Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Honey Ginger Glazed Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Honey Ginger Glazed Chicken

    Average Rating:

    33 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 33

    Sort by:

    • on July 31, 2009

      We really enjoyed this dish! Like Roosie, I had never cooked with five spice powder before (and I was going to leave it out), but thanks to her suggestion I left it in, and I am glad I did. I doubled the recipe and minced 12 cloves of garlic in my mini food processor. I used both the brown onion, and I sprinkled chopped green onions on top when it was done. I didn't find it too salty; it was perfect. I also liked how the sauce glazed up pretty quickly. I cooked it a little longer to try to cook the garlic a bit. I served it with white rice and roasted sesame broccoli. Thank you Sue L!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2012

      This is really tasty! My 'glaze' ended up being more of a sauce, because I added a bunch of veggies (peppers, broccoli, and peas). So I used cornstarch to make it a thicker sauce. Overall, a really easy to make dish that's tasty!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2012

      Made this tonight, it was okay but not great. Didn't have a distinct honey garlic taste. I think some of the ingredients interfered with the honey garlic flavor. Likely won't make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2011

    • on April 17, 2011

      This was really good! I didn't have any 5-spice powder, which makes me sad now cause I think it would of really complemented the flavors of this dish. I did make a few changes; such as doubling the soy, cutting the fish sauce in half, and adding a little chicken broth to dilute it just a bit. I also added about 1 3/4 tsp brown sugar and subbed the fresh garlic for 1/2 tsp garlic powder. Served it with hot spaghetti noodles that I stir fried with the chicken and sauce at the end. Again, this was AMAZING! Definitely going to be making this again in the future, and have some of the sauce on hand. Oh, I also forgot the onion, didn't have any on hand.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2010

      Delicious!!! Even my picky 3 year old daughter loved it. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2010

      Another perfect recipe from Sue L. Wow was this good. So many flavors, we loved it. I served it with jasmine rice. The only change to your recipe was to use Thai Basil instead of Cilantro as I was out. It was a lovely substitute. I also ground my own 5 spice blend for a real kick. This was quick and easy to prepare. We will be enjoying this dish again and again. Into my keeper box this goes. Thanks so much for sharing. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2010

      I found this to be quite salty. I would probably 1/2 the amount of fish sauce next time. I will probably give it another shot, though, as I am quite a big fan of ginger!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2009

      * * * * * * * * * * These are my EXTRA stars for this dish! LOL I absolutely loved it. I used green onions only based on other suggestions, which I thought was great. And, I didn't have fish sauce, but had oyster sauce and it was great. I've never used chinese 5 spice, and I had some in the cupboard, and it is great. For me, I cut back on the garlic, to 4 cloves instead of 6, plus I also crushed it instead of slicing it. I don't like biting into pieces of garlic, but I like the flavor. I served this over sticky rice, and I will make this again. I had told my stepson I was making this and he said it sounded good, so on my first mouthful, I had phone in hand and called him to tell him it was awesome. Now I have to e-mail the recipe to his wife. Thanks Sue L for posting this terrific recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2009

      so heres what id suggest on top of this great recipe. -use green onions instead of normal onions -2 red thai chillies - add some veg (i added red pepper and mushrooms -1 1/2 TBSP fish sauce, not 2. -otherwise fantastic!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2009

      What a great chicken recipe that is company worthy all the way! Served with jasmine rice and sauteed pea pods, it was an excellent combination!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2009

      This went above and beyond my expectations! These are the things I changed a tad (to match what was in my cupboard), I used olive oil instead of vegetable oil. I thought I had fish sauce, and when at the last minute I discovered I did not, I did a quick substitution of Worcestire (SP?) sauce. I used Orange flavoured honey because it sounded like it would be good. Also, I made my own homemade 5-spice powder since I didn't have any on hand, which by the way, absolutely makes the dish. The flavour comes out so unique and delicious, we will be making this over and over again. I served it over white rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2009

      Yummy glaze! It's sticky, a little sweet, yet savory. I made this as written, except for garnish, I used chopped scallions. This was really easy to make. It's great over noodles, but I could eat this just as is next to some steamed broccoli. Thanx for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2008

    • on December 16, 2008

      Really lovely! I used thighs they worked well with this flavourful sauce. Reading the reviews, I cut the fish sauce to 1 Tbsp. because I don't like my food salty. It was just right for me. (DH on the other hand would probably like it with double the fish sauce. But I'm the cook so I get it the way I like it!!!)) The sauce tasted salty on its own but eaten with the chicken or with rice it was great. A word of advice, the sauce will glaze the chicken if you cook it at a high enough temperature, but I think it could burn very easily. I loved the caramelized onions cut into bigger pieces than usual. This one goes in the keeper file!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2008

      Delicious, made as per the recipe but used chicken breast. Loads of flavour and quite quick to make. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2007

      this was okay. turned out too sweet and a little on the dry side though. it didn't glaze even though i cooked it for a substantial amount of time! probably would not make this again, but thanks anyway.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2007

      We thought this was great! Based on some of the other reviews and our likes, I changed just a bit: I used olive oil and green onions instead of vegetable oil and an onion. Also added a splash of rice wine vinegar when adding the sauces/spices. I then followed the recipe by using minced garlic, powdered ginger, 1 tbsp fish sauce, and low sodium soy sauce. We then put over fresh, cooked broccoli. I thought the taste was wonderful! We didn't find it to be too salty at all, so I guess using low-sodium soy sauce and 1/2 of the fish sauce must have done the trick. Thanks for a tasty recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2007

    • on February 03, 2007

      Unfortunately, I am going to have to be the one that disagrees with everyone about this dish. I love thai (one of my favorite foods) and i like chinease. This recipe is a fusion of both i think. Cilantro & fish sauce are thai. The honey, sauce, ect are chinease. Ok now for the review. This recipe was WAY to salty. I kind of spotted this out when i was mixing the sauce so i made sure to use light soy sauce. It turned out WAY WAY to salty. Also a bit to much fish sauce for my taste (yes i like fish sauce and i use it with my thai cooking). Maybe some people will like the fish sauce part but its to salty for anyone. To bad, i had high hopes for this recipe. I just don't understand 13 ratings with a 5 star rating. Why am i the only one who noticed this? I am an accomplished cook and know what im doing. Gets me to wondering.......hmmmmm

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Honey Ginger Glazed Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (192 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 262.0
     
    Calories from Fat 102
    39%
    Total Fat 11.3 g
    17%
    Saturated Fat 2.0 g
    10%
    Cholesterol 94.4 mg
    31%
    Sodium 1310.2 mg
    54%
    Total Carbohydrate 15.4 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 10.7 g
    43%
    Protein 24.6 g
    49%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    five-spice powder

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites