Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Honey Curry Sole Fillet Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Honey Curry Sole Fillet

    Average Rating:

    24 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 24

    Sort by:

    • on January 08, 2003

      This was WONDERFUL!!! I used fresh rainbow trout and whiting fillets and served it with rice. It was good with the whiting but it was FABULOUS with the trout. And the sauce was perfect spooned over the rice. A definite keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2010

      This recipe was a great basic plan from which I improvised and created a very spicy and lovely version on a bed of kale and home grown tomatoes. I replaced the honey with agave nectar and reduced by 1/2, replaced the butter with a small amount of olive oil, and increased curry (a good sprinkling of pure turmeric, about a tbl of garam masala, and solid sprinkling of red pepper flakes). Also used two large garlic cloves and about 1 and 1/2 inches of pressed ginger in the sauce.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2013

      This is a great recipe-simple yet full of flavor! Of course, I had to make it southern by using toasted pecans instead of almonds. I served it with cous cous and a salad consisting of mixed greens, thinly sliced red onions, sliced fresh Louisiana strawberries, fresh mint, toasted pecans and dressed with a strawberry balsamic .

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2012

      This is EXCELLENT! I added a little extra curry to the receipe otherwise, made it as suggested and loved it. Hubby raved about it, asked me to keep this one on the menu.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2010

      This was very tasty. I did what Jezski recommended and layed the fish on a bed of chopped onions, orange pepper and baby squashes. I halfed the honey and doubled the curry powder (we like it hot!). There was lots of sauce and this went well with rice. Next time I will try it with a more substantial fish like salmon. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2010

      Very tasty, tasted like honey mustard sauce. I think next time I'll use a little less mustard and a little more curry (or a medium curry instead of a mild).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2010

      This is a great recipe and it makes a great sauce. It would be good with something like rice to soak it up.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2010

    • on March 28, 2009

      Izzy, an excellent recipe, different and very flavorful. I used basa fillets. Funny thing: I put the fish on a bed of sliced onions and red and yellow peppers before I even saw that Sackville had done that. This is kind of a habit of mine when baking fish - gives it a little pizzaz. This is a KEEPER . . . Janet

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2009

      My whole family loved this - even our 1 year old. It was the first time I've ever made fish and it turned out great. So easy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2009

      My whole family loved this:) Thanks very much for posting it! I had to use english mustard (only used 1 heaped tsp) because we didn't have any dijon in the house but it still turned out great in fact it suited my familys tastes better as it added some extra spice. Thanks again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2008

      I tweeked it a little. I cut the honey to 1/4 cup and added 1/4 cup worcestershire. I didn't have curry powder, so I used Goya Adobo seasoning instead and added a 1/2 tsp of Chipotle powder to add some hotness. I used Tilapia instead of Sole and left off the cilantro and almonds (didn't have those either). The prep was easy and fast!!! It made alot of sauce, which was a good thing!! DH and I like sauce. Smothered the rice with it. He really liked it and he's not a fish fan! This is a keeper. Thank you for submitting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2008

      The taste of this dish gets five stars, the texture gets three. I will absolutely be making this again but I will use halibut. In my opinion sole is just too soft a fish for this dish. I sauteed bell peppers and red onions and then baked the sole on that and served everything over white rice. It was very tasty and I disagree with the reviewers who said it was too sweet - I thought it was just right! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2008

      This was very good. I like the combination of all ingredients and the curry gave it a special kick. Although like the others, i must say that the honey needs to be reduced because it overpowers everything. I had to reduce it and added half a lemon plus smoked paprika and cayene pepper. Also initially I did this with cilantro and almonds on top as instructed, but next time I might just omit the cilantro since i did not find it in harmony with the other flavors.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2008

      Great flavor combination. I made it with Salmon, and I think the flavor would be too strong for a delicate fish like Sole. I think it is better suited to a meatier fish like Salmon or Halibut.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2007

      This is a great way to do something different with fish. Dh and I loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2006

      This was fabulous! I added an additional tablespoon of curry as we love curry in our house and didn't add the almonds due to dietary restrictions. I would cut down on the honey a bit next time but was told not to change a thing by my boyfriend.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2005

      Nice flavour. THe honey mustard combo worked well with the fish. I agree that 1/3 cup of honey is too generous for this dish. If you dont have a sweet tooth, 1-2tablespoons is enough. A touch of chilli powder would give this dish a nice zing. For those who does put a wee bit much of honey in the dish, taper off the sweetness with some lemon juice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2005

      Made this for a large family dinner this evening. I used Ling Fillets (Kingfish). Everyone raved - no leftovers and of course I had to print the recipe for everyone to take home. Thank you for a delicious and easy recipe. By the way I did not use as much butter probably only 2 tablespoons and it was sufficient - but I doubled the quantity of fish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2005

      My husband loved this in every way. I thought it was a touch sweet and would be tempted to reduce the honey next time but hubbie might not let me! Very easy to cook and I can see this working with any number of different types of fish. Loved the colour too. I baked it on a bed of lightly sauteed onions and green peppers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Honey Curry Sole Fillet

    Serving Size: 1 (229 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 317.1
     
    Calories from Fat 139
    43%
    Total Fat 15.4 g
    23%
    Saturated Fat 8.0 g
    40%
    Cholesterol 103.8 mg
    34%
    Sodium 762.3 mg
    31%
    Total Carbohydrate 25.0 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 23.3 g
    93%
    Protein 21.3 g
    42%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes