17 Reviews

This was really good! I used 4 small bone in thighs, and the full recipe of sauce. We love sauce over our rice, so this was the perfect amount. I loved the flavor, both sweet and savory at the same time. Next time I might add some grated ginger, because it goes so well with the flavors that are already here; but we were very happy with this as written. Definitely a make again. Thanks for sharing!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
IngridH December 14, 2011

A big hit with my youngest son's family ~ David ate four thighs and will take the last two for his lunch tomorrow! I did change the cooking method a bit ~ I roasted the thighs uncovered for 30 minutes, turned them and basted with about 1/3 the sauce. Roasted another 15 minutes and basted again ~ I knew we would not eat the sauce over anything, so I increased the oven temp to 400F for the last 10 minutes, changing the sauce into a nice glaze! Tagged under the 24-hr rule, Fall Photo Tag 2012.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kerfuffle-Upon-Wincle November 06, 2012

This was a hit at our house! My son really enjoyed it, and ate 6 thighs! The flavor of the sauce is very good...really permeated the meat. I will definitely make this again...easy to make after a day at work. Thanks so much for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom December 14, 2012

This is a sure hit. At first I was hesitant to make it, but as I read all the good reviews, I got so excited. I added two more tablespoons of honey. Baked it on a Saturday night for our Sunday lunch. Put it again in the oven from the fridge, from 300F to 360F and waited until the chicken temp was 165F. It was more juicier, tender, and perfect ! We love the sauce. I served it with mashed potatoes (butter and herb). This recipe will be perfect with plain or java rice too. Thanks for sharing this recipe. My husband said, I am becoming a little Chef. :) Happy wife here!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
misaph March 13, 2016

I was skeptical because the recipe is so simple. But it turned out really well, truly delicious. My partner commented that we did not say a word all through dinner, too busy eating! I will make this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kerry D. March 07, 2016

The flavor was amazing. I used an 8X4 bread dish and 4 thighs. I followed the recipe for the sauce but added just a little grated, fresh ginger. There was plenty of sauce to pour over the rice that I made. This recipe will be among my favorites.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jenngarrison September 09, 2015

These were very good. Will definitely make again

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mclast02 August 30, 2015

REALLY good tasting sauce. I prefer mine just slightly on the sweeter side, but I know most don't. Only things I changed were using 1/2 the called for pepper, I doubled the sauce, and didn't have the right tool on hand to glaze it with. Because of this, I'm pretty sure, it was a bit runnier than I like, but the taste was super good - I didn't rate the recipe down based on things I altered! I would definitely make this again - better than many take-out honey garlic sauces I've had.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HockeyChick1979 August 25, 2015

I probably did something wrong, but I followed the recipe to the tee! Chicken has been in the oven for 45 minutes and it still isn't cooked... Plus, what's all this "sauce", because there's nothing left in my dish to baste with! Any suggestion appreciated, because this seems like something my kids would love!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mary Catherine H. August 23, 2015

I was excited to try this after reading the great reviews. I was disappointed. The flour I think hurt this recipe. The flavors from the sauce didn't really 'stick.' It was edible, but I won't make it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The-Monica May 13, 2015
Honey Garlic Chicken Thighs