Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Honey Cake for Rosh Hashana Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Honey Cake for Rosh Hashana

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on October 13, 2003

      This was a wonderful cake. Was curious what a jewish new year cake taste like, so I just HAD to make it. And no regrets. i followed the recipe to the T, not changing a thing. The honey taste gave it a very distinct taste, and it blended very well with the spices. And the honey also gave it a very nice golden colour. This looked as good as it tasted! Thanks Mirj!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2003

      Awesome wonderful cake worth all the effort and time! Loved the colour, taste and the way it was gobbled down in seconds! Momma Mirj, your friends and family are really lucky to have you bake such good cakes for 'em:)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2007

      My husband and father-in-law loved this cake, but they said it was a bit dry. My solution... pour honey all over the top when finished cooking. After that, they said it was great! Thanks, I'll keep this recipe in my arsonal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2006

    • on October 06, 2005

      Made this for Rosh Hashanah and it was a nice dessert after lunch. It was easy to make as well as follow the instructions. The cake was done after 70 minutes in my oven. I used a bundt pan.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2004

      I baked it but it was a little bit dry, but it tastes very good. I wonder if the recipe is for high altitudes

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2004

      Made this cake as a gift for a new co-worker celebrating Rosh Hashana and she said," This is the best honey cake I've ever eaten...It's better than my grandmother's!" She took a copy of the recipe to send home. I added an extra egg (just because there was only one left in the carton) and "aged" it for a couple of days as mentioned in the recipe. It came out just right! Thanks for posting, Mirj.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2004

      Very nice. Made small changes: substituted the oil for apple sauce, added one tsp ground ginger, one tsp ground cinnamon and halved the amount ground cloves. Made it last Sunday and had it with coffee after the Rosh Hashana meal on Wednesday.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Dessert Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Honey Cake for Rosh Hashana

    Serving Size: 1 (87 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 245.9
     
    Calories from Fat 54
    22%
    Total Fat 6.0 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 1.0 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 52.8 mg
    17%
    Sodium 216.1 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 45.1 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 0.7 g
    2%
    Sugars 26.9 g
    107%
    Protein 4.1 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes