19 Reviews

I am so glad to see this posted. I have been using this on my hair(sometimes just the honey) for almost 15 years. I have almost knee-length hair and am very picky about taking care of it(I don't even own a blow dryer). I used to spend TONS of money on salon treatments and pricey conditioners- now I swear by honey. People ask me all the time what I use on my hair and most look at me like I am crazy when I tell them this recipe. It is very messy but worth it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ebkelley3 June 18, 2011

Well I used honey and A small amount of Design Essentials Conditioner on my Mom's natural hair. I shampooed her hair first, then I sat her under the dryer for 15mins, then took her from under the dryer and let it sit for another 15mins. Then I rinsed her hair and styled it and it was very soft and had a nice shine to it with body she loved it. I rinsed her hair very well to make sure all the honey was out I did not do a second shampoo.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
willing39 October 02, 2010

Unfortunately this did not work at all for me. I followed the instructions exactly, rinsed off my hair and shampooed it thoroughly. Yet my hair did not seem to get dry. It felt very greasy and looked wet the whole day after. When I (the day after) had washed it again, three times, it was finally acceptable. It did, sadly enough, not do any good to my hair. A pity. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Dudo January 05, 2014

mix with a leave in conditioner such as garnier fructis and add a pack of organic root stimulator olive oil replenishing pack and a half cup of africa's best braid spray in a spray bottle. works wonders for frizzy untamed hair.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
haneefahana October 29, 2010

This doesn't even go in your hair. THe honey and oil don't mix. I used just olive oil like I normally do and don't understand how anyone else got this honey in their hair.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
susanlswanson November 12, 2008

I have short hair so I use a tad less than this. Great for moisturizing your scalp and your hair is left nice and shiny. I do this more often in the winter time when the weather is cold it seems that I need more moisture on my scalp

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Abby Girl August 12, 2008

I love this recipe. I use it on my long, fine, color treated hair. I separate my dry hair into sections and brush it on with hair color brush (looks like a paint brush) I comb it through my hair very well and I will sometimes leave this in overnight. I shampoo my hair really well, and condition as I normally do. My hair is shiny, soft and just very healthy because of this intense treatment.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
myaleka24 August 09, 2008

i decided to try it more than once before i would rate and write a review, so i've been using this treatment once a week for the past month, and the more i use it the better my hair feels and looks. i have very long thick curly hair, so to be sure that i would get all over i parted my hair into four sections ear to ear, forehead to neck. the first time i tried this recipe i used equal parts honey and olive oil as the recipe says and it was a hot sticky mess. so the next time i tried it i put more olive oil doesn't matter exactly how much it was still a mess but not as sticky which allowed me to use a brush so that i could spread it easier and evenly (remember to clean your brush afterwards if you do it this way). and to heat up the towel i sprinkled it with a bit of water and stuck it in the microwave. remember to wash your hair out well!!!!! the first time i used it i didn't wash it enough and it looked as if i could wring it out and fry some eggs

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ezmera May 14, 2008

I started off with the amounts listed, but had to double it. I wasn't sure how much hair the amounts given were for! I should have even quadrupled it. My hair isn't that long, just below the shoulders. With doubling the amounts there still wasn't enough for all my hair. It was a really sticky mess trying to apply it, but I will definetly be doing this again and again!!! The 3 stars is only for the confusion of hair length. Thank you for posting! My hair feels silky today.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
knobbyknee June 05, 2007

Oh I'm excited that someone posted this recipe! I originally found this recipe in a magazine and I love it. It makes your hair very soft and shiny. Just be sure to shampoo really well to get it all out, otherwise your hair will seem greasy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
volleygirl27 January 18, 2007
Honey Deep Hair Conditioner