Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Holiday Central >

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Do You See What I See? #PartyBites
    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    You Saved Room For a Reason
    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    57 Homemade Gifts From The Kitchen
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Honey Glazed Carrots and Parsnips Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Honey Glazed Carrots and Parsnips

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on December 04, 2011

      Parsnips are the perfect veggie...a little honey makes them heavenly. I did not know the people whose home I visited for Thanksgiving well, so this worked out as the perfect dish to take: healthy, tasty, and did not require taking up their oven space to reheat. This was fine at room temperature. Thanks for sharing your recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2003

      What a good way to fix Carrots and Parsnips. They are Delicious nice and sweet.I steamed the carrots and parsnips together until tender, then followed the the recipe to a tee. People that haven't eaten parsnips have sure missed out. Thanks for posting another way to enjoy Parsnips.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2010

      I love carrots and I love parsnips so this was veggie heaven ! Very easy to prepare and can easily make this for a crowd.....thanks so much for giving me an alternative to boring peas and carrots !

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2009

      Never had parsnips...rarely cook carrots...made this and decided we could all eat more of them. Everone loved this dish....it's about time we added different veggies to our menus. Thanks sooooo much!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2009

      Rita, this is definitely a ***** recipe. My first experience with parsnip and will definitely be a regular in my house. Made this dish with dinner for family and my picky bro-in-law and all he did was RAVE!!! KUDOS GIRL!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2009

      Rita, you are helping me on my journey to loving new vegetables! This combination is not only very appealing, but so complimentary to each other. So simple, so yummy and the onion adds a perfect zing to the sweetness. We will enjoy these often! MERP'd for All New Zaar Cookbook tag.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2008

      Love parsnips and always on the lookout for new ways to prepare them. This treatment was just wonderful and really captured the natural sweetness of the root vegetables without being overly sweet or cloying. The the onions really added to reaching a good balance with the honey. Served this with balsamic chicken and lapped it all up. Made for *ZaarStars* game,

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2007

      This was absolutely delicious! I only had parsnips and used more honey as I like parsnips sweet and the flavour was divine. I will definitely be making this again- thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2005

      I made these for the first time on Thanksgiving (brave, wasn't I?) and they were great! Everybody liked them! I used a bit more honey, but I think it's just a personal preference. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2013

      Owww yumm!! I the kids and i loved this! I had some multi coloured organic carrots from our local CSA basket this week along with organic parsnips leaving the skin on the carrots for extra nutrients and the colour but I do recommend peeling the parsnips. I used water, local raw honey just stirred in, I thought about using a small red onion but desided to follow the simplicity of the recipe as it may have changed the flavour so I used an organic small yellow onion also from the basket, along with sea salt, & freshly ground black pepper. This is a good dish for a potluck dinner or big family gathering as it is easily increased. I did find the boiling of the vegetables a little long so the parsnips started to fall apart when stirring in the honey. I would reduce that text time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2013

      I made this for our Thanksgiving dinner. It's the second time in my life that I have used parsnips and the first time I enjoyed them. The first ones I tried were quite large with a strong unpleasant taste but I found small ones (about the same size as my young carrots) at the market and what a difference!. This recipe has opened up the world of parsnips for me. We all loved this dish and DH even ask for it again. The next time I see small parsnips they will be added to my cart. Thank you Rita. :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2013

      Excellent recipe - this dish goes with many different things. I added twice the amount of honey and used the drained liquid from the carrots/parsnips as part of the water for the accompanying rice. Very nice!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2012

      This was good. We overcooked ours, so it was pretty mushy, but still good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2010

      This was so nice I love carrots and parsnips I only use in a pot roast. They were sweet and the onions were soft and golden brown.Easy to do , thank you for posting Made for zwt6 for the xtra hot dishes

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2010

      If you haven't had parsnips before this would be a great first-attempt recipe. Its super easy to do and tastes wonderful. I had a turnip rolling around that I wanted to use up, so I threw that in as well. Went wonderful with our BBQ last night! A nice twist on root veggies as I usually roast them - this didn't take as long and had plenty of flavor. These were also good when they cooled to room temperature. Made for ZWT6.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2010

      Mmm, ~Rita~, this is a delicious, healthy, sweet recipe that was enjoyed so very much in my house. The carrots and parsnips go so well together and the honey adds a lovely taste to them. I once had a recipe similar like this prepared by my host-mum when living abroad for a year and ever since I had wanted to recreate it. Well, with your recipe I have finally done so. THANKS SO MUCH for sharing this wonderful recipe with us! Ill certainly make it again! :) Made and reviewed for Veggie Swap #20 March 2010.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2009

      This recipe was simply amazing. I made this for our Christmas dinner and everyone simply adored it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2009

      Oh wow, who woulda thunk it? This is an incredible melding of two veggies that I grudgingly eat not very often. But I say, these were INCREDIBLE together. I did it EXACTLY the way Rita said, except for the honey; I used agave nectar. Hubby and I have fallen in love with this recipe. We will make it often - and leave it alone, as it is perfect AS IS.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2005

      We've had a couple of deep frosts so the carrots and parsnips overwintering in the garden were really sweet and deliciously enhanced by this recipe. I changed nothing and won't next time either.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2005

      We regularly eat carrots – really sweet baby carrots – and parsnips throughout winter. I’m so glad to have found this recipe. It’s a great mid-week recipe to make on nights when you are not otherwise using the oven. I boiled the carrots and parsnips in my Vegetable Stock Vegetable Stock and, when I sautéed the onion, I added 2 cloves of chopped garlic (just couldn’t resist). The flavour from the broth and the added sweetness from the honey made these just SO delicious. Before melting the butter, I dry roasted ½ cup of pine nuts, which I then scattered on top of the carrots and parsnips just before serving. I just felt like adding something crunchy. A recipe I’ll certainly be making again. SO yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Honey Glazed Carrots and Parsnips

    Serving Size: 1 (125 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 113.0
     
    Calories from Fat 21
    18%
    Total Fat 2.3 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 1.2 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 5.0 mg
    1%
    Sodium 60.5 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 22.9 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 6.0 g
    24%
    Sugars 8.6 g
    34%
    Protein 1.7 g
    3%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vegetable broth

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes