34 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

We really enjoyed this dish! Like Roosie, I had never cooked with five spice powder before (and I was going to leave it out), but thanks to her suggestion I left it in, and I am glad I did. I doubled the recipe and minced 12 cloves of garlic in my mini food processor. I used both the brown onion, and I sprinkled chopped green onions on top when it was done. I didn't find it too salty; it was perfect. I also liked how the sauce glazed up pretty quickly. I cooked it a little longer to try to cook the garlic a bit. I served it with white rice and roasted sesame broccoli. Thank you Sue L!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Leilani July 31, 2009

This is really tasty! My 'glaze' ended up being more of a sauce, because I added a bunch of veggies (peppers, broccoli, and peas). So I used cornstarch to make it a thicker sauce. Overall, a really easy to make dish that's tasty!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jaudon September 09, 2012

This had great flavor and I'll make it again. Loved that it was so fast and easy and made with (mostly) things I had on hand. I'm not a fan of five spice powder so I didn't have any. (I added some fresh ground pepper and cinnamon instead.) But the reason I didn't give it five stars is that it was too salty for us. Still delicious though. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maven in the Making December 31, 2014

Made this tonight, it was okay but not great. Didn't have a distinct honey garlic taste. I think some of the ingredients interfered with the honey garlic flavor. Likely won't make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
deepfreeze July 12, 2012

This was really good! I didn't have any 5-spice powder, which makes me sad now cause I think it would of really complemented the flavors of this dish. I did make a few changes; such as doubling the soy, cutting the fish sauce in half, and adding a little chicken broth to dilute it just a bit. I also added about 1 3/4 tsp brown sugar and subbed the fresh garlic for 1/2 tsp garlic powder. Served it with hot spaghetti noodles that I stir fried with the chicken and sauce at the end. Again, this was AMAZING! Definitely going to be making this again in the future, and have some of the sauce on hand. Oh, I also forgot the onion, didn't have any on hand.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kayori April 17, 2011

Delicious!!! Even my picky 3 year old daughter loved it. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pvuong817 October 15, 2010

Another perfect recipe from Sue L. Wow was this good. So many flavors, we loved it. I served it with jasmine rice. The only change to your recipe was to use Thai Basil instead of Cilantro as I was out. It was a lovely substitute. I also ground my own 5 spice blend for a real kick. This was quick and easy to prepare. We will be enjoying this dish again and again. Into my keeper box this goes. Thanks so much for sharing. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Kato August 31, 2010

I found this to be quite salty. I would probably 1/2 the amount of fish sauce next time. I will probably give it another shot, though, as I am quite a big fan of ginger!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adventurousbeginner August 24, 2010

* * * * * * * * * * These are my EXTRA stars for this dish! LOL I absolutely loved it. I used green onions only based on other suggestions, which I thought was great. And, I didn't have fish sauce, but had oyster sauce and it was great. I've never used chinese 5 spice, and I had some in the cupboard, and it is great. For me, I cut back on the garlic, to 4 cloves instead of 6, plus I also crushed it instead of slicing it. I don't like biting into pieces of garlic, but I like the flavor. I served this over sticky rice, and I will make this again. I had told my stepson I was making this and he said it sounded good, so on my first mouthful, I had phone in hand and called him to tell him it was awesome. Now I have to e-mail the recipe to his wife. Thanks Sue L for posting this terrific recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Becky in Wisconsin July 23, 2009
Honey Ginger Glazed Chicken