22 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Parsnips are the perfect veggie...a little honey makes them heavenly. I did not know the people whose home I visited for Thanksgiving well, so this worked out as the perfect dish to take: healthy, tasty, and did not require taking up their oven space to reheat. This was fine at room temperature. Thanks for sharing your recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FLKeysJen December 04, 2011

What a good way to fix Carrots and Parsnips. They are Delicious nice and sweet.I steamed the carrots and parsnips together until tender, then followed the the recipe to a tee. People that haven't eaten parsnips have sure missed out. Thanks for posting another way to enjoy Parsnips.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Barb Gertz February 09, 2003

I love carrots and I love parsnips so this was veggie heaven ! Very easy to prepare and can easily make this for a crowd.....thanks so much for giving me an alternative to boring peas and carrots !

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cfletcher December 22, 2010

Never had parsnips...rarely cook carrots...made this and decided we could all eat more of them. Everone loved this dish....it's about time we added different veggies to our menus. Thanks sooooo much!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sher440 November 10, 2009

Rita, this is definitely a ***** recipe. My first experience with parsnip and will definitely be a regular in my house. Made this dish with dinner for family and my picky bro-in-law and all he did was RAVE!!! KUDOS GIRL!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tre3Stars February 20, 2009

Rita, you are helping me on my journey to loving new vegetables! This combination is not only very appealing, but so complimentary to each other. So simple, so yummy and the onion adds a perfect zing to the sweetness. We will enjoy these often! MERP'd for All New Zaar Cookbook tag.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DuChick January 31, 2009

Love parsnips and always on the lookout for new ways to prepare them. This treatment was just wonderful and really captured the natural sweetness of the root vegetables without being overly sweet or cloying. The the onions really added to reaching a good balance with the honey. Served this with balsamic chicken and lapped it all up. Made for *ZaarStars* game,

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
justcallmetoni April 14, 2008

This was absolutely delicious! I only had parsnips and used more honey as I like parsnips sweet and the flavour was divine. I will definitely be making this again- thanks for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shuzbud May 29, 2007

I made these for the first time on Thanksgiving (brave, wasn't I?) and they were great! Everybody liked them! I used a bit more honey, but I think it's just a personal preference. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Beverly D December 12, 2005

Owww yumm!! I the kids and i loved this! I had some multi coloured organic carrots from our local CSA basket this week along with organic parsnips leaving the skin on the carrots for extra nutrients and the colour but I do recommend peeling the parsnips. I used water, local raw honey just stirred in, I thought about using a small red onion but desided to follow the simplicity of the recipe as it may have changed the flavour so I used an organic small yellow onion also from the basket, along with sea salt, & freshly ground black pepper. This is a good dish for a potluck dinner or big family gathering as it is easily increased. I did find the boiling of the vegetables a little long so the parsnips started to fall apart when stirring in the honey. I would reduce that text time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
UmmBinat October 15, 2013
Honey Glazed Carrots and Parsnips