butter (only ground hazelnuts) from the health food store and local honey. I actually just mix it in without any food processor. This is better than nutella because as another mentioned, the funny stuff they put in it. On toast or fresh crisp apples, wow. I am sure 100% this may just be even better or if not I already love it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2009

      Delicious, dangerous stuff you eat with a spoon when no one else is looking!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2008

      It was so easy to do. And so delicious. I can't wait to try it on homemade bread. I wonder if we add cacao to it, it would taste a bit more like nutella and will have the color. I'll try it next time and will be back with a review. Thanks Chef Kate. Made for Zaar Star Game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2008

      I was gifted a lovely bag of shelled raw hazelnuts for Christmas and decided this would be the perfect "first" hazelnut recipe! I toasted the nuts as per instructions and just finished making the spread. Yummy! Can't wait to try it on toast in the morning. Had no problems with buzzing the toasted nuts in the food processor... tho they were a bit loud at first. :) I loved the aroma of the hazelnuts as they got pulverized... it was as good an aroma as when they first came out of the oven. The ground nuts and honey blended together quickly... turning the two into a thick peanut butter-type consistency.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2007

      Absolutely fabulous Kate...and really easy too. Will make this often. I used really really flavorful local fireweed honey, and think if I use the same strong honey I will cut back on it just a tad. Also, I added a pinch or two of sea salt, just until I could begin to detect the salt. The salt really put it over the top for me. Ate it plain and in "PB & J" with my homemade plum/cointreau jam...yum...Thanks Kate!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2007

      Great alternative to nutella! Tastes very simmilar to it, simple, and delicious. The only thing extra that might need mentioning is that the food processor barely mixes it once you add honey- so make sure the nuts are as creamy as can be before adding it- Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2006

      This is delicous. Very easy to make, in my opinion better than Nutella. And without preservatives and other nasties.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2006

      Outstanding!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2006

      Thanks for the recipe! YUM YUM YUM! I'm a huge fan of nutella, but not of hydrogenated vegetable oil and sugar. This spread has that great toasted hazelnut flavor I love in nutella, but without any funny stuff. We used it as a dip with some tart apples from the local farmer's market. To put it simply - "Wow!"

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2005

      This is really, really good!! It was delicious spread on toast, but I also had a problem not just eating it by itself by the spoonful. :) Thanks for sharing this simple, delicious recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2005

      I first saved this recipe – on May 26 – when Chef Kate listed it as the one of her recipes that was in the most cookbooks but still unreviewed. And I’m delighted to be reviewer number four, having re-discovered it as a result of Amis’ review for the Zaar World Tour 2005! I doubled the recipe, so I’ll be enjoying this yummy spread on English muffins for a few more mornings! Dead easy to make! And honey is so much tastier and healthier an option than sugar! And a wonderful low GI option for an energizing start to the day! Thank you Chef Kate and thank you Amis!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2005

      Oh, yummy. I love nutella as well as honey so this was a great treat. They boys had it on their muffins this morning for breakfast. It's so easy to make. I made this during Zaar World Tour 05

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2005

      Really great for someone like me who isn't that keen on honey on it's own! I made half the recipe and we had some on toasted english muffins for desert last night! Love those toasted hazelnuts, we'll be having this a few times for brekky too! Thanks for an ace recipe Kate!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2005

      What a nice suprise! I had some hazlenuts and searched for something different to use them with. DH and I had some on a multi grain bread. This will be my summertime treat for all of my guests.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Honey Hazelnut Spread (The Anti-Nutella)

    Serving Size: 1 (38 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 170.3
     
    Calories from Fat 92
    54%
    Total Fat 10.2 g
    15%
    Saturated Fat 0.7 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 0.8 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 20.2 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 1.6 g
    6%
    Sugars 18.1 g
    72%
    Protein 2.5 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes