53 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Have this recipe in the crock pot right now...Smells so good! I only gave this 3 stars though because in my haste to make this recipe, I failed to read the description where it says to add 1/2 cup of bbq sauce. Needless to say, when I tasted the sauce a few moments ago, it tasted nasty. Upon rereading the recipe, I noticed the bbq sauce suggestion in the description which isn't even displayed on the recipe page. I would suggest adding the bbq sauce ingredient to the actual recipe. With about 2 more hours to cook, I just added the bbq sauce. Hopefully this can be salvaged because I think this could be a yummy recipe! We'll see what happens. That said, I will definitely make this again WITH the bbq sauce.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
llassen February 16, 2011

I made this with BBQ sauce for my family in the crockpot using boneless skinless chicken breasts. It would work great shredded and served on burger buns as BBQ'd chicken. With the BBQ sauce it has a strong BBQ taste. My family said it reminded them of BBQ beef.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Last Ember October 09, 2009

DH loved this recipe! I did add a pinch of salt, 2 shakes of garlic and some white pepper. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Paka January 08, 2015

So good and so easy! Made last night in the oven with chicken tenderloin. Doubled sauce... Served with mashed potatoes and broccoli. A keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~~**Amanda**~~ November 18, 2014

My husband and I thought the taste was good but it was hard for me to look passed how DRY the chicken was. We made it in the crock pot for 6.5 hours. He managed to get seconds of it, but i just couldn't. Next time will be trying a different method and hope it turns out better. Someone did say their oven made ones always were juicy so Im sure our luck will be better with that.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carmen M. February 20, 2014

Simple recipe. The husband was a bigger fan than myself which really surprised me as he can be a picky eater. Was good, just not great. I doubled the recipe and used the leftovers for BBQ Pulled Chicken Sandwiches (which were delicious) the next day. I will use this recipe again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gregspotato January 02, 2013

So easy! Did not have to leave home to buy special ingredients to have a very tasteful dinner. I used yakisoba sauce instead of soy sauce, and served it with mashed potatoes and sweet corn. Next time I will use either soy sauce, or teriyaki sauce or BBQ sauce. The variations are endless! Thank you for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Unsubscribe Me Now July 15, 2012

I tried the crockpot method. The sauce was great, but the chicken wasn't very flavorful, and the sauce was not thick enough to adhere. I used the leftover sauce today to make rice, that was pretty good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
moxiepurple August 09, 2011

I was really excited to try this, but it didn't turn out that great. The chicken didn't have much flavor at all. I used chicken thighs and made it in a crockpot. I don't think I'll be trying it again, but if I had to do it over again, I think I'd use chicken breasts instead.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nluiseb May 14, 2011

This really is fabulous. I am making a double batch today for the fourth time in about 2-3 months.

I've made it both in the crockpot and in the oven. For some reason when I do chicken in the crockpot it always comes out a bit dry no matter how long I cook it for. For the reason I mostly prefer this done in the oven though it still was pretty yummy even in the crockpot.

The sauce itself (with the bbq sauce added) is absolutely out of this world. I add a couple of garlic cloves and mix it all up on the blender. It's so good that I would love to just eat it off of a spoon! Our whole family is crazy about the sauce, I'd use this sauce in place of bbq sauce in any recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
crowland May 14, 2011
Honey Glazed "dump" Chicken