11 Reviews

Fantastic exactly as written. Perfect blend of heat and sweetness and flavors... my husband said I should quit buying barbecue sauce and just make this. (And we live in the BBQ Capital of Texas!) We like things spicy, so I actually doubled the chipotles.

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debtex October 03, 2011

Well strap me to a rocket and send me up into space...cos this was out of this world!!
Seriously...this is quite simply the BEST barbecue sauce recipe that I have ever made-and I've been through quite a few believe me...DH actually said to cancel the search for his ultimate bbq sauce, as this was it.
Quick,simple,no cooking and tastes absolutely fantastic. We used it on pulled pork sandwiches...and we're still drooling...really glad that I doubled the recipe, as this stuff is good enough to drink!
Five stars....how mean, but that's all I'm allowed to give. Top marks to you gailanng...again!!!
Made with absolute pleasure for AUS/NZ Recipe Swap#50.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Noo March 04, 2011

My dh & I both loved this bbq sauce. It was awesome, just packed full of heat and flavor. The only difference was that I used smoked chipotle chiles in adobe. Your recipe was quick and easy to make, with great instructions. My family will be enjoying this sauce often. I served it over meatloaf alongside your garlic mashed potatoes for a real taste experience. Thanks so much for sharing another winner.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Kato January 03, 2011

We really liked this, it will be made often!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RedHeadToToe October 29, 2010

Outstanding BBQ sauce! Loved the smokey/spicy/sweet flavor. I added a little more chipotle than called for. Used this to grill chicken breasts but I think it would be terrific on ribs as well. Thanks for posting this keeper!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
loof July 25, 2010

I did double this recipe 'cause I wanted to use it for two things, shredded pork sandwiches & a chicken finger dip ~ Outstanding on both accounts! The only change I made was to cut back the amount of chipotle chiles by one-third! Definitely a winner for us! Thanks for sharing the recipe! [Tagged & made in Please Review My Recipe]

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike July 03, 2010

I love this recipe! I make it in two styles. The first is the recipe as written which I find fits well with beef. In the second I remove the honey and replace it with frozen OJ concentrate 1 for 1. I like this better on chicken and pork.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marc Cheesecake August 13, 2013

I have to say this is a very easy, and excellent recipe. If your looking for a chipotle BBQ sauce recipe look no further, well done.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hydem01 May 25, 2012

This is a great BBQ sauce recipe!!! I have been looking for a BBQ sauce recipe ever since Old Chicago stopped offering their honey chipotle sauce on BBQ wings. This sauce is much better then the OC sauce was.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
***** Coleman June 30, 2014

This is really good, am going to add more chipotles next time for a little more spiciness, ty definitely a keeper

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
medicalmishap34 July 09, 2015
Honey Chipotle Barbecue Sauce