Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / honey cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    honey cake

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on January 20, 2004

      this is delish,i love simple comfort food and this is it at it's best,smells wonderful while baking,and i must admit we did not let it cool befor we cut in it and enjoyed it with a cold glass of milk

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2011

      Great honey cake recipe. Usually I don't like honey cake .... but this has a lighter more cake-like texture and not too sweet! Thanks for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2007

      This is the first Honey Cake I've ever made for Rosh Hashana, I was surprised to see I had all of the required ingredients on hand, the honey I used was Scottish Heather honey and Blossom Honey. I was concerned with how the cake would turn out as I had to bake it in two round pans as I don't have a bundt pan. It wanted to stick a bit but I think that was my fault...I put apricot jam between the two layers and the cake tastes even better from the fridge today! Thanks! This is a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2007

      This is delicious!!!! I made this today for a class on the Jewish Holidays (today is Rosh Hashanah). Perfect!!! I made it in a 13x9 pan and it worked just fine!!! Thanks Chia!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2013

      This honey cake was moist and light, sweet and spicy! It was VERY easy to make and everyone loved it at Rosh Hashana. Be aware that the batter is very loose when you pour it into the pan, but it bakes up beautifully, and came out of the bundt pan perfectly.( I sprayed with pam for baking) And it was even better day #2. Thanks Chia!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2011

      I have been looking fora really delicious honey cake for years. My quest ends with this cake! The other reviewers are right: I thoroughly greased and floured the pan and it still stuck. One of my guests admired the unusual top of the cake - sifted confectioner's sugar can do wonders! Next time I will line the pan with parchment.

      I did change the recipe a little: I used instant espresso, and increased it to 3/4 cup, decreasing oil by the same. I also threw in a handful of milk chocolate chips, just to ensure that it would be tasty. It would have been yummy even without. I also baked the cake 2 full days ahead in order to allow the honey flavor to really saturate.

      This recipe is definitely a keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2010

      This was good , easy, and had a really nice consistency. Makes a big bundt cake. Stuck a bit despite buttering and flouring, which was a shame, so be careful there.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2009

      WOW! That was awesome! Its soo good. I didnt even have the clove and it was still realllly good.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2006

      I made this for Rosh Hashanah and it was VERY good! I made a few changes - instead of 1c sugar, I used 1/3c Splenda and 2/3c sugar. Instead of 1c oil, I used 1/2c oil and 1/2c unsweetened applesauce. And I upped the honey to 1 1/3c. It baked in my bundt pan for 60 minutes. It was VERY GOOD! Since there were only 4 of us for dinner, there were leftovers. I cut the leftover cake into slices & wrapped them individually. They freeze WONDERFULLY! I think next time I make this I will omit the coffee (maybe replace w/orange juice??) and add some chocolate chips. Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2004

      Very nice honey cake. I made 4 (a couple of test ones) for Rosh Hashana and they were enjoyed by all. The flavor seems to be a cross between honey cake and spice cake. It seemed a bit dry as written so subsequent cakes were made with 1 1/4 or 1 1/3 C honey and the cakes were done in my oven at about 45 minutes. I used ground cloves. This is so easy, I think I could now do it in my sleep.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2003

      This is a very good recipe for honey cake. I love honey cake - it has such a comforting, homey quality - just the smell of it baking makes you feel cosey and warm. This baked up very nicely and all of the measurements are very accurate. This version tastes very good, although not quite as rich as others I have had. I think this would taste especially nice with some powdered sugar icing drizzled over the top. Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Dessert Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for honey cake

    Serving Size: 1 (1416 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 5106.0
     
    Calories from Fat 2120
    41%
    Total Fat 235.6 g
    362%
    Saturated Fat 33.4 g
    167%
    Cholesterol 558.0 mg
    186%
    Sodium 2760.3 mg
    115%
    Total Carbohydrate 725.9 g
    241%
    Dietary Fiber 12.2 g
    49%
    Sugars 479.5 g
    1918%
    Protein 52.5 g
    105%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes